We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service from management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunstar Heights

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunstar Heights to your Saves list
Hotel Sunstar Heights
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8A/41, W.E.A., Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #544 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service from management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here at the start and end of our Intrepid tour in November 2013 and were shocked by the way we, and others in our group, were treated. We had booked an extra night before the tour through booking.com and it included airport pickup. We emailed the hotel and arranged the pick up but upon arrival couldn't find the driver with our name anywhere. We had arrived off a plane from Kathmandu with only a handful of other white westerners, so coming out in arrivals with our large backpacks and white skin, we stuck out. We walked up an down the first area looking for someone with our name, and no luck. Then we walked outside where there were more drivers waiting, and still luck. We stuck out enough that a man came up to us with his list asking if we were so and so, but we were not. The email from the hotel basically said not to trust their driver anyway, and to make sure he took us to their hotel and not another one, so after 15 minutes of hanging out in a relatively empty arrivals area (and no working mobile) we finally just hopped into a taxi assuming since I hadn't reconfirmed the day before they likely forgot about us. Upon arriving at the hotel, when we told the manager at the front desk that our driver never showed up - instead of him asking us where we had looked, or how long we had waited - he just argued and said he was there waiting for us and blamed it on us. (We believe the driver was somewhere at the airport - but he was not in arrivals when we came out or he would have seen us and we would have seen him!!) So this wasn't a great introduction to Delhi - a hostile manager who wasn't at all interested in hearing our side or even apologizing that our start to Delhi didn't start off as enjoyable as it could have. When my husband went back out to politely ask about laundry later (not even mentioning the airport, the manager wouldn't let it go and pulled up the computer and showed him the sign with my name on it he had given to the driver - we get that he sent a driver, but he was not where he should have been!) So here we were, first night in India, and we are in our cramped room as it is filling up with smoke from fires being lit in the construction site below our window. We wanted to get out and find a nice place to eat so asked for some recommendations. One of the porter's led us down the street to a loud, dimly red lit bar called Pocket Bar where he shook hands with the owner and left us there. Food was pretty mediocre and we felt as though we had just been taken there so he could pocket some money himself. Back at the hotel the smoke was pretty thick in the room all night and turning on the air con just made it worse so we kept it off. On the positive, showers and hot water were good and bed was comfortable. Upon check out the manager made us pay for the airport transfer we never got but when we complained he said they would cover the airport transfer on the way back. I said, ok that sounds fine and he snarkily said "are you happy now?" (Totally missing the point - it wasn't about the $10 - it was about the argumentative treatment we received and the absolute lack of even acknowledging that there was any chance we were right and the driver wasn't there!)

So fast forward two weeks and our group is back at Hotel Sunstar Heights after staying in amazing hotels (with amazing customer service) and having a wonderful tour - our guide chatted to the manager in the morning to make sure the airport transfer was not a problem and he confirmed they would provide our transfer no problem. Fast forward a few hours later - a different manager was on duty and we went to try to arrange our airport transfer time and he had not been told any of this and started arguing with us. We got our guide to come and talk to him and watched as they full out argued for 20 minutes - the manager calling up the other manager, our guide calling up Intrepid. As it was all in Hindi, we do not know what was said but it was clear at one point he was even calling the driver to try to determine if the driver had been there to pick us up when we arrived. In the end, our Intrepid guide just told us our transfer was covered, but the impression we got was that it was not the hotel that ended up covering it. All of this anguish to your customers for a $10 taxi ride. And at that point, whether or not the driver had been at the airport or not 2 weeks prior shouldn't have mattered - we were promised a return airport transfer and to go back on that and argue about it is exhausting for us and made us feel unwanted and that they had no regard for their customers experience. This was our experience - other people in our group also had their own stories which would be too long to share, but all in all the jist of it was the management did not care about their guests' experience. I would never recommend staying here if you want good treatment and I can't understand why Intrepid would stay there after we heard that they had received other complaints about the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    45
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
20
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Rooms are comfortable ,cozy bed, hot water,free internet, good service, staff always smiling and always available for service.easy to locate as near the market and metro station called karol bagh,
also near to airport , 12km from domestic airport and 14kms from international airport.

Room Tip: front side with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Heights, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Heights.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You found the room was clean & comfortable. You have praised the room to be modern with good facilities. The hotel location is very near to Metro station.
You liked the 24 hours room service, 24 hours full power back-up & free WI-FI in the room. You were happy with regular hot water in the bathroom
We are thankful to u for your reviews. We like people like you, who tell us our good & weak points & this helps us to improve accordingly.
It is our responsibility to deliver good service. We will try our best to improve & maintain the good standard .Thanks once again for referring us as EXCELLENT STAY AT SUNSTAR HEIGHTS.
Thanks for recommending our hotel to other travelers.
Thanks once again
Regards
Hotel management. Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

As with most large capital cities rooms are a bit small (we tried to have a family triple) but the rooms are clean and typically over furnished. Staff are helpful and can't do enough to support your stay. Breakfast was great although if you want to eat outside your room there's no real dining room - roof top would be good except for the cold & pollution buts that's Delhi in the winter not the hotels fault! Nice and close to some good restaurants (try Spicy Grill) and the metro station. There was some construction next door that went late at night that made sleep difficult.Again this wasn't the hotels fault but a reflection of the busy location and city development. If you need something extra such as a taxi car or airport pick up, insist on punctuality as Delhi traffic is often clogged and you need to be on time.

Room Tip: A triple was a bit crowded with all the "extra furniture" (side tables etc) that they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Heights, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Heights.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You found the room was clean & comfortable. You have praised the room to be modern with good facilities. The hotel location is very near to Metro station and convenient to market.
We are regretting for any type inconvenience during stay with us. We will try our best in future as improve to inaccuracy.
We are thankful to u for your reviews. We like people like you, who tell us our good & weak points & this helps us to improve accordingly.
It is our responsibility to deliver good service. We will try our best to improve & maintain the good standard .Thanks once again for referring us as EXCELLENT STAY AT SUNSTAR HEIGHTS.
Thanks for recommending our hotel to other travelers.
Thanks once again
Regards
Hotel management. Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hotel very good considering it's New Delhi. Wife and I stayed here 3 nights at start of Intrepid tour. Hotel had hot water, showers, western toilets, and was clean enough, if old. Bed old but comfortable. We were there late December 2013, abnormally cold. None of the midrange hotels we used had heat. The Sunstar Heights did provide electric space heater. Room had electric hot water tea pot and supplies instant coffee and tea. Staff all friendly, but try very hard to sell you a local tour, or any things to make a few extra ruppees. That's India. It really is a fascinating country to see, and the food is fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Heights, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Heights.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hotel location is very near to Metro station and convenient to market.
You were happy with regular hot water in the bathroom
We are thankful to u for your reviews. We like people like you, who tell us our good & weak points & this helps us to improve accordingly.
It is our responsibility to deliver good service. We will try our best to improve & maintain the good standard .Thanks once again for referring us as EXCELLENT STAY AT SUNSTAR HEIGHTS.
Thanks for recommending our hotel to other travelers.
Thanks once again
Regards
Hotel management. Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We used this hotel at the start of our intrepid tour. The room was clean, the shower was hot and the staff was helpful. Internet was also good. I found it a bit far but the hotel had a car for hire for 4 or 8 hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Heights, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Heights.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You found the room was clean, staff helpful & free WI-FI in the room. You were happy with regular hot water in the bathroom
The hotel location is very near to Metro station and convenient to market.
We are thankful to u for your reviews. We like people like you, who tell us our good & weak points & this helps us to improve accordingly.
It is our responsibility to deliver good service. We will try our best to improve & maintain the good standard .Thanks once again for referring us as EXCELLENT STAY AT SUNSTAR HEIGHTS.
Thanks for recommending our hotel to other travelers.
Thanks once again
Regards
Hotel management. Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We are a family of two adults and two teenagers. We used this hotel before and after our Intrepid tour. We found the rooms clean and well appointed with usually warm showers. We had some meals at the hotel and these were basic but adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a short and easy walk to the local market, restaurants, shops and the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Heights, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Heights.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You found the rooms clean and well appointed with usually warm showers
The hotel location is very near to Metro station and convenient to market.
were happy with regular hot water in the bathroom
We are thankful to u for your reviews. We like people like you, who tell us our good & weak points & this helps us to improve accordingly.
It is our responsibility to deliver good service. We will try our best to improve & maintain the good standard .Thanks once again for referring us as EXCELLENT STAY AT SUNSTAR HEIGHTS.
Thanks for recommending our hotel to other travelers.
Thanks once again
Regards
Hotel management. Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel as it was apart of our Intrepid Tour. We would not recommend this hotel. Floors are dirty, bed linen dirty. They do not have a restaurant so food is ordered off site and was very average. The rooms are not cleaned during the day, we had breakfast dishes left in our room. No toilet paper was provided & the toilet was not clean. Shower also had no pressure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel Sunstar Heights, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar Heights.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You found the very average hotel.
We are regretting for any type inconvenience during stay with us. We will try our best in future as improve to inaccuracy.
We are thankful to u for your reviews. We like people like you, who tell us our good & weak points & this helps us to improve accordingly.
It is our responsibility to deliver good service. We will try our best to improve & maintain the good standard .Thanks once again for referring us as EXCELLENT STAY AT SUNSTAR HEIGHTS.
Thanks for recommending our hotel to other travelers.
Thanks once again
Regards
Hotel management. Ashok Taneja +91 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunstar Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunstar Heights

Address: 8A/41, W.E.A., Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunstar Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunstar Heights is a boutique hotel with 15 beautifully designed rooms. The rooms have been designed keeping in mind the ongoing trends and comforts of our clients both international and domestic.The hotel is very centrally located, perfect for both business and leisure travellers situated in the hustle bustle of the most famous market of New Delhi, Karol Bagh. With our team of professionals, we strive to serve you the best of everything. Therefore, our hotel offers it all from hospitable staff to delicious food and immaculate rooms! So come, join us and enjoy the difference in hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Sunstar Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunstar Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.