We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good collection, nicely kept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Modern Art

National Gallery of Modern Art
Jaipur House, India Gate | Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India, New Delhi 110003, India
011 - 23384640
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Gallery of Modern Art like an insider
Top Rated
$12*
and up
Delhi Super Saver: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and...
Ranked #31 of 337 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This quiet museum houses an excellent collection of modern Indian art but is rarely crowded.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good collection, nicely kept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The NGMA in Delhi is a well-kept institute with lots of interesting pieces by contemporary artists. They also hold a lot of exhibitions and tours that are worth visiting. Situated in one of the best quarters of the city, this is a nice place to spend an evening at.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    40
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Incredible Indian Art"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A country's art provides insight into its soul. Most people are familiar with Indian miniature painting--and the collection here is exceptional--but India's modern painting is less well-known, which is a pity. Even one visit provides education and enchantment, and my husband and I were delighted at the quality and depth of art on display.

Visiting the museum is a pleasure itself--quiet, unrushed. The art is presented in a way that is easily accessible to the eye and not overwhelming.

The "Company Period" art, most it dedicated to the experiences and tastes of employees on the East India Company in the 19th Century, is fascinating in its representations of the people and life of the time. Daily life, portraits of servants, of birds, of exotic flora--the art provides a window into a bygone world.

But the "Contemporaries" exhibit is the main reason for visiting. We had no idea there was so much excellent Indian art being painted and sculpted! I remember seeing little of it in major European and American galleries, which is everyone's loss. Who knew that Rabindranath Tagore was also an artist? I believe that The National gallery of Modern Art in New Delhi is a "must see" stop on any tour of India.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good way to spend a hot afternoon in a chill way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am a lover of visual arts, so I enjoyed my time at the gallery. It is well maintained and provides information over different cultural and artistic periods.
Worth a visit!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Its a one time visit place....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

its not bad....but its not good.

its popular only cause there is not much of a modern art scene outside of the private gallaries.

Go there...spend time on each painting to understand them and you may start liking the works of some artists over others.

im not an art buff but I enjoyed my time there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brings out the artist in you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you love a riot of colors thrown magnanimously on white canvas and trying to communicate with the beholders from an artist's impression, then NGMA is a place to unwind. If you want a proof of how creativity can be locked in an A2 size frame or even smaller, this is the place to be!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Modern Art also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to National Gallery of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery of Modern Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.