We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly girl on reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar

Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar to your Saves list
Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Sunder Nagar,, New Delhi 110003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and friendly girl on reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now and found it to be clean and comfortable, with good reasonable priced food. It is in a good location for India gate and you can easily get into the centre of Delhi from the Hotel. All the rooms I have been in have had air con as well, a must Delhi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
8
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Spacious room (deluxe option). Recurrent problems with the toilet and shower that the hotel failed to fix. Older and less clean than expected.
Rooftop dining area is on the 4th floor at the front of the building (not attached to the restaurant and not signed). Breakfast was good, eggs are available by request but you have to know to ask.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012, only had the time to write a review now. It was my first (and probably last time) visiting India. This is located in a 100% safe part of Delhi in a gated community called "Sunder Nagar." Whether you are a foreigner or female (or both), you will feel safe here, walking even at night. There are numerous security guards near the gate to the Sunder Nagar community, and they won't even allow taxis or scooters in there without giving them 3rd degree questioning -- I'm glad they are tough! This is one of the only places in India where there are no beggars.

The rooms are ok. Nothing too fancy, but the price is low, too, so don't expect much! If you want a 5 star hotel, then pay the price to stay elsewhere.

For me, this was a good place due to the low prices and safe gated community.

The room service and staff are great. Rooms were cleaned and any minor problems I might have had were solved in 10 minutes or less. If you don't report a problem, don't expect them to read your minds. Any negative reviews below seem from Indian visitors, who seem to love to complain, but refuse to put their money where their mouth is if they want to pay for a 5 star hotel.

For sight-seeing, the Metro is way too far to walk to, unfortunately. And many scooters refuse to come to Sunder Nagar (because of the police presence here. The scooter drivers of India often have expired licenses and know they will get busted coming here, haha).

The Ahuja Residency has a great private taxi service. People say they are a bit more expensive than regular Indian taxis, but if you are coming from Europe or America, what's an extra few rupees to us? Not all of their drivers are fully knowledgable of the streets. Request a driver named "Baljit." That dude knows all the streets, and won't ask intrusive questions of you (some Indian drivers talk way too much -- not Baljit). Baljit drives a mini van, but pay the extra rupees -- it's worth it.

The reason I am giving them only 3 stars is because of NO wireless connection. They say there is wireless, but it only works in a few rooms, and sporadically, at best. It's a total pain. If you need a computer connection for work or whatever, you won't get it through this Ahuja Residency location. This is something that can be easily fixed if the management invests more in routers and wiring.

p.s.: I can't speak for the hotel food, since I am a foreigner and didn't eat the local food so as not to get sick. But the fellow travelers I met here (who are mainly Europeans) said they liked the food (the Europeans I met come to India once a year, and have developed a greater immunity to the food than a 1st timer like me).

Some nice Dutch couple took me to this great-looking vegetarian restaurant 5 minutes away by walking called Nathu's or something like that. I didn't eat there, but had a soft drink. Anyway, the place has European pastries, cakes, and great looking food. I wish I could have eaten there.

Nice shopping area near there too with some interesting art gallery stores.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abhaisingh, General Manager at Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

It was indeed a great pleasure to have you stay with us at 3 Sunder Nagar. We apologise and appreciate the patience on the internet problem that you faced during your stay. However, you would be glad to know that we have already rectified the problem which was a technical fault within our system.
And we assure you that when yo come visiting us soon, you would have a memorable stay as well as undisturbed wi-fi internet available 24 * 7 connection. We thank you for your feedback that has helped us get to resolve the problem immediately.
We hope to see you and your family back soon at 3 Sunder Nagar.

Best wishes,

Abhai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 weeks in Jan/Feb 2012 and thought it was a great place to stay. The rooms were excellent and spacious and the location was great - not central, but only a few minutes walk from the Old Fort and India Gate. Breakfast was good, and the service was very pleasent and helpful at all times. I would recommend this as a great place to stay when touring Delhi, or as a starting point for a wider tour.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

A very friendly hotel. Good location. Good rooms. Passable breakfast if limited in choice.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a ground floor or basement room. They tend to be dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Located in a quite & leafy neighbourhood of New Delhi, the hotel has most of the modcons available in the rooms. Unfortunately the service leaves a lot to be desired. The rooms are not cleaned regularly. The kitchen closes by 2200 hrs, the menu options are limited. Delhi being one of the food capital of the world leaves a lot to be desired as far as the taste is concerned. On bringing it up with the mangement there was little improvement, but unfortunately was not sustained. The breakfast was paltry, the sausages made an appearance with the foreign guests & dissappeared immediately as they left. The idlis were rock hard, vadas industrial, the chutney went bad too many number of times. Room service kept on messing up with our orders too often to our liking. The front desk was polite & helpful but unfortunately didnot have systems backing them to live up to their promise.
Overall not a very good value, unless you are a foreigner or absolutely new to the city.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are larger & have a view of the road, but can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip. The room is clean and adequate. The overall facilities are a bit run down but it was not really an issue in my view. The breakfast was more than adequate, serving both Indian breakfast and newly cooked egg dishes. The staff were helpful and efficient. They helped us with our transportation needs and the taxis they called were fair with the fares. I don’t know my way around Delhi so really can’t comment on the location. All in all, I think the hotel offers a very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar

Address: 3, Sunder Nagar,, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahuja Residency, a renowned name in hospitality since 1982, is proud to announce the launch of its new boutique business hotel in Delhi's elite Sunder Nagar. An upscale choice for business and leisure travellers alike, this property is ideal for seasoned travellers seeking a spacious and cost-effective alternative to expensive five star hotels. This hotel blends the efficiency and luxury of a star rated property with the personalised service and attention of a small bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.