We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch at Leela Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Palace New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Leela Palace New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Special
Ranked #1 of 598 Hotels in New Delhi
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch at Leela Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Sumptuous! if one is permitted only one word to describe the brunch buffet. The spread is wide and variety diverse. Leaves one wondering what to leave to fit one's limited appetite. Service is warm and attentive, staff eager to please. If price wasn't a consideration, one would be tempted to make the visits more frequent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review us us on TripAdvisor. We am delighted to know that you loved our Sunday brunch at Qube. We are glad to know that you really liked the food and attentive service. We have shared your generous comments with the Qube team and its a source of motivation for all of us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    125
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
147
330
67
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

From the outside, one could be forgiven for thinking this hotel is Delhi's answer to 'Fort Knox': few if any architectural features in a landscape of greenery and based in Delhi's Diplomatic Enclave. Internally, however, it's another matter....absolutely beautiful. From the minute you walk in the door (having gone through the hotel's subtle security routine) you are in a different world and believe me, you need something like this to come home to. The lavish furnishings of the main lobby are repeated in the hotel's rooms which are not overly large but are warm and inviting. The bathroom is WOW - a bath and separate shower which took two of us: gold tap fittings, large mirrors etc. etc. We had a club room for a night and enjoyed the faciltiies of the club lounge. We were offered a late check out and enjoyed two afternoon teas in the club room but didn't attend either evening for complimentary drinks. The cost of the club room also includes airport transfer.
We considered the menus from all four restaurants but weren't persuaded to eat dinner at the hotel and went elsewhere. We did, however, opt to have breakfast at the Qube which was definitely the best breakfast we had on our 20 day trip through India and Sri Lanka. One of the waiters went to a great deal of trouble to recreate the 'perfect' cup of tea - cold milk not hot and stronger than the usual stuff we'd been having. The breakfast buffet had a huge choice of food and I believe you could have ate enough for a whole day if you were thus inclined. I also attended the gym - staff lovely and very helpful. There are about 4 treadmills and a variety of other cardio machines as well as weights. The TV screens are attached to the treadmills and are pretty large. You can also access the internet on them.
The downside of the hotel was that we had a few issues with electricity and on check-out an issue with our account. We were disappointed that the woman at the reception counter appeared inflexible and disinterested in our concerns. Mr. Vashisht (Duty Manager) came to our aid and resolved the issue. He is very keen to ensure that people enjoy their visit. There are currently nine hotels being built at Delhi airport which will mean a lot of competition in the future. The Leela is definitely a stand-out hotel and I truly hope that it lives up to everyone's expectations. Therefore, if you have a concern whilst staying at this hotel, I suggest you contact Mr. Vashisht or his colleagues as I found the standard of English from the majority of the staff was not fluent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you for posting a review of us on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our Palace. We are delighted to know that you found our hotel beautiful and our services met your expectations. I have noted your feedback about issues with checkout and electricity. I am glad to know that the duty Manager was really helpful and resolved the issue. We take your feedback constructively and will ensure, as always, that we learn and improve where we can to provide exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A first class hotel ,wonderful staff,fine food ,large rooms,an oasis from the hectic nature of Delhi.Without dougbt one of the best business hotels we have stayed in.
One small problem with a pompous check out clerk(not keen on dealing with women as the boss) but nothing to detract from an allaround excellence.
If you are on business take the business package .Charging for conference rooms is a bit odd as similar first class hotels in Seoul and Tokyo have these and other facilities free.Need to check this out before booking if you want in house meetings. The price for quoted to us was huge so we used our room which was quite adequate but not as good as a conference room.Perhaps on reading this the management may improve this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review of us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know that you liked our hotel, services, food and staff. I read your comment on being charged for conference room. I would request you to choose our royal club on your next visit. The Royal Club helps you conduct your business in privacy. We have dedicated meeting rooms for all your business needs available at the club for two hours of complementary usage with prior booking. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place definitely deserves its reputation as the best hotel in Delhi. We had the pleasure of staying here at the start of a recent trip to India (our first time to India). We were a bit overwhelmed when arriving in India, so it was wonderful to have the Leela Palace as a safe haven for us. Being from the United States, it isn't possible to get this sort of service (unless you are willing to spend thousands of USD/night), and it really was quite the treat for us.

When it comes to service, no detail is missed. We loved the in-room check-in as well as the iced teas and cookies waiting for us in our room.

The Leela Palace was able to cater to our every need during our stay. They arranged a car to take us to the Taj Mahal. We had the pleasure of making the trip with Sunil, our driver, in a BMW to this wonder of the world. While we definitely paid Leela Palace prices for this, it was worth it for the memorable (and more importantly, comfortable) day.

The other favorite part of our stay was breakfast. The staff at breakfast made us feel so welcome and cared for, that we truly went to bed looking forward to breakfast the next day. The assortment of food was great and we loved that the staff made suggestions for us and helped us have a true India breakfast.

This is easily the nicest/best hotel I have ever stayed in. If I ever find myself in India again, I will definitely be staying here and recommend it to anyone who will be traveling through Delhi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such generous complements make our efforts worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a three-day weekend here, traveling from the UAE where we live. This hotel is the most gorgeous place and is absolutely the one to stay at when in Delhi. Our online deal included breakfast which was incredible, with freshly made juices of any kind of fruit, egg dishes made to order (such as Eggs Bennie with spinach and ham) and every imaginable breakfast pastry including the world's best multi-grain croissants. The room was luxurious and very comfortable, with lovely finishes and art, and the delicious little snacks that you looked forward to upon your return from a tour or shopping trip. The rooftop pool we enjoyed several times. The Indian restaurant was utterly tops in original versions of classic flavours, attentive service, and pleasant surroundings. The Cirque restaurant was exotically modern and trendy but unique, with every bite an adventure in taste. Loved it! (Expensive, but worth it.) Overall, the Leela Palace was the highest quality, best weekend hotel experience we have had in the world. Utterly relaxing, incredibly beautiful, top class service, convenient, and great value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for a quieter stay. Views aren't all that great, so higher is better. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review of us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had a happy weekend staying with us. I have shared your comments with my entire team. Such positive reviews make our efforts worthwhile. Thank you for your feedback. The team at the Palace and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Among the various high level hotels in Delhi, the distinguishing factor are mainly:
- very high level services (hotel common areas, meeting rooms, accomodation, variety of food)
- courtesy of personnel (very professional)

However, I suggest to check pricing vs other luxurious hotel in Dehli, since differences in services provided by high level hotels may be offset by actual daily rates

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you liked our hotel, staff and services. We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a fantastic city hotel and one of the best in the world. It is clear from the time one arrives that no expense has been spared on its construction. The public areas are gorgeously appointed with luxurious furnishings and beautiful artifacts - they also have a wonderful fragrance. The guest rooms are of a similarly high standard - well sized and immaculately decorated.

My room was well designed, light and airy and had a wonderful bathroom (separate bath and shower, high quality toiletries, etc). It was decorated with venetian glass fittings and hand-carved furniture. The bed was very comfortable and had a firm mattress - a pleasant change from the overly soft mattresses one usually gets in luxury hotels. There was a distinct lack of technology (ipad controller, electronic blinds, etc) in the room which I found suprising for such a new hotel, but did not mind. The room design and layout reminded me of a classic Four Seasons hotel room - but with more tasteful decor.

The dining options at the Leela are among the best in Delhi and Le Cirque, Megu and Qube are all of a very high standard. On this trip, I ate a great steak at Le Cirque which was on par on anything I would get at their restaurant in NY.

The staff is excellent throughout the hotel - warm, courteous and efficient. The hotel is also well located in the diplomatic enclave and close to the Ring Road. My only complaint from my visit is that I did not like the fragrance in the common areas on my floor - but that is a minor niggle.

I have visited and stayed at all the luxury hotels in Delhi and this one is currently the best. The Imperial is the only other serious contender and has amazing atmosphere and public areas, but the rooms are not in the same league as at the Leela. The same is true of the Oberoi (Gurgaon as well as New Delhi properties) though they do have the best service. The Aman is too cold for my tastes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services.I am glad to know that among other things you also liked our restaurants. We have shared your feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers complimentary broadband access of 10 mbps for its club guests along with breakfast, five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers by a BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms upto 2 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Palace New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.