We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Leela Palace they treat you like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Palace New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Palace New Delhi to your Saves list
The Leela Palace New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Business Offer
Ranked #1 of 612 Hotels in New Delhi
brighton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stay at the Leela Palace they treat you like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went to New Delhi 3 weeks ago and stayed for 4 nights at the Leela Palace Hotel. It was fabulous! You couldnt even open a door yourself they were there as soon as you went to open it. They also had the facility of a company car and also their own taxi service. We used the taxi service to visit all of the local sites such as the red fort, the tombs and then found us a rickshaw to go around the old town which was something i will never forget. You are being cycled around with cars, taxis, tuk tuks, motorbikes all merging into the same street with cables hanging down above!! we hired their company car to take us to the Taj Mahal which was a two and a half hour drive but really worth the money to travel in luxury. The Taj Mahal was everything and more! The hotel had a pool on the roof which we used every evening after sight seeing. They provided you with bottles of water, towels as soon as you stepped onto the roof. The restaurants in the hotel were fabulous. we tried the indian cuisine and their recommendations were fantastic. we tried their bar meal for supper one evening and the prawns were sumptious. If you are planning to come to Delhi the Leela Palace is definitely the hotel to stay in. The staff couldnt do enough for you. We stayed here before going to Goa! So pleased that we did!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    159
    27
    16
    7
See reviews for
199
415
82
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaydn215
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Leela for 3 nights prior to touring around the Golden Triangle. We arrived late so they did our check-in in the room. Room was a reasonable size but well appointed. Bathroom is excellent and spacious - bath with TV which i like. Service throughout the hotel was excellent. Breakfast in the Qube was very good. We had dinner at Megu (Japanese) and Le Cirque (Italian) - both excellent. The wine list is extensive - wine is expensive in India but there are good value wines to be had. Oliver the excellent sommelier can help you with the best choices. We have stayed at a lot of pretty good hotels around Asia and the Leela would be near the top of the list. For the price we paid it would be easily the best value especially when compared to hotels in Hong Kong where we live. The hotel is in the diplomatic area but access to Delhi sites is pretty easy given most people will have a car and driver. We can't wait to go back and given how much we enjoyed the sites in Delhi it won't be long.

Room Tip: Stay here if you can !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Leela Palace is a great place to stop over when flying into Delhi before flying on elsewhere.

The food is excellent and even the coffee comes with extras and is beautifully presented.

The pool is always welcome, security is high, and the pedicure is just the best with tea brought to you on a tray whilst you recline being pampered.

The staff are welcoming and friendly, and so helpful.

When I wanted garlands made up to take to Udaipur it was done so quickly and they were brought to me to inspect - beautiful!

The only downside = if you go outside to have a cigarette and want a drink with it, it's a no no, either - have a drink, or - have a ciggie! I like both together, as do most people.

India has got very hot on this aspect but it's hilarious when you see the state of some of the streets and general lack of hygiene outside.

Sort this one out (provide an area to do both as we do here please) and you have a great hotel in Delhi!

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fantastic in every way. Fababulous service, accommodation, food, facilities, etc. what more do you want. I went with my son, daughter and wife.. We wanted for nothing, great holiday & would recommend to all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

WOW! Lovely being back after a year and good to see that the high standards are still in place. Equally happy to see the extremely professional Pratik has joined this hotel from another Delhi 5-star hotel that we used to stay in before The Leela. Good move. Breakfast is a treat and the staff friendliness is a big plus. I left a generous tip because the hotel has a shared tip policy which helps a lot. My experience with other hotels in this regard was not as good. Wish that I could remember more names because I'd love to dish out more kudos. The hotel is near the diplomatic enclave. Tip: This time we used a hotel taxi and it was worth the money. A BIG thanks to management for keeping up the standards. I look forward to returning. Our meal at The Library was excellent and they go over and above to please their guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are on an extended business trip/holiday in India and the Leela Palace was where my husband had to attend a conference. I really wanted to stay at The Imperial so was disappointed when we were booked in here. Wow! did I soon change my mind. Right from the very start arriving from Dubai at 4 a.m were we met with such fantastic service and attention to every litlle detail. The room had everything you wanted and was extremely luxurious with lovely little touches like homemade biscuits and sweets under glass domes and a full bowl of good fruit. The bathroom was fantastic with 2 basins and a large, and very comfortable, bath with good products. The only slight irritant was the very weak hairdryer with no nozzle. Luckily my fast turbo hairdryer goes everywhere with me as I very rarely find one in any hotel!

Breakfast the next morning has to be one of the best we've both experienced. You can even choose your own juice which is made in front of you and the choice from the buffet is amazing with all the pastries and the coffee being of the highest quality. Can't really find fault here at all with such incredible staff in a beautiful hotel.

The position is probably not the best in Delhi and there are no grounds to walk around in, just a small garden with lovely f lowers. The rooftop pool had an amazing view over Delhi and was kept heated to 28 degrees which was good as it was quite cold when we were there.

We loved the bar which made incredibly good cocktails and had a very good atmosphere but did not get round to trying any of the restaurants . All in all we had a very good stay here and would certainly come back again when next in Delhi although we also love the Imperial so it would be a difficult choice!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor. The view was just on the road. Maybe it is worth checking if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

With this review, I would like to reinforce all the positive reviews that have been given to this hotel in tripadvisor. The hotel is beautiful and elegant from the moment that you arrive. The staff are very attentive, helpful, and friendly. The room were we stayed was quiet, comfortable and elegantly decorated. This is among the best hotels where we have stayed in terms of elegance, overall experience, and amenities. The swimming pool is outdoors and has a great view of Delhi. Unfortunately, we did not use it as the weather was not optimal. We tried 3 of the restaurants and were pleased with the presentation and quality of the food at the Japanese (Megu) and Italian/French (Le Cirque) ones. The breakfast buffet is good but not very impressive as some other local hotels. We were surprised to receive a delicious chocolate cake at each restaurant when they overheard that we were celebrating a birthday. It was a really nice (and delicious) touch. We plan to be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: I do not believe that we got a "special" room. In fact we stayed in the third floor by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers complimentary broadband access of 10 mbps for its club guests along with breakfast, five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers by a BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms upto 2 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Palace New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.