We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They took care of us like Family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devna

Save Saved
You added Devna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Devna
10, Sunder Nagar, (Right Side, Smaller Gate), New Delhi 110003, India (Minto Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“They took care of us like Family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

They took care of us like family!
We booked The Devna Hotel for our last 2 nights in Delhi after a wonderful and yet exhausting 3 week adventure in India, before flying back home to the U.S. After finding it in the Lonely Planet, we are so glad we did! It is located in a quiet “green and clean” area of Delhi which is nearly impossible to find in this loud and littered City. The place is uniquely filled to the brim with antiques and old yellowed photographs of interesting characters of India’s past. The rooms in this small hotel are elegant, classy, and comfortable. It is like something out of Architectural Digest Magazine, without the usual boring predictable hotel décor. Morning breakfast is served buffet style out in their lovely patio.
BUT…!!!! It was the extreme care that the staff gave us that distinguished them from any hotel I have ever stayed! David and the chef were particularly helpful. Hours before we arrived, my husband got sick with travelers dysentery and was sicker than a dog. (Fortunately he waited to get sick till the end of our trip.) The next 24 hours, I played nurse and our hotel room turned into a hospital room. They arranged for a nearby pharmacy to deliver medicine within an hour of our request. Their chef custom made special dishes for my husband as he began to take food again, even Googling recipes for rice pudding that we asked for. In short, they treated us like family…a royal family! Our experience taught me how vitally important it is that one stay in a hotel that really cares for their guests, especially when traveling in a foreign country! In the future, I will book the Devna every time I travel to India and consider it my Delhi home!

Room Tip: We only saw the upstairs room that we stayed in and it was great. We initially had difficulty findi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
34
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am European and this was my first contact with Asia. When I arrived to Devna, I learned that I can relax and enjoy in every moment I spend there: food, room, garden, and very warm Indian hospitality. I got a lot of very useful advices that every tourist has. Thus, I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't think, just go there and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A most beautiful place - the rooms have character, the reception is full of antiques and curios. The breakfast in the garden is a good as it gets. Wonderful and definitely a place I will return to on my next trip/.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited India very first time and was stunned to get my expectation be exceeded. I was accommodated in Devna and found it very tranquil not apposite word for a hotel but yes a place called ecstasy. The environment is inexplicable but really an exquisite place to stay. The room was very alluring and comfortable that fulfills my requirements.
I was amazed with the greeting by Mr. Manoj the prodigy and the superb service provided by him. He arranged and managed everything for us that made us grateful to him. Even the maid (forgot her name) left a mark in my mind with her delicious foodstuff.
I had a glimpsed meet with the owners, Mr. Atul and Devna, as well and found them extraordinary with their surprising gift.
I would love to stay there whenever I visit back to delhi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As this was my first visit to India, I had mixed expectations with regards to accommodation and selected Devna in New Delhi as it had garnered many positive reviews. I was not at all disappointed, in fact I found the place absolutely charming - packed full of character, and excellent service - I found it to be a re-assuring sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of New Delhi.
Upon arrival we were given a lovely greeting by David and the team, and were given some great tips by the owner of the establishment with regards to places to visit, one of which included the vibrant and arty district - Haus Khaz.
The hotel itself is situated in the area of Sundar Nagar which is a peaceful and tranquil - some may say exclusive - part of the city, only a short tuc-tuc journey away (appr. 10 mins) into the beautiful chaos of central New Delhi.
Our room was a good size - I was travelling with two friends, which meant using an extra bed for one of us - but it was more than comfortable! As we visited during the "off-season" we were give a good rate.
I would recommend a visit to Devna to absolutely anyone who is looking to be eased into their experience in India as it provides the right blend of heritage and quirky touches, with great service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Devna is as cozy as you can imagine! Anyone who stays there would recommend it to others. Located in one of the finest areas of Delhi, Devna comes along with a promise of excellent service, fabulous ambience and awesome food to all of its guests..
Would surely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Devna in April 2013 and the place was just amazing - a real sanctuary in the middle of New Delhi. The Devna is located in Sundar Nagar, one of the nicest neighborhoods in Delhi. It is walking distance from a few excellent restaurants (notably, Baci, an Italian restaurant) and a 5 minute drive by taxi or rickshaw to Khan Market. The hotel itself is very small - just 4 rooms which makes it really nice and cozy. Excellent breakfast in the courtyard and super-nice and helpful staff make this one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Devna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devna

Address: 10, Sunder Nagar, (Right Side, Smaller Gate), New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Minto Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property houses it's private art collection and guests are welcome to enjoy the art - a collection of new and old paintings by India's finest artists. Ten, which has just five rooms, enjoys a wonderfully quiet location opposite a grassy green park in the classy suburb of Sunder Nagar. It seems to be particularly popular with people staying in the Indian capital for more than just a couple of days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Devna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.