We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't fault this excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Palace New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Palace New Delhi to your Saves list
The Leela Palace New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
KAMAL for Female Guests
Ranked #1 of 607 Hotels in New Delhi
Kaeo, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I can't fault this excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you're seeking over-the-top luxury, you won't be disappointed by The Leela Palace. The hotel oozes opulence and excess from the floral displays in the palatial reception area to the spacious marble bathrooms in the guest rooms. I stayed at the hotel for two nights in March and couldn't fault the accommodation or the customer service which was on a par with other top hotels I stayed at in India (The Oberoi in Agra, Rambagh Palace in Jaipur, Umaid Bhawan Palace in Jodhpur and Lake Palace in Udaipur). The Leela Palace was also more reasonably priced than those other hotels and it was the only one that included free breakfast in the room tariff. I didn't have time to check out the restaurants or rooftop pool, but did use the gym and the business centre which were excellent. I was also grateful that the hotel allowed me to withdraw money from an ATM in the staff area. Thank you Leela Palace for making my visit to New Delhi enjoyable and hassle-free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    135
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
157
355
70
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Truly enjoyed my stay at The Leela in New Delhi. I had high expectations from this hotel and they far exceeded my expectations by their great service and warmth. The property itself is excellent. It's little pricey but you would never feel that it wasn't worth it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgtpepa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the most costly hotel ever built in India. Our experience at the airport was unbelievable as there were 3 people who met us at the plane door and took us to the baggage claim where we got our bags and were whisked into a BMW 7 series for our ride to the hotel, a nice break from the vans we had been traveling in.

Checkin was done in our nicely appointed club level non smoking floor room, and we immediately went down to dinner at Qube which was wonderful with a varied menu. As we had been traveling for over 3 weeks and arrived late, we finally took the time to sleep in. This made us miss the breakfast at the club lounge. This was not a big deal as they had a continuous variety of wonderful food all day with nice people serving in a great area. They even used illy espresso.

Unfortunately the next night, the wonderful hotel turned into a disaster. We had gone to dinner at Mings in the Taj hotel, and when we returned, there was only 1 elevator in use. The other 2 were blocked by staff. When we asked what was going on, we were told nothing. But when we got to our floor, there was staff outside of many rooms. We asked who was staying as we have seen this before at the NY Four Seasons Hotel, and one person said the Royal Family of ABC. I use ABC for their privacy and for what later transpired.

As we were about to retire, our room began to smell of cigarettes. We called down to the front desk and were basically blown off saying it is a non smoking floor. It kept getting worse and we kept complaining. About 2am the hall got noisy and the smoke got worse. At 2:30 an alarm appeared to go off and we thought it was the smoke alarm in the next room as we could hear people in there since they may have spent a lot on the hotel, but soundboard was not in that budget.
I then realized the alarm was going off in my room and I thought it was coming from the refrigerator. I tore it out of the cabinet to unplug it, but the noise continued. It was some kind of electronic valet above the refrigerator where all of the cables appeared to connect. When I lifted it, the sound stopped. Needless to say, we did not sleep well, and we had set out alarm for 6am to watch the Academy Awards live.

We complained to our agent and told him that we should not have to pay, but that was not going to happen since we had prepaid the hotel. We got a call from some duty manager who wanted to come to the room, but we said we'd meet her in the club lounge. She denied everything but did credit our meals. It was not the money, but our last day in India at a this 5 star hotel made us happy to be leaving.

The hotel appears to cater to guests who caused our problem, where rules are for others, not them. This may or not be at all times but certainly was the 2 nights we were there. I would never stay in this company's facilities again, and would highly recommend the Oberoi Gurgaon if you want luxury, service, and a great staff, unless you have to be in downtown Delhi. We happily stayed previously at the Imperial and Taj but unfortunately chose Leela as it was newer. A BIG MISTAKE.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamir_Kobrin, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback which I read with disappointment and interest.

I am fully aware of your most unfortunate experience and on the day of your departure I contacted your agent in India to extend whatever courtesies we could, knowingly, you checked out with a huge disappointment.
I have still not received any feedback on this, and should you still feel that a compensation is required, I am ready to extend you this courtesy, as a gesture of our hospitality.

The Leela New Delhi takes pride of the official visits that we cater to, however, we also take seriously, our resident guest's comfort and try and ensure that at all times, YOU, are looked after.

Once again, thank you for the feedback, we will learn from it and improve, I can assure you of that.

Tamir Kobrin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel provides a gorgeous oasis in the heart of the city. From the first step inside, it is clear that this hotel provides a professional and luxurious experience for all guests. The lobby tantalizes the sense with it's old world beauty. The rooms are equally as beautiful, with such attention to detail. The bathrooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable. Sadly, we only had 2 nights here, but we wished we could have stayed longer. The service was impeccable, and the breakfast in the "qube" was a delight. Our reservation included airport transfer, which came in handy on our 3:00am departure. The BMW 5 series was waiting for us at 1:15am, and we were impressed once we arrived at the airport to see another staff member from the hotel greet our car, and carry our luggage in for us. I've never experience service that goes beyond the grounds of the hotel, and my husband and I were extremely impressed. We felt they really wanted to ensure we were taken care of until our final steps in India. Their rooftop pool also provides a gorgeous view of the city while also highlighting luxurious relaxation for the guests. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend a bit extra to guarantee a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Gastein, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We continue to be impressed by the comfort and luxury of the rooms, as well as the hospitality of the staff. Our room was spacious and lovely. The service and beautiful rooms set this hotel apart from the others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited the Leela Palace as part of our honeymoon. It is extremely luxury and the rooms are fantastic. We didn't expect it to be that nice. It was our first trip to India and after all we heard, we wanted to make sure we have a clean and nice hotel. That was far more than that.
But there where a few points we didn't like. The price we paid for Dinner was not acceptable. In India you cant just walk out of your hotel to get something. So we had to eat in the hotel. We paid more than 100€ for a tiny dinner.
When we arrived it was very cold outside and heavy fog. It seems they had no heating in the hotel, only in the rooms. It was less than 10 degrees and breakfast was only possible in warm winter jackets.
I guess if you come in warmer month and it is the best hotel in Delhi we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Last year we visited this gorgeous hotel and they encouraged us to join Leela club - however seems to have disappeared and the small 'perks' they offered have disappeared along with it.

We asked concierge regarding Sunday shopping and were told Haus Khas closed - luckily we went anyway and everything was open!

Qube very expensive for dining. We were kindly offered free meal due to problem encountered elsewhere, but the prices were very expensive, way above prices in other five star hotels in India.

Overall, we felt that the standard was not quite as good as last year.

One thing my husband and I found little uncomfortable is there does on occasions seem to be an attendant present in the very small downstairs toilet which can be embarassing. Would be much better if the toilets were serviced regularly rather than someone in residence.!

Room Tip: We were told we were upgraded - but all the rooms seemed the same to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamir_Kobrin, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback and input from your stay.
I have asked our Front Office Manager to look into your particular experience with the Concierge and Leela club and revert to you directly, by e-mail.
Rest assured that our commitment to excellence and ensuring that each and every one of our guests are looked after and that this is a learning.

The team and I will learn from your feedback and improve.

Tamir Kobrin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers complimentary broadband access of 10 mbps for its club guests along with breakfast, five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers by a BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms upto 2 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Palace New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.