We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and a helpful staff, good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wood Castle to your Saves list
Wood Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India (Minto Road)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 601 Hotels in New Delhi
Ko Tao, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great value and a helpful staff, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This was the first place my sister and I stayed on our trip to Asia, and it was a welcoming first stop. Wood Castle is very comfortable and affordable with a delicious kitchen. The staff is willing to help with any questions about India or your ongoing travel needs. Ask the WC staff for help and avoid travel agencies.

Quick note about traveling onward from Delhi by train: the foreigners booking office at the train station is NOT closed. Do not believe those who tell you otherwise. There are people at the train station who will try to point you to a travel agency. Ignore them.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    180
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
88
267
114
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were delayed due to the late arrival of the flight but were received by a very patient and experienced person who drove us to the hotel. The very first impression of the hotel was very good with a different exterior wooden finish and door. Inside, the welcome was warm and we were expected obviously. Welcome drinks of your choice are given unlike standard offerings in few hotels. Our room registration formalities was completed in less than 5 mins and we were shown the room. The room was spacious for the entire family and the wooden finish and cleanliness was excellent. Kids loved the faciliities of TV, and room service was available any time and was very quick. The food quality was excellent and the staff were accomodating without any fuss to pack our breakfast since we were planning to leave early to Agra. Mr Javed also helped in arranging trips to nearby places (we chose Agra and Jaipur) and the accomodation he provided in these two cities was also of excellent quality. Woodcastle is a place where people can come repeatedly and enjoy the stay. The hotel is well connected. The metro is 5 minute walk from the hotel to roam around in Delhi on your own. Needless to say, this would be my choice again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We (my brother and I) stayed at Wood Castle for three nights in mid-September 2013. It was an absolutely wonderful experience.

First, the hotel is extremely clean and well kept. The accommodations are an amazing bargain for the price. The beds are comfortable, there is free bottled water, slippers, cable TV with quite a lot of channels, and a very clean and nice bathroom. The wifi in the downstairs main area is fast and free, which is a great help if you need to plan the next leg of your trip like we did. There is also a fairly large supply of books to borrow. There is complimentary breakfast in the morning – both Indian and American options, as well as a kitchen the rest of the day for a fee (but still very cheap) if you wish to eat. The food was amazing – the best meals that we had while in Delhi. The hotel is also only about a 5 minute walk from the metro station – very easily accessed.

While the hotel itself is great, the highlight of our stay was most definitely the people. Rajesh, Hassan, and the rest of the staff were extremely welcoming hosts. We sat for hours in the main area with some of the other travelers and staff drinking whiskey and rum and eating snacks that they had provided. The atmosphere is extremely friendly and communal. Even better than the community, though, was how helpful the staff were. There are many many scammers in Delhi – it’s hard to walk for more than a few minutes without encountering one. The staff warned us of typical scams and stories and provided personal mobile numbers in the event that we ran into any trouble. They provided suggestions for places to stay in the next city we were going to, as well as suggestions as to the best transportation options for each destination – all while never pressuring us to book anything through them. We departed Delhi yesterday and they even messaged to check on us in our next stop.

We really can’t say enough nice things about this place – we’re very grateful to have found it!

For anyone that does decide to stay at Wood Castle, I thought I would add this as an anecdote (both to help future travelers not fall for this scam, as well as to provide a testament to the helpful nature of the staff)… We unfortunately fell for a scam on our first day in Delhi. We were looking for a bookstore as we departed our hotel, and immediately were approached by a rickshaw driver. He said he would bring us to the nearest bookstore for a very reasonable fare. We entered the rickshaw, and after entering, the driver said that he remembered that the bookstore didn’t open until later, but that he could bring us to an office where we could grab a free map. We agreed that that was fine so long as it was close. As soon as we walked in, we realized it was a tour office. We were given tea and sold quite hard on mapping out our next week in India (we were traveling fairly open ended). While we knew the rickshaw driver had delivered us to the tour office on purpose, we did sit and talk with the tour worker for a while and he eventually sold us on a package (for just us, not as part of a tour group) that seemed quite reasonable for the price and amount of time we were to be away. After we had given him the money, he told us not to tell our hotel owners that we had worked with him. While I knew we were paying slightly more b/c we booked via a tour company, I didn’t mind because it was easy to get it all done in one place. However, as soon as he said that we shouldn’t tell our hotel, I had a knot in my stomach.

As soon as we returned to Wood Castle, we discussed what had happened with Hassan, and he immediately explained that we had paid much much more than was necessary. He gave us his mobile number in case anything went wrong during the trip that we had planned. In the end, we departed for our trip the following day, but ended up stopping the trip after only one day. We lost quite a bit of money by cutting it short (over half of what we had paid), but we both decided that we would rather lose the money than continue our work with the tour operator. Rail tickets that were supposed to be a certain class were ultimately booked for classes below what we had paid for, the hotel we stayed at – which the tour operator said would be far superior to Wood Castle – was nowhere near the quality of Wood Castle. Our driver would only take us to restaurants, stores, etc that he suggested because he would receive a commission at those places. It felt that the time wasn’t our own and that we were being scammed constantly, and so we emailed Hassan and told him we were returning to Delhi and Wood Castle immediately.

Long story short: Stay at Wood Castle! Given the sometimes slightly overwhelming nature of Delhi, it’s a very peaceful and welcoming place to go home to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

To start with the overall impression - it's a comfortable stay and value for money. Though finding the right place might be a difficulty but once you are in you are welcome like a true guest. Though it does not look like a hotel however it can provide ample comfort without paying much lump sum. The meals are warm, taste good and reasonably priced. The cleanliness deserves special mention. You are going to get tempted to stay there again in your next visit to the Capital.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Affordable, clean, safe. Wood Castle is the perfect western style hotel in Delhi. Clean rooms, hot showers, Wifi in the lobby and good food. The staff was helpful and made our stay in Delhi very pleasant

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had initially arrived in Delhi Three weeks before,to be shepherded into Parganj, the squalid centre of the City, noisy, and very very dirty, which made me immediately want to go home again. So, after travelling for three weeks we decided that we should try and find a nice place for our last night in India and booked ahead at WoodCastle, .....Thank you, what a difference!. The Place are in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle but within a couple of minutes nice market. This is a better option than in my opinion. Quieter, we took up the 2 rooms, and a better chance to meet a local and have an insight into Indian culture.
People were lovely, they took great care of us.. They were also very well traveled and helpful with any questions we had about getting around etc.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place, while you do pay more than the dirt cheap options, is a sanctuary from the dust and dirt of Delhi and can be exactly what you need after long journies... the aircon was great, the rooms small but clean, and the staff helpful. Breakfast is also worth the extra money so you don't need to travel outside past hassle on an empty stomach. Quite close to the metro which is by far the best way to get around, and in a quieter area of Delhi with less intense sales pressure. Location is great for those needing some peace and quiet in the madhouse! Lovely place all around. Be aware, some twin options are actually double beds, in case you are travelling with family or friends and don't want to share.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Minto Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#34 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wood Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.