We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try their Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West View - The Grill Room

West View - The Grill Room
Diplomatic Enclave, Sardar Patel Marg | ITC Maurya, Eighth Floor, New Delhi 110021, India
91 11 2611 2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 4,097 Restaurants in New Delhi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Try their Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A great place to spend a Sunday afternoon. Excellent food coupled with good atmosphere and service makes the afternoon special.

On Sunday's West View couples up with the Humble House next door and lay out an enviable spread of food. We had the appetisers that where served on the table from the Humble House these included their signature dishes of Peking duck and wasbi prawns, choice of soups, followed with the antipasti and then the Grill section.

The grill section is where you take your pick from a good selection of meats, sea food and a few vegetables which is then grilled to your choice and served on the table. The deserts are good followed with a coffee or choice of teas makes this a full meal. The courses really depend on your appetite to keep re-visiting the grill for more of the main course or going to the Humble House to try their offering of mains.

The charge is per head and comes with a choice of food + bevereges, food + wine, food + alcohol. We choose the first and enjoyed some nice mock-tails serves by them.

A good experience which will certainly repeat again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at West View - The Grill Room, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the "Grand Mauryan Brunch" experience at ITC Maurya. Here, we strive to offer great cuisine and best of our services at all times.
Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The best time to go to West View is either outdoors on a winter evening, or for Sunday lunch on a sunny winter afternoon.
Having said that...it is brilliant any time of the year.
There's a nice salad buffet with your salad leaves and dressings and marinated vegetables, cold cuts, giant olives etc (remember to pour the thick balsamic dressing over your blanched broccoli, and the sinful creamy one over your cold salad tiger prawns).
The soup and buffet keep changing...there's excellent variety if you go often. My favorites have been the cold melon soup, the bocconcini infused with cinnamon and cloves, and the salad of cold sole.
The award winning bit of the meal is the GRILLS. The spread looks wonderful, even raw. (which it is, until the chef grills your choice(s) to perfection with the correct sauce and condiment.)
There are two types of lamb chops. I have learnt to pick the (Indian) Rosemary over the Australian/New Zealand. A thick lobster tail which goes best with a butter garlic sauce, (as does the calamari), the Bratwurst with some chill and garlic, and the Chorizo just grilled on its own.
I'm not vegetarian, but there seems to be plenty. I always complement these beautiful meats with a camembert wrapped in banana leaf (when you pick the leaf open with a fork, the grilled and melted cheese oozes out and violently assaults your senses). The corn-on-the cob doesn't, but it's nice and soft with butter and salt. A whole roasted garlic pod could mean you will go home alone, but could be well worth it.
I've never had any place left for dessert, but I understand that the caramelized banana flambé can be written home about.
I pick to end this ceremony with some blue cheese and big grapes. But try and spit out the seeds discreetly, because it is such a romantic restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at West View - The Grill Room, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your dining experience at West view, ITC Maurya. Here, we strive to offer a selection of the most exquisite flavours from the Western world along with great service.

We are pleased to have loyal guests as yourself and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best grilled food in Delhi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The ambiance of this restaurant is superb and the food is equally good. It is my favorite place to eat in Delhi. It is buffets for dinner and brunch on weekends. The choice is extremely wide, including prawns, fish, mutton chops, pork chops, beef steak and vegetables. The salad is excellent and so is the dessert. For people like me who do not like the masala and spices which are added in the food in most places in Delhi, this is a real treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at West View - The Grill Room, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your dining experience at West view, ITC Maurya. Here, we strive to offer a selection of the most exquisite flavours from the Western world along with great service.

We are pleased to have loyal guests as yourself and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“a superb experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

my wife planned a surprise dinner for my birthday & what a great surprise it was. the staff was informed before our arrival and they had made spl preparations for the occasion. the food was amazing and their rosemary lamb chops & sea food selection for main course deserve a very special mention. The hospitality of the staff & the service was very prompt & efficient. there was nothing that West view lacked - ambiance, food, service, music everything was outstanding. My wife is a vegetarian and she too relished the wide variety of antipasti & very exotic veg grills @ the main course. the cheese platter with our wine was great too ! we ordered the chocolate fondant with ice cream & tiramisu for desserts & it was the best thing we could end our meal with. overall a SUPERB Experience & worth more than the money spent. looking forward to our next meal there already

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at West View - The Grill Room, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing West View for this special occasion. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your experience here.

Your compliments for our staff have been conveyed to them and they are delighted to hear the same. Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A never-before experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had planned a surprise dinner on our anniversary for my hubby, with the help of the manager of the place. I just spoke to him over the phone and explained everything to him and without me visiting the place even once, he managed everything well and perfect. We had a never before experience. Many thanks to the manager and the staff again.

Everything, from Ambiance to Music from Staff to Food everything was so superb that we had the best time on our special day.

The staff is extremely humble and very very attentive but NOT AT ALL in your face types. The place offers awesome food and a wonderful variety. Veggies might find the variety a little less but its a Paradise for NON-VEGGIES.

We had gone for dinner so could not enjoy the view from the place as it was too dark outside, but honestly speaking, the interior, ambiance, music everything was so perfect that we did not mind not being able to enjoy the view outside.

Little on expensive side but COMPLETELY worth it..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnilCGMITCMaurya, General Manager at West View - The Grill Room, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing West View for this special occasion. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience here.
May we recommend you to try The Grand Mauryan Brunch which is offered every Sunday and allows you to enjoy buffets across West View, My Humble House and the Pavilion - all at one price!
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Anil Chadha
General Manager - ITC Maurya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West View - The Grill Room also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to West View - The Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West View - The Grill Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.