We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, central hotel in Delhi with helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sunder to your Saves list
The Sunder
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9776/8 , Multani Dhanda Sadar Thana Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 919 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, central hotel in Delhi with helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Me and my friend stayed at the Sunder for two nights after she'd just gotten to Delhi. We wanted to stay somewhere central and comfortable, while acclimatising to the Indian summer. The Sunder has a great, central location, nice rooms with fresh colours and a very friendly and helpful staff. We really didn't have much of an idea for where we were going to go after Delhi, but the hotel's travel desk helped us arrange a very successful trip to Rajasthan. Thank you so much for great service!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
14
23
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The cheap price for this hotel might get you doubtful about its quality, but i was so happily surprised when i first stepped in this beautiful ,clean and peaceful place.
The way it is built keeps it from the outside noise ,with the convinience of an elevator.
The very nicely nicely decorated with a good air condition,quality bed,big and clean bathroom; and all the needed accessories make its confort.
The way this people welcomes you , and the way the hotel is designed gives you peace of mind, makes you feel safe and confortable.
At the difference of any other hotel i stayed in in Indai,this people offers you excellent quality service without bothering you about tips.
This team is just so friendly professional,and helpful. They just got the sense of moral and humanity. They would even go futher , helping you manage and organize your tour in or outside Delhi.
Ooh the food ! Congrats chef !
Respect to you guys, keep it up,and thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The moment you step into the Lobby you find your self being complimented by the most efficient and beautiful members of the hotel family
The warmth is felt in the greetings and you settle in the lap of confidence and feel at home with the best of the luxury waiting your arrival in the room, the beautifully arranged luxurious washrooms and the elegantly placed stuff with the minutest of the details are the standard features of this hotel room.
The coffee shop is vibrating with activities and the health club always ready to make you feel more energetic and the spa experience is unforgettable.
The business center provides you with an office away from your work place
The food is awesome may be in any of the restaurants spread over levels
The best hotel in India I ever visited it crosses all the standard in the industry....
The G.M. of the hotel is seen in the morning and you cant miss her even while you are off to your room after a long day.....always at the guests call....which you wont need as the members of the hotel family are always attentive and ready to serve....

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I came to delhi for the second time. I was aware of the behaviour of delhites (i.e charging too much prices). As I came out of new delhi station and asked the auto driver to take me to the hotel, the sunder. The driver asked me to pay Rs 200.I called at the hotel and the hotel manager said that hotel, the sunder is nearby the station (approx 1.5km)and would not take more than 15 minutes to reach and the driver should charge upto Rs 50 (max.).It was late night and had to attend business meeting in early morning, so i paid Rs100 to the auto driver and somehow reached the hotel, the sunder. The hotel, the sunder was on the main road.The manager (Mr. Deepak, young boy) welcomed me with the smile. The check in was too quick .Then I was taken to my room by the staff.The room was neat and clean,wll-furnished,tidy bedsheets with the plasma tv.The bathrrom was also clean. I was Hungry,so i ordered my dinner and was served within 20 min. The food was tasty and the staff was great in their performance. Next morning I had to attend meeting , so i asked them to arrange the taxi for me and they arranged it. For two days , the meeting went on and when i was completed with my work, i had 2 more days to stay so i planned for Delhi sightseen. After delhi sight seen, i went to agra . The tour was fanatastic and the prices charged were too reasonable. i had wonderful stay at hotel, the sunder and whenever I visit Delhi again , I would stay in the same hotel. They value their customer , the staff is polite and is quick in their services. I would say hats off to their staff for making my stay in delhi comfortable. I would recommend to others too. keep going ,hotel, the sunder

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We booked this hotel via HRS, big mistake. The pickup from the airport was free, but that was the only good thing. Our double room had an intensive smell of mold, you could already see it coming out in the corners and wooden furniture. No warm water. After using the A/C in one hot night the three of us had a swolen throat. No toilet paper provided. The dining room for the breakfast was basically a standard double room on ground level. The employees are sleeping in the hallway in front of the elevator door. The breakfast was ok, but not what we ordered (twice). In the provided car parking spots you dont want to park your car, not in this district.

Additionally, not especially about the hotel but the services it offers:

First morning we were already hassled by the "travel desk" manager who made us cancel our booked train tickets and do one of his arranged road trips, driver included, unreasonable price as well. Although we mentioned a couple of places from our guide book where we wanted to go, he assured it would not be a problem to go where we want, we just leave it open on the bill. This ended in a big arguing with the driver, the boss of the driver and the travel desk manager himself in the middle of our trip. When we wanted to go to some other places not on the bill we were asked to pay extra, which was quite a bit for a few km's extra. On top of that we were brought to cheaper hotels than we payed for, the driver and his company probably took the rest. After having knowledge of this we were always arranging hotels on our own, leaving out provisions for hawkers or the driver.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunder

Address: 9776/8 , Multani Dhanda Sadar Thana Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 919 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunder 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Sunder , located most centrally in the heart of the city and is less then 1 Km from world famous Connaught place. Hotel The Sunder, provide the perfect accommodations for the budget travelers. Only 10 minutes walk from New Delhi Station, 20 minutes walk from Connaught Place & Janpath. The city’s busiest shopping districts, Karol Bagh, Chandni Chowk, and Palika Bazaar are all nearby, and easy access to other main tourist attractions !! In this regard, we wish to submit that we will offer free Airport/Railway Pickup to all the guests received through your network to ensure a hassle free transfer from the airport/Train Station.We feel proud to add here that our rooms are a perfect combination of elegance and comfort to suit your lifestyle. Along with the elegantly furnished rooms, we have many other extra facilities for our valued customers. These include Wi-Fi, Money Changer, Travel Assistance Desk, Laundry Service, 24 Hour Room services, 24 hour power supply, Cable T V with International Channels, Doctor on Call,In-house catering, all major credit cards accepted, Elevator, Fax, Photo state and STD. Our hotel has luggage storage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunder Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.