We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value for money hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Maple Inn
Save
You added Hotel Maple Inn to your Saves list
8595/1 D.B. Gupta Road | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 838 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Great location, value for money hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here primarily because it is really close to Connaught Place and is extremely reasonably priced. It's a 5 minute rickshaw ride or 15 minute walk. The service was average and the complementary breakfast is terrible. The in-house Indian food was decent with efficient room service. We had the top floor room which turned out to be a bit of a problem since the power generator is on the floor above and so is the staff canteen. The vibrations and noise kept us up at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
6
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I was really surprised to read some of the other reviews of this Hotel. I stayed there for a week while in Delhi and had no problems what-so-ever.

The location is in Pahar Ganj which of course will be a busy and crowded place. This hotel is at the northern end of PaharGanj and away from the busiest and loudest streets. If you are expecting an idyllic and isolated setting you are not going to get that, what you will get is a real taste of India. The best part about this location is that it's only a matter of steps to get to the main New Delhi railway station which also has a subway station and has the excellent airport express station for quick and easy airport access.

The hotel itself is very clean and felt very safe with the 24 hour check in and security guards. The staff were great and helped us will all requests like luggage storage and getting our wifi internet devices working with their system.

The room had 2 comfy single beds, very clean linens, spotless western style bathrooms, dish TV, a mini fridge which was great for keeping water bottles and beer cold. The highlight of course was the great A/C system... this cannot be overstated because having a nice cool room to sleep in after a day in +40 weather is amazing. The rooms are small but more than adequate for 2 people. If you area really sensitive sleeper ask for a room in the interior of the hotel... we found them to be very quiet.

Just to respond to the other comments about the included breakfast.. It is an Indian breakfast so don't expect bacon, eggs, croissants, and other western fare. I found it to be more than adequate to fill my stomach before a day of exploring. Breakfast consists of several types of Indian breads, a veg curry dish, hard boiled eggs, a delicious rice or oat pudding, hot milk and cereal, tea, coffee and juice. Plenty to choose from in my opinion.

It's easy to get around the city from this location. Connaught place is a short 10 to 15 minute walk along a busy and always well lit street. We felt safe even when come home late in the evenings. There are pre-paid taxi and auto rickshaw stands at the New Delhi railway station or you could use the excellent Delhi metro system which is simple and easy.

I would stay in this hotel again in a heart beat. If it's your first time in India, the area this hotel is situated in (Pahar Ganj) may lead to some culture shock. It's not in the same league as the top end hotels in the city, but I think it's an fantastic deal for the price and nearly as comfortable. Plus you get to see real India instead of a walled in manicured courtyard like in the large chain hotels of the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizone
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

After recent stay at this property (which now has new name) I could not recommend to anyone except maybe for one short night and want to be near train station. There is absoutely nothing in area for tourist. The food was beyond bad, breakfast buffet was two Indian items, tea, coffee, and juice out of carton, all presented on old newspapers. As there is no restaurant I do not know where the get their food for the buffet and room service. There are no suitable places to eat in area all are about a 15 minute taxi ride away. With a liquor store just around conner, there were men passed out and sleeping all around hotel as well as using the street for a bath room. Room was okay, and although it fronted busy street it had double pane windows; however most rooms have no windows. Bath okay except there were electric wires exposed around shower/tub combo Bed was comfortable. WiFi not working and no ref in room as advertised. The metro line to airport is across the rail lines from hotel and with many stairs and security to access, So if have more than one light bag forget it. I real estate they say location is everything and so true with this hotel. It would be a nice little place to stay if in a good area. I find it hard to recommend to anyone, but NEVER to females or a man and wife.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We have filed an official complaint about MAPLE INN to my EMBASSY IN NEW DELHI, THE GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TOURIST OFFICE & DELHI TOURIST POLICE

We booked & pre-paid a 3 nights stay through a trustworthy hotel-booking site.
We took Delhi traffic police pre-paid taxi to Maple Inn, however the taxi driver pretended NOT to know the hotel address/Pahar Ganji area and took us to a scam travel agency who set us up together with Maple Inn.

We called Maple Inn three times but they told us that the hotel is UNDER-CONSTRUCTION and it’s too noisy. So YOU CAN NOT COME TO OUR HOTEL!!!! We will refund fully through a hotel-booking site (it was a lie-Maple Inn just explained the hotel-booking site that we “didn’t show up”).

As a result, we were threatened and pushed to sign up for a OVER-RATED package tour that was AWFUL!!! We do not know how much money Maple INN received from the scam travel agency, but it certainly RUINED our whole trip. As of today, we have not received any explanation/apology from Maple Inn.

You should NEVER trust this hotel. So DO NOT stay!!!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Our room was spotless, had a flat screen tv and an attached toilet. Beds were comfy too, and they had a very reasonably priced room service menu. The location, just a two minute wLk away from the train station was another great plus. If I had to have one gripe about this place, it would be the slow-running hot water. But it was tolerable. All in all, really great value for the price we paid (USD112 for 2 nights for a twin share)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

It was overall fantastic experience right from enter to exit. All services were exceptionally good. I booked this hotel online.When we checked in there we didnt like the room initially but immediately they changed the room.Apart from this they were very cooperative. Definitely recommended !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for three nights as part of a six week trip to India with my wife and overall the hotel was ok but nothing great. The rooms were ok and the aircon worked fine although the noise from outside was pretty bad all the time we were in there (which wasnt that much as we were usually out exploring but nevertheless) as the hotel is located in Paharganj which was probably the only place I hated being in during the whole trip to India. This is probably the busiest and noisiest place I have ever been to in my whole life and it never stops! The hotel is about a 35-40 minute trip from IGI airport and located on a main road which accounts for the constant beeping 24/7 around the hotel. Make sure you cross the road with care as you leave the hotel as the traffic literally mows you over as soon as you walk out of the hotel door. It took me about 10 minutes to compose myself and get across to the other side - literally running inbetween cars, autorickshaws, cows, lorries, you name it! The breakfast was pretty lousy and consisted of toast (even though the toaster kept breaking down) and not very nicely cooked Indian dishes. When we arrived at the hotel we decided to walk to Connaught Circle and that took a good 35-40 mins and from then onwards we took an autorickshaw to the centre of New Delhi to the hotel as the journey was a tad too far too walk in the blistering heat. Overall this not a great hotel but the room was ok and seemed safe enough which is the main thing.. It was good in terms of proximity to New Delhi train station as it is only a 5 minute walk (once you negotiate the road in front of the hotel!) and can be used to escape New Delhi as we were glad to in order to catch the train to Shimla.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maple Inn

Address: 8595/1 D.B. Gupta Road | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 838 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Inn is a 3 star hotel located in the heart of Delhi, the capital of India. We are one of the most accessible hotels in New Delhi that offers three-star amenities for it’s valuable customers.We are a family of dedicated team with a pledge to serve you best of our abilities. We respect and follow the ideology of “Atithi Devo Bhava” which means guests are equivalent to God, and this is the reason you will find personalized services that will give you immense pleasure and an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.