We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in Defence Colony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Soi to your Saves list
Soi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   C 336 defence colony, New Delhi 110 024, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 838 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place in Defence Colony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The family has two houses for B&B - one is the family home, the other a big house 10 minutes walk away, also in Defence Colony. I stayed in both places and had a great time. First of all the rooms have a very nice atmosphere; they are big, spacious and comfortable and that goes for the bathrooms as well. The surrounding area is green and quiet and feels miles away from the hustle and bustle of Delhi. The Defence Colony market is 5-10 minutes away - you'll find very nice restaurants there. The Lajpat Nagar metro station is also 5-10 minutes away. Everything very convenient.
Aditya who owns the B&B is a very nice host - kind, helpful and will do anything to make sure everybody feels at home. You can also sit down with him and swap stories. The breakfast is good and the excellent and attentive staff will bring you whatever you want to eat.
I have stayed all over Delhi but this place is now at the top of my list and I look forward to staying there again. It is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    45
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
34
31
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in the Defence Colony D block apartment owned by the same family. The rooms are spacious, clean with all mod cons. The breakfast was tasty and the service was fantastic. The Soi family made us feel very welcome and the housekeeper was very attentive. We had one issue getting locked out but this was resolved as quickly as is possible in India!! Would defintely recommend. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Wonderful, tastefully decorated, large room. I arrived late in the evening and they were ready for me, and this included a dinner. I had to leave early the next morning to Corbett and they were up. The mum even packed me a sandwich. I love the place and the great personal touches.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Soi Bed and Breakfast is a very comfortable and modern alternative to hotels in New Delhi. It is in walking distance of great restaurants and shops in New Delhi's famous Defense Colony. The rooms are large, well kept, and comfortable. It really feel like a home away from home. And the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Not only did they invite me and my family to a birthday celebration at their home, but they went to all extents to make our stay comfortable. Every detail was taken care-of and well-thought out in the management of the B&B from delicious breakfast in the morning and complimentary tea, coffee, and biscuits all day, to free wifi and take-out menus for order-in. The B&B is also very close to the nearby metro, which makes site seeing around Delhi very easy, but if you prefer a car, the hosts will order you one!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Soi B&B. We booked 2 spacious bedrooms, with very clean rooms and bathrooms. Also had use of large living area where breakfast was served. Aditya and family were very hospitable, inviting us to a family birthday party, and taking us to a rug dealer to help us buy a rug! Good location within walking distance to Defence Colony Market with restaurants and the Metro nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

New Soi B&B hotel is located at a walking distance from famous Defence Colony Market. Facilitated with nice, relaxing bedroom and spacious dining. I'm impressed by their hospitality and heartwarming welcome. My 17-year-old daughter also liked the hotel very much. We will book there again when we have another chance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed at Soi B&B several times, using it as a base during our trip around Rajasthan and the Golden Triangle. The first stay happened to coincide with Diwali and we were invited to join the family in their celebrations and traditional delicious dinner. During our visit we and other guests were also invited to attend Aditya's birthday celebration. Aditya, his wife Gauri and his mother are happy to help out in any way, arranging taxis and providing advice to travellers.

On our last stay we were put up in their newly opened second B&B which is beautifully set-up and very quiet, so a good night's sleep is guaranteed. The beds are comfy, pillows and bedding are clean and soft. The location of both B&Bs is convenient to get to and from the airport and is close to the Metro station for sight-seeing in the city. There are good restaurants within walking distance and the suburb is safe and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soi

Address: C 336 defence colony, New Delhi 110 024, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 838 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Soi , A boutique hotel .....your home away from home, located within a pristine colony present in the heart of south Delhi.The accommodation is nestled in the midst of banyan trees in the quaint neighborhood of Defence Colony with public gardens adjacent to it. Our guests reside in bright and airy rooms attached with balconies / garden. These rooms are connected to a common lounge area which can be used for internet browsing, dining or for relaxation. There is a well equipped library for the book worms as well. The balcony in the lounge with its various potted plants and over hanging branches is usually used by our guests while sipping their morning tea or there complementary breakfast. All rooms come with cupboards attached with a Safe for your important belongings, along-with a LCD television, air-conditioner and a mini fridge. Pick-up and drop-offs can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Soi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.