We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the 21st Century” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Palace New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Palace New Delhi to your Saves list
The Leela Palace New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More Save More
Ranked #1 of 650 Hotels in New Delhi
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury in the 21st Century”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed there for 2 separate nights in January 2012 and we had wonderful experience. Luxurious rooms with beautiful Indian carpets. It's one of the classiest hotels we've stayed in. Very comfortable bed. It's like sleeping on a cloud! The room is not only Luxurious it was hi-tech as well. We can control the TV and check our emails using the iPod docked on our bedside. Upon opening the phone and the large screen LCD TV we were surprised to have seen a welcome message displaying on both of the units' LCD screens. The TV embedded in the mirror in the bathroom is a very nice hi-tech-like touch. The buffet breakfast is excellent as well. You can even ask the chefs to prepare a dish specially made for you. The waiters are always alert to serve you. All of the staff are nice and friendly. When we go back to viist New Delhi, we will definitely be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    197
    36
    17
    8
See reviews for
238
522
99
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived dirty with no reservation. The lobby was stunning and the staff at the concierge desk were polite, professional and efficient. The staff made a recommendation for an upgrade which we took and were quickly taken to our room. The room was immaculate, clean, luxurious linens and towels. The bathroom was beautiful with an nice assortment of lotions and potions, bathrobes etc. We took advantage of the club lounge and enjoyed cocktail hour in beautiful rich surroundings whilst sampling snacks and cocktails. Staff were very attentive and polite.
The roof top is stunning, very clean pool and again staff were so polite and efficient. The breakfast was beautifully presented with every choice you could wish for.
We were given a late check out the following day and after we checked out we used the club
lounge for seven hours indulging in high tea then cocktail hour again before being taken to the airport by a hotel vehicle.
This was our indulgence at the end of a three week back packing trip and it was fantastic. Likely the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I did not leave the hotel after I arrived however other friends visited nearby sights and shopping with assistance from hotel staff.

Room Tip: Take the Club room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have never written a negative review in my years of coming to Trip Advisor. I can hear the highway traffic very clearly throughout the night from my room. The room I am staying in has an interconnecting door to the next suite and I could hear what the occupant next door was watching on TV, and can now hear him snoring. Worst of all, there is a private function currently underway in the hotels' bar - they are playing music so loud that I can't sleep. It's Sunday, past midnight as I write this. I don't have a particularly sensitive sense of hearing.

Any one of these three glaring , preventable issues keep me from seeing this hotel as one of the 'best hotels in the world', or even 5 star. If you do choose to stay here based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews posted by other users, it may be wise to note the above concerns and request a suitable room. I will be moving tomorrow.

To be completely balanced, the fitting and fixtures are 5 star, the food is good, the staff are well trained and aim to exceed expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamir_Kobrin, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I have read your comments with interest.

As we have never before had such complaints or problems in the hotel, I personally, went to guest rooms and suites, which are located above the Library Bar and Africa Avenue, and can gladly report to you that due to the triple glaze glass we have in all the rooms and suites, the noise is completely absent.

Moreover, there are no interconnecting rooms and suites above the Library Bar area, nor, did we have any such function on Sunday night is the hotel.

I assume, you are either mistaken with the location of the property or something else is of a concern.

Gladly contact me to better understand what and where you have stayed so we can learn and improve, if we could have done anything better, from your experience.

Tamir Kobrin
General Manager
tamir.kobrin@theleela.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have just returned from a week in India staying at the Leela Palace hotel and I can not fault it in any way.

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are always friendly and willing to make your stay even better.

The hotel is indeed a palace! The opulent decor and attention to detail is second to none. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are luxurious, coming back to the Leela after a day of sightseeing was pure heaven.

Flawless!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If your budget can afford it, this is where you might want to land in New Delhi. On par with the gracious Imperial and tony Oberoi, the Leela Palace, while Delhi's newest 5-star hotel experience, is so supremely well run that it feels as if it has been around for years. Its style evokes a kind of European Grand Hotel set with opulent Indian touches. The service is extremely polished, yet warm. The rooms hearken to a luxurious standard and the bathrooms are extremely spacious and well appointed. Everything has been very well thought out, even the room lighting, which gives the bedroom a desired warm glow yet is also adaptable for more focused work situations. Needless to say the breakfast buffet is an extravaganza and my two experiences of dining at the Cube were happy ones. I also had a very good massage at the extensive, beautifully designed spa. I worked out daily at the fitness center, which was spacious, well run and had all the right machines and weight equipment. Criticisms?? Almost none. The location is not absolutely central but it is central enough in sprawling Delhi and we had no problems getting around. Those who crave taking walks in the vicinity of their hotel might be disappointed because the Leela - like other 5 stars in Delhi - is not really in a neighborhood that is 'walkable'. On the other hand, taking a walk within the hotel can yield some delightful surprises. On my first day at the Leela I encountered the King of Spain and his lengthy entourage proceeding through the lobby while on my second I recognized a well known Bollywood star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Although I only stayed here for one night I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We were collected from the airport late at night and then taken straight to our room for a quick check-in. The room itself was large, spotless and well-appointed. The overall decor of the hotel is a sort of nouveau maharaja style which some may find a little kitsch. The breakfast buffet was excellent - the best we had in India. There is a lovely rooftop pool. We were driven back to the airport where we were met and our bags taken to check-in. The overall standard of service was impeccable and prices are reasonable given the quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It was my second stay at this property and I fell in love with it yet again. The service, the luxury is one step ahead of all others. The lobby area is opulent and the roof top swimming pool is just amazing. Its hard to find a fault at this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious.The bathroom is something to check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 650 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 650 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Oberoi, New Delhi
The Oberoi, New Delhi
#2 of 650 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#11 of 650 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#5 of 650 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110023, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Palace New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.