We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Location, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadily Hotel New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Piccadily Hotel New Delhi to your Saves list
Piccadily Hotel New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Janakpuri District Centre Complex, New Delhi 110058, India (Formerly Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
904 reviews 904 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
817 helpful votes 817 helpful votes
“Poor Location, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. The last time was when it had just opend its doors and was still experiencing teething troubles. Well they have all been ironed out now. This was my first stay at a Hilton property in India (not counting the Hilton Garden Inn or the erstwhile Hilton Trident chain), and glad to say, it keeps the Hilton flag flying high.

The standout feature at the hotel is no doubt the superlative service all around. Service in the hospitality industry in India tends to be either lacklustre or totally subservient. Here, it had the right balance of elegance, privacy and warmth. While having breakfast in the Executive Lounge, a staff attendant (Nanci) happened to stop by and ask about the breakfast. As always, I mince no meat and say it the way it is, and I expressed my disappointment at the unappealing south Indian fare and the rock hard, unseasonal fruits on offer. Within, no time, Sanjiv the chef was on his way and personally inquired and wanted to know how he could help. He then produced, fresh carrot juice, a platter of various fruits and the same was offered each of the following mornings at breakfast where he was personally present to make sure we were satisfied. He won our hearts!

However, the biggest problem with the hotel is its totally out of the way, unappealing location that is at least an hour away from almost any place any visitor would want to visit in New Delhi, including the international airport. The domestic airport is closer (but through some of the worst roads of Delhi). To get to and from this hotel, one can experience evrything that is wrong with the urban chaos prevalent in every city in India. I just do not understand on what basis did Hilton decide this location. It is proximate to almost nothing, and one dare not even think of walking outside!

The only other peeve I had was that the happy hour at the Executive Hour was actually in the Bar downstairs and not in the lounge itself. This was explained as due to some alcohol licensing rules or something.

So even though the hotel is excellent, I doubt if I will be back due to its inconvenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/ Janakpuri

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Janakpuri. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.
It is indeed most rewarding for my team, to receive such compliments and to realise that their dedication to providing good service contributes positively towards our guests' stay.
We are delighted that you felt well-taken care of and that the warmth and good service you received highlighted your enjoyable stay.
We hope your travels bring you back to New Delhi again; my team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    220
    118
    42
    44
See reviews for
130
181
60
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

what caught my attention the first time i entered this hotel was their beautifully done and spacious , very well decorated lobby, i think it is one the best hotel lobbies i have ever seen. i really enjoyed their bar- Malt & co. They had happy hours from 6pm to 11pm which is like the peak hours on even a Saturday- so it was a bonus.. the starters and snacks served were v good and even the music. The tea lounge is a bit too open, so if u want to sit and have a conversation, it might not be a gud idea, was more of a waiting lounge only.

Room Tip: Caution: they are all in the midst of a very populated area but i still think the rooms were suffici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri

Thank you for sharing your views on your recent stay at the Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a memorable experience at our hotel and facilities provided were able to meet your expectations, especially the offerings at Malt & Co.

Thank you once again for your patronage of Hilton New Delhi / Janakpuri. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Overall: a good Hilton property with good service and located opp Metro station.

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sep 2011.

Property: located in Janakpuri, a bit away from the Delhi sights and airport, but well connected through Metro; station right opposite to the hotel.

Rooms: because of our status, we were on the Executive floor which had its own lounge. Since we had a suite, it worked out very well for our family. Our elder one slept on the sofa in the sitting area, while our younger one slept with us on the king size bed. Room had all the luxury appointments that you can expect at this budget and for the Hilton chain.

Food: We had breakfast in the exec lounge on two days; smaller but quiet. Not recommended if you have loud kids! The main breakfast cafe was also good with an expansive buffet. We did not have any meals at the hotel.

Service: good Hilton service. Nothing to complain about.

Pool and other amenities: Fantastic pool that the kids thoroughly enjoyed.

For us, the location opp the Metro was very good. We did some of the sights by the renowned Metro service which we could effortlessly use. But airport is not exactly close as well as the sights in New Delhi. But again, the Metro can get you to most of these places.

The gym looked very good though we did not use it.

Room Tip: If you can swing a room on the Exec floor, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/ Janakpuri

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and value the opportunity and trust you showed in us by choosing to stay at our hotel with your family.

Your detailed feedback was shared with our associates who join me thanking you for the appreciation for the hotel’s services.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed only for 1 (One) night. Everything was perfect. Food was excellent and specially the Italian pizza in the Pomorado. The chef Mr. Pankaj personally made the Pizza as per our group wish. But one thing was unpleasant that they give only one bottle of drinking water per day per room, whether you are single OR two person per room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri

Thank you for being our valuable guest and for sharing your experience at Pomodoro, our Italian Restaurant. We are glad to know that you had a memorable experience. I have shared your feedback with Chef Pankaj and the team.

Such encouraging words truly work as fuel to our ongoing initiatives on making every experience a memorable one.
We look forward to your next visit. Till then......

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

stayed there last summer in a suite on the executive floor.
suite was very pleasantly decorated, with a huge bathroom with rainfall shower and tub. two flat-screen tvs, a couch and all the amenities you expect to find in a 5 star hotel.
located in a rather poor neighborhood of delhi, the hilton convinces with a pool and a stunning breakfast.
snacks and drinks at the executive level were outstanding.
limousine service to the airport was swift and comfortable with a modern (toyota) car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri

Thank you so much for sharing your views and valuable feedback with us. We are glad that you appreciated and enjoyed our services. Hotel has contemporary design; merging art and technology fashionably. We are really encouraged by your appreciation.

Thank you and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again.
Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Hilton standard is present at this hotel. It is a large hotel with a great spread for breakfast and nice rooms on the executive floors. We had a couple of minor issues - one of the rooms that we got would not lock when we left the room. Fortunately we noticed this and the locksmith was called in to fix it. In the meantime, we were given a different room. Another issue was that one of the agents kept telling me that I have to pay for the Internet even though I am a gold member. Again this was resolved after I showed them my gold Hilton card but the next day, the same agent said I need to pay for the Internet. In the final bill, all Internet charges were removed.

The hotel is quite far from most of the sights in Delhi. This is a problem since Delhi traffic is a nightmare. It took us almost 2 hours to get to Akshardham from here and it felt like forever. A more centralized location might have been a better choice for tourists.

Outside the minor issues and location, I did like the Hilton and would not mind staying here again provided that I am not here as a tourist.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/ Janakpuri

Your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken to provide us with the insights on our facilities and service details is of utmost importance to us.

Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up. It’s our ongoing effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel and allow travellers such as yourself to have a pleasant, productive and hustle free stay.
Thank you and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

It's a hotel with most uncooperative, non friendly and full of negative staff, though the restaurants are amazing. Would never advise anyone to stay or hold an event there. The staff refuses to take responsibility of any drawback or mistake happen on their account. I've burnt my fingers with stay and en event in their banquet facilities. So guys think before you plan your stay or an event there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubalChaudhry, General Manager at Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Greetings from Hilton New Delhi/Janakpuri

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.
Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the service that was provided to you and for not meeting your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the team with utmost seriousness. We assure you of corrective measures.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We wish you a pleasant week ahead

Sincerely, Rubal Chaudhry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccadily Hotel New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadily Hotel New Delhi

Address: Janakpuri District Centre Complex, New Delhi 110058, India (Formerly Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri)
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#48 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#100 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Piccadily Hotel New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Piccadily Hotel New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadily Hotel New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.