We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Palace New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Leela Palace New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Special
Ranked #1 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Santa Barbara CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you have to go to Delhi, stay at the Leela. It's brand new, beautiful, every amenity is there, good food, great airport pick up and drop off service and frankly I had to check the bill twice because I found it fairly inexpensive for a top hotel. Don't bother with anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

It is lovely to read your TripAdvisor review. I am glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my team. Feedback from guest’s like you motivates us to excel further. The team at the Palace and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    768
    120
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
136
317
64
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! Stayed for 2 nights in May on a business trip.

I've stayed in a number of 5 star hotels in Delhi and Mumbai over the years. The standard has generally been high but Leela Palace really does set a new standard. The quality of service cannot be faulted - efficient, polite but low-key - but the highlight for me was the beautiful design of this modern but elegant hotel (which I believe was opened only 2 years ago).

My room was very comfortable and spacious with a really nice bathroom (with separate show cubicle and bathtub). Wi Fi in the room worked like a dream and is complimentary. The gym is located in the spa and is very well equipped. Buffet breakfast was great - I really appreciated the fact that besides the usual breakfast fare to be found in any good hotel, there was also a good spread of local Indian breakfast items - all very delicious. Tried the Japanese restaurant for the dinner - was a little nervous about having Japanese in India but the meal was really good. I assume the chefs have to work with the fact that key supplies such as fish have to be flown in from Tokyo every few days but the kitchen did wonders with what they had available.

My room package came with a hotel car from and to the airport. Highly recommended! The car from the airport was a BMW 730 (pure bliss!!) and the return trip to the airport was in a BMW 5 series.

Overall a great stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such bright reviews make our efforts worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I spent four nights at Leela mid May and it was like nothing I have experienced before. Never has the phrase "2nd to none" been more applicable. Pure class.

The staff are fantastic and they really set the standard for hotels across the globe, they could not be more helpful. They know what you want before you have even thought of it. The facilities and the hotel itself are amazing especially the roof top pool and selection of restaurants and bars. Whatever you do don't miss the breakfast!

I could write and write about how good the Leela is, but just like India you have to see it and experience it to believe it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review of us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know that among others things you liked our pool, restaurants and breakfast. I am glad to know that you had a fantastic stay at our Palace. Such generous and scintillating feedback motivates us to perform even better. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After an awfully warm day, today we went to have a beer at this bar, but were disappointed with the lack of variety in beer..no peroni, no draft, no KF blue, no erdinger. However, it was a beautiful ambience, very tasty snacky stuff with the beer we finally had (KF ultra). The staff is very pleasant and helpful, and in a very quiet way which is highly appreciated. Lovely looking embellishments all over the hotel.. and so well located too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review of us on TripAdvisor. I have made a note of your comment about lack of variety in beer. I understand the fact that you were disappointed with unavailability of draft beer at our bar. Our bar is known for finest and the most exclusive selection of beverages in India. however will look at the possibility of adding draft beer to our collection. We are glad to know that you liked the food at bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel Leela palace is simply superb in every department. If it is absolute opulence you are after this Hotel ticks all the boxes, can't wait to go back. Stunning !!!!!!! A little out of the way but Aotos are easy to find and the hotel will arrange everything for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nestled in the diplomatic enclave of New Delhi is this stand out hotel. From the moment you walk in every experience is wonderful Great service, beautiful rooms with lovely pillows and linen, fantastic dining, beautiful infinity pool and a terrific bar with a fantastic selection of wines and whiskey. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying at our Palace. We are delighted to know that among other things you also loved our bar and our selection of wines and whisky. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I generally don't take the time to comment on hotels, unless I've had a particularly bad experience. However, my recent stay at The Leela Palace in New Delhi was so overwhelmingly positive, I felt compelled to share.

We recently visited New Delhi on May 18-21, spending three outstanding nights at The Leela Palace. As others have stated, the hotel is quite exceptional, from its physical environment to the level of service. Having stayed at other hotels in New Delhi, The Leela Palace really stands out as one of the very few international-standard 5-star properties in the city.

Check-In
We were greeted by name upon arrival, and check-in was handled quickly and efficiently, with the paperwork being handled in our rooms.

Staff
All staff speak excellent English and are highly service-oriented. Other luxury properties in India go a bit overboard with service that borders on the intrusive. Staff at The Leela Palace, however, strike a nice balance between service and privacy. They simple seem to "know" when you need assistance.

The concierge team was a real stand-out. We felt well taken care of, and they provided great local information. They also arranged for daily excursions for us using the hotel's BMW. Their team of drivers were also helpful and informative.

Rooms
We stayed in a standard room, which came with a dedicated 24-hour Floor Butler, who handled everything from requests for ice to travel arrangements. The room was spacious (by any standard) and luxurious. The king-sized bed was roomy, but the mattress was slightly uncomfortable for our taste. Not terrible, just a matter of personal preference.

The all-marble bathroom had separate bath and shower, with plenty of vanity/sink space for two. The TV in the bathroom was also an appreciated nicety. Towels were fluffy and plentiful. Amenities were from Penhaligon's.

Rooms are serviced twice daily.

Food
We had food from several sources, including room service, Qube restaurant and the hotel's Indian restaurant. Every meal we ate, from breakfast to dinner, was absolutely outstanding. We also appreciated our server's recommendations in the Indian restaurant. Led to some great discoveries that we hope to find at home.

Facilities
The hotel has a great rooftop pool that is very relaxing. The infinity edge has great views over the city. There is a bit of a pigeon issue at the pool, but the attendants do a good job shooing them away.

Overall Impression
The Leela Palace is an exceptional property that I am pleased to recommend to all. I would gladly give it 6 stars if I could. If you are going to New Delhi, you should make it a point to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, services and staff. We have shared your positive feedback with the team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile. We have noted your comment about mattress and we will make sure that you get something of your choice and comfort during next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers complimentary broadband access of 10 mbps for its club guests along with breakfast, five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers by a BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms upto 2 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Palace New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.