We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit expensive for what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarya Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amarya Villa to your Saves list
Amarya Villa
A-2/20, Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110029, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
1 review
“Nice but a bit expensive for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We wanted to stay at the Amarya Avelli but is was full so we finally book a room at the Amarya Villa. The hotel is very hard to find (rickshaw drivers don't know the street/place and even when you are in the street you can easily pass away without seeing it). After a warm welcome, we discovered the room which is well furnished and pleasant except from the noise coming from the street (but not surprising for Delhi). Bathroom could be optimized. Excellent breakfast.
In addition to the free WiFi access, you get a mobile phone so that you can call the reception if you are lost in the city.

Room Tip: Pearl room is nice but on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for these comments!

We were delighted to have you with us for this stay and hope to welcome you again.

We are currently creating a small cardboard provided to the guests with the explanations in Hindi for the rickshaw driver. We hope to be able to avoid further waste of time in the Rickshaws for the guests. Maybe you will have the opportunity to try it!?

Warm regards,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    53
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
63
31
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We, two couples, stayed in Amarya Villa in december 2012 for 2 nights. We had the rooms Zircon and Sapphir which are very simple, room zircon is very small. Bathroom and shower are - let's say - indian average. The staff is friendly and the location is also ok (closer to the airport than the city center). During the night dogs bark all night long outside the hotel, so I could not find any sleep. The second night, I was so tired that I heard them only from time to time. All in all the hotel is ok for a one or two night stay, but it's not really what it looks like on the web. Should be cheaper for what it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing about Amarya Villa!

We are sorry you didn't have the opportunity to stay in one of our Deluxe, Executive or Suite rooms, they are fairly bigger and would meet your needs for your next stay with us. As for the dogs, we have warned the neighbourhood about the fact that we are a hotel welcoming guests from western countries, but it is rather difficult. We truly hope you managed to find a quiet place during the rest of your trip in indian cities.

We are ready to make your second stay perfect, we hope to welcome you again!

Warm regards from Delhi,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I loved my stay at Amarya Villa! one of the best retreats in a City that i have been!
The house is beautifully decorated in an Hindu-European style, there are flowers at the entrance, it's very peaceful and in a quiet and nice neighborhood. The staff is highly friendly and super gentle and helped me in whatever I asked for. The room is super cosy, the toiletries are amazing from an Ayurvedic hand made brand. The bed is very very cosy. I stayed in Topaz room. The only thing to notice was the pressure of the shower that was really bad to have a good shower.

Internet is available everywhere. The living room is a great place to stay (although sofas need to be more comfortable) , with magazines to read, lounge music. The restaurant has a nice decoration too, good food, super nice staff. Highly recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
A million thanks for this review!

We are glad our service lived up to your expectations! We took good note of the failing details and took action regarding these issues.
Please feel free to come back anytime, we hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards from Delhi

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

What a great and attentive welcoming in Dehli! We spent 4 night before going to Mumbay.We receive very good advice about what to do and see in those few days. The hotel is beween a little palais and a B&B. It's very comortable, lighted, clean and well decorated. The traditionnal indien breakfast was really good, we had also a lot of facilities to have a driver and to organise our days. The staff was devoted to us like I have rarely seen in other place with similar price! It's a details but the hairconditionnair was "unexpected" a very good quality :-)

Room Tip: Rooms are all decorated in a different way, I guess the rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Lane,

Thank you very much for this helpful review!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in India with your friend.
Please come back whenever you want.

Kind regards,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed three nights in this adorable small hotel with my husband and two college daughters. While it is not a super luxury hotel, it is very comfortable and clean and smartly decorated. The bed was great and the breakfast was really good. What it lacks in 5 star amenities is more than made up for with incredible service and personal attention. From the moment we checked in (served a delicious tea while we did paper work) the lovely friendly staff made sure that our every need was met. The owner even sat with us to plan out a detailed two day itinerary exploring Delhi complete with restaurant and shopping recommendations which all turned out to be spot on. The driver who they arranged for us was delightful and helpful. One of the nicest conveniences that they provide is a cell phone for each room which in invaluable for keeping in touch with driver while touring. There are a few quirks in the hotel, such as less than perfect hot water availability and a lack of attention to cosmetic maintenance, but as I said the personal attention of the staff more than makes up for those small details. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for this review!

It was a great pleasure to accomodate you and your family in our home. Please come back again, we will make your second stay perfect!

Warm regards from Delhi,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temtem2910
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The pictures on the net look just great but reality is far from what you see.
The decoration idea is great and done with taste (modern trendy Indo-European) but the quality of the furniture, blankets, materials is really poor. The people are very nice there and their food is good but this is not enough to compensate the poor quality of the premises.
The rooms were too cold (we were there in december) and the hot water was not enough for even one shower.
Too expensive for what they offer. the place would be great if it was 30 to 40% cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Temtem2910,

We are very happy you took the time to post a rewiew about us!

However, we have to admit we are quite surprised by your comments about the furniture and blankets. The furniture has been selected in antique shops for their quality and elegance and has never been an issue among our guests. So maybe we are missing something out and you are the first one to mention it. Our silk & cotton blankets are provided by a specialised hotel supplier in New Delhi and has neither been the subject of a complaint ever, so again, we might be mistaken about our selection but we struggle to find the ground of this remark.

We are sorry you had to experience the coldest days in New Delhi in over 40 years. The unexpected weather conditions had taken us aback and obviously the hot water was running short at one point. We are sorry our staff did not explain to you how to use the revertible A/C to heat your room. We have taken actions to be ready next winter.

Hoping you will give us a second chance, we look forward to welcome you again!

Warm regards from New Delhi,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel was centrally located, the bed was comfortable and warm and the breakfast delicious. Unfortunately, that's where the praise for Amarya Villa ends for us. It was cold and foggy when we arrived and my partner had a bad cold. He went to bed for the long cold afternoon, while I spent my time wrapped in a shawl in the cold lounge (which looks so warm and inviting in all the photos). The seating was hard and uncomfortable (all the cushions did not help), no heating in this thoroughfare, the reception area seemed to be as cold as ice too. I felt sorry for the staff who were also trying to keep warm. Our room was warm, but we could not move. There was no room for our bags except the floor around our bed. The room was becoming 'grubby', it needed a new paint job and the cushions on the bed had drool stains! The bathroom was clean (I think) but again, did not 'look' clean. If the weather had been warmer, our impressions may have been different, but the room would still have had it's flaws. We were expecting something in the boutique line as advertised (and which the price reflected), but instead got a 3 star motel standard of accommodation. The staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Don't choose the "Coral" room unless you can't climb stairs - small and opens onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Teapotty1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Amarya Villa.

The circumstances in which you stayed with us were extreme. Delhi suffered from the coldest winter in 44 years, and the night you stayed at Villa reached -1°C which was unpredictable for us. After almost 10 years of operations in India, we have to confess that we never saw such a cold weather in the north of India.

However, this does not excuse the condition of our rooms which have now been renewed. Actions have been taken straight after Christmas and we are ready to welcome you back in Delhi.

We would like to apologize for the issues you encountered. We hope you will give us a second chance.

Warm regards,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarya Villa

Address: A-2/20, Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110029, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 592 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarya Villa opened its doors in October 2010 in New Delhi’s Safdarjung Enclave, eloquently transforming a city mansion into an idyllic home-away-from-home in the very heart of the bustling capital. The property comprises two 3-storey villas that are replete with large bay windows, a sunlit atrium and several private verandas. A cheerful mélange of contemporary chic and cosy comfort, the Villa follows in Amarya charm, tastefully blending Indian ethnic motifs with a funky modern touch.The guesthouse offers 9 spacious, sunny and stylish guestrooms that have been themed on the ‘Navratna’, India’s 9 auspicious gemstones; each stone resplendent in its unique lustre and astrological resonance, which when combined is believed to yield a profound mystical energy. The masterful chefs craft meals for each individual palate. Guests may enjoy candlelight dinners in the enchanting starlit terrace or indulge in aperitifs in the sumptuous chandeliered lounge. Meanwhile, the bustling city with its myriad sights awaits, just outside the tranquil walls.Our chefs offer home-cooked meals that are as delightful as our home itself and available any time of the day. Guests may order as they desire, from Pan-Asian to Continental fare. Our caring personal service is what sets the us apart, and our dedicated team is always on hand to service any request and ensure every guest feel right at home.Amarya Villa, is a jewel in the heart of the city, in a graceful setting of service, serenity and style.A charming blend of cozy, comfort and chic, along with caring personal service, at Amarya Villa we assure to all our guests a truly memorable experience, just welcoming them home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amarya Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarya Villa Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarya Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.