We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cause, great kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salaam Baalak Trust City Walk

Salaam Baalak Trust City Walk
2nd Floor , DDA Community Centre | Gali Chandiwali, Paharganj, New Delhi, India
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amazing insight into the life of the 2500 homeless children living around New Delhi railway station.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great cause, great kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Loved this walk. Truly an eye-opening experience. The kids are so nice and they seem genuinely happy to be there. They will tell you about their personal stories and show you around Delhi. That said, I do wish that the walk was a bit longer and a bit more informative about street life.

Nonetheless, great walk, great cause and worth going!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    4
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
260 attraction reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“If you want to understand India then you must do this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The city walk is a tour given by ex-street kids who work with the trust

It will take you to places that you might not go without a guide.

The story will open your eyes to some of the issues of modern india (that are not in the tourist guides)

The charity is very deserving - Please support this activity.

You might want to watch the DVD Lucky Express before visiting here - A short trailer is on YouTube

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a city tour, but great all the same”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I loved this attraction. We were staying in the Main Bazaar area, so the walking tour aspect of this attraction was not overly interesting (although they did lead us down some narrow allies we hadn't seen before). The best part of this tour was when they brought us to their drop in centre and the boys house. I can't believe the organization started out with 25 boys and is now helping over 5500 children. it was really interesting to hear our guide's story (who was a street kid himself a few years back). It was neat to be able to interact with the kids. I wished I lived there so I could volunteer my time there. Keep up the good work! Check out their website for more information www.salaambaalaktrust.com

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hof, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

That's not a tour to show you some tourist places like other tours, this tour is special. You see places where the organisation works with the street kids, show and explain you, how they earn money, show you the school and the house where some ex-street-kids can live. Your guide also was a street kid before, so he knows what he's talking about...
If you expect to see tourist places, take a tourist tour!
For everybody else it's great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best activity in Delhi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you're in Delhi, especially if you're staying in Paharganj, you simply can't afford to not go on this walk.

If you want more insight into daily life of streetchildren, and if you want to help in a constructive way in stead of giving to drunk beggars, this is where to go.

Salaam Balaak Trust is a non profit organisation giving streetchildren shelter, food, entertainment and education. The tour starts a couple of hundred meters from the train station side of Main Bazaar. Your guide is an ex streetchild who succesfully finished the programme. Mine was a friendly 21 year old boy named Kailash. His English was great and you can ask him anything you want. If it starts raining, they'll even give you an umbrella if you forgot one.

Your first stop is a recycling shop, where streetkids exchange empty bottles for a little money. After a short tour of Paharganj, you'll visit the contact point near the station, where new kids are brought in. The tour ends in a daycare centre where 50 kids stay fulltime. You get to meet them, and they're very enthousiastic,shaking your hands, telling their name, wanting to play games with you. It really was a rewarding experience, and something everyone who's visiting India (a country that tends to hit your conscience hard) should do.

The suggested donation is just 200 rupi, but if you see what's being done by these people, that is ridiculously low and I suggest an exponentially higher sum. Don't forget to put something in the tip box too. I've never been so eager to tip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salaam Baalak Trust City Walk also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Salaam Baalak Trust City Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salaam Baalak Trust City Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.