We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HoHo bus is "so-so"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HOHO Delhi

HOHO Delhi
Baba Kharak Singh Marg, Opposite Hanuman Temple | Near State Emporia Complex, Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
+91-11-40940000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$12*
and up
Ranked #111 of 187 Tours & Activities in New Delhi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delhi Tourism's Hop-On-Hop-Off Sightseeing bus takes you to 20+ tourist attractions of Delhi including World Heritage Monuments, Museums and Colorful Shopping markets. The tour offers you Low Floor AC Buses with live commentary delivered by knowledgeable and entertaining guides in both English and Hindi. The Hop-On, Hop-Off facility will enable you to get on and off the bus at many places of your choice. The Tour includes two routes- Red & Green, you can choose to take 1 day or 2 day validity pass. Your sightseeing tour of Delhi offers you a choice of exploring nearby areas around the tourist spots. Like Jama masjid, Chandni Chowk, Spice market situated around Red Fort and many such popular places. Hop On Hop Off Sightseeing Tour is a safe and relaxed way to experience this great city and it is the perfect introduction to Delhi and a fun day out for all. New Additions : 1. Free "Change of Guard Ceremony Tour at President House" Exclusive for our Hop-On-Hop-Off Passengers. Every SaturdayBus Departure Timings:15 Mar to 15 Aug- 7:30 am 15 Aug to 14 Nov- 8:30 am15 Nov to 14 Mar- 9:30 am2. Tour Delhi by Evening: Tour Highlights " Light & Sound Show at Purana Qila". Exclusive 25% discount on Entry tickets for our Hop-On-Hop-Off Passengers.Every Saturday & SundayTour Timings: 6:00 pm to 10:15 pm
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“HoHo bus is "so-so"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good points and bad points about the Ho-Ho bus Delhi. First of all, I see that many people think they were scammed in the price. There are two prices; one for India nationals and one for foreigners. Foreigners pay twice the advertised price. This is on their website hohodelhi.com Hey, it's the same at the Taj Mahal. As of November 2012 the price for the combo red/green route was 1000INR/pp (foreigner) about $USD20. I've been on the HoHo bus in Dublin, London, Seoul and they were much better. They either had a running commentary by the guides, or audio headsets in several languages. Here the guides spoke very little and, seriously, you couldn't understand them. No audio headsets. They advertise an LCD screen which was there but just said " no signal". In fact, on their questionnaire, they ask if you are "satisfied with their audio-visual service" .Maybe they're planning to have it, but there is nothing now. Most of the major sights are on the red line. It is a convenient way to see the sights and also get your bearings. Despite the horrible Delhi traffic, the buses were on time. If you do the combo red/green route you need to change buses. They would call ahead to the other bus and escort you to it . The combination tour takes 4 hours if you don't get off at any sights, but they allow you two days on the same pass. The buses are clean, A/C Not very crowded. The Laipat Nagar market stop was sort of interesting, but don't expect to find any souvenier shops or typical tourist stuff. Reebok outlets (questionable if legit) had stuff I've never seen and not at any discount. Important to note that the red buses come by every half hour and the green only every hour (that's in fine print) HoHo buses don't run on Mondays.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    23
    12
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Congratulations to Delhi Govt for this service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hop on hop off ac bus service is the best option for the first time visitors to Delhi. U pay rs 300 for 2 days with option to Hop Off at 19 places.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Scammed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The HOHO buses are a comfortable air conditioned ride around New Delhi. The red route we used included a lot of the main sites and if you don't get off takes about two hours twenty five minutes to complete. It's an interesting way of working out where everything is.

Unfortunately the conductor charged us 600inr each which we soon realised was double. It's not that much money in the scheme of things so I didn't get into an argument with the guy... and judging by his attitude it would've been an argument. At the end he insisted we gave our tickets back to him - probably so he could sell them again and not pass the cash he'd got for them onto his employer. We didn't really have much choice because he wasn't asking politely... so by then it was clear he wasn't just scamming passengers but his employers too. A nice little earner on the side for this guy, he made 1200inr just from the two of us.

Luckily this was the only time we got scammed in Delhi so it could have been a lot worse. To the employers: if you are interested who is ripping you and your customers off, the bus we were on was the 3pm, from the starting point of the red route, heading towards Connaught Place on 6th October 2012. The rest is up to you.

If you ask me you're better off hiring a driver for a few hours to see the things you want to see.

Iain, London

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
“The right way to see around Delhi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I used the HOHO service during our visit to Delhi in February 2011 and were overjoyed with the facility. Would recommend this to anybody who wants to see Delhi in a leisurely way, spread over 2 days ! Pick & chooose what you want to see, a wonderful way to sight see Delhi.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not recommended as very poor organisation of tours”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Recently I recommended a family of 4 visitors from France to use this service on the assumption that it would be as good in most tourist locations. Their experience was horrible and showed the inadequacy of the bus service.
1. The buses don't follow the prescribed path - there is a division of the bus route from North to South.
2. The guides on the bus are inadequate - the better option would be use a cassette in multiple languages as is used in Paris or other parts of the world.
3. The buses stop by 4 PM while the tour is actually supposed to go on till 8 or so.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HOHO Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to HOHO Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOHO Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.