We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manoj@Pune” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunrise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunrise to your Saves list
Hotel Sunrise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4/52, Saraswati Marg | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
“Manoj@Pune”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I happened to stay here for one night during my vacation at Mussorie and other places whilst going back to pune since i had to catch my train the next day in the morning. Yes this place is located in the crowded area but ironically it is closer to Hazrat Nizammudin station. Though this is crowded with traffic it is difficult to get rickshaws in the morning and they charge double if booked through the hotel. If you are visiting the city during winter be aware that there are no room heaters provided, the only solace are the blankets provided. Cant comment on the food since we did not have any from the hotel. We only ate breakfast and that arrived pretty late after we called twice to roomservice. Rooms are small compared to other hotels we stayed in Mussorie and Haridwar. If you still want to stay at this hotel try driving down late in the evening or early morning as it is pretty crowded during the rest of the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    16
    16
    28
See reviews for
31
40
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It was part of our final gadventures and our final night, so it was low quality for them. It was ok, but walls were dirty, locks didn't work, I didn't feel comfortable to have a shower. It was central to old India, our bus couldn't go to drop off our bags. I am not sure what level of accomodation and what market they are after, and I can rough it in Australia, but this was very low standard.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is in an extremely crowded area. The rooms and toilets are tiny with zero cleanliness. The mattress was full of hair and the room wasn't clean at all. I was surprised to see many foreigners staying at this place!
The only positive about the hotel are the staff. They are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I don't know what the problem is with some people that complaining about the hotel.  I cannot say enough nice things about the Sunrise Hotel. I come all three years in the same hotel. I go every year to India. Because India is my  favorite destination.
And I see that every year the owner does his best to make the hotel as pleasant stay for his guests. He therefore remains improvements in his hotel.  He wants that the  guests feel like they are at home so comfortable. 
From the very first moment you enter  the hotel you just feel that you are at home. The hotel staff is very   friendly and the service is really good. Mr.Sajjan Singh  the owner was extremely helpful as always.  The sleep quality is good, and the most important thing the cleanliness. The Hotel is very clean. And don't  forget the fine white large and soft towels of Sunrise.  and you can eat delicious and cheap in the hotel itself in the restaurant. So if u are going to Delhi (Karol Bagh)  this hotel is the perfect place to stay. The location is very nice its  walking distance from Metro ...so overall it was nice & comfort stay.... Stay here and you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SajjanSunrise, Owner at Hotel Sunrise, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Ms. Roos,
Greetings from Hotel Sunrise, Delhi .
Madam thank you very much for your review,
Madam really very much appreciate for always using our hotel and happy with the services of our hotel. Madam when you come again to Delhi please come and stay with us and we assure you that again we make you satisfy with the best service of our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Sajjan Singh
Hotel Sunrise
4/52, WEA, Saraswati Marg,
(Next to Hotel Regent Continental)
Karol Bagh, New Delhi - 110005
Phone : 011-47071476 (10 Lines)
Fax : 011-47071486
Mobile : 09818666671 (24 hours OK)
SKYPE ID : sajjansingh
E-mail : hotelsunrisedelhi@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A group of us stayed at Hotel sunrise a few nights in November and upon arrival late at night (almost midnight) we were told by the manager that they had only booked us 1 room when we had clearly booked 2 rooms for 4 people. The manager told us he had overbooked and had no extra rooms. We were told that half of us could stay another hotel (owned by the same owner) around the corner but politely refused to be split up and asked to have extra beds in the one room. The same thing happened to another girl who we met the following night and she said the other hotel is significantly worse.The next night we were given our actual rooms.

What was good was the included standard breakfast for both mornings, you just have to make sure they know it is the 'included breakfast' so you are not charged. The plentiful staff are quite helpful and are friendly.
In terms of the rooms, there is quite a difference between each room. Some rooms have really old, rusted showers which have no water pressure. In general the showers are unreliable with hot water and you need to let it run for 5-7mins until hot water comes out. Beds are clean and comfortable with good sheets, so if you are just looking for a bed to rest on then the hotel will meet your needs.
You could probably could find a better hotel in the same area at around the same price. The complimentary pickup service is not included for standard rooms and is expensive and the driver doesn't always show up (we met 2 people whose pickup didn't show up at all). A taxi to this hotel should only cost about 500 Rupees (4 people) including baggage but we were charged 800 Rupees by a prepaid service the first night which is fine as it is common to get ripped off. However by the end of a 3 week stay in india we were much more aware and smarter with charges.

Pros - good location near Gaffar Markets, good staff and clean beds
Cons - Bad Showers, booking errors, tried to charge us for included breakfasts

The reviews on this website seem really good but it wouldn't be my first choice because there are SO many hotels in the area with the same price range. The room's included breakfast is really good though.

Room Tip: 102 is dodgy room with the rusty shower. 103 is good though. However the third floor's rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SajjanSunrise, Owner at Hotel Sunrise, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Tiff,
Greetings from Hotel Sunrise, Delhi .
Thank you very much for your review,
When you come again to Delhi please come and stay with us and we assure you that again we make you satisfy with the best service of our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Sajjan Singh
Hotel Sunrise
4/52, WEA, Saraswati Marg,
(Next to Hotel Regent Continental)
Karol Bagh, New Delhi - 110005
Phone : 011-47071476 (10 Lines)
Fax : 011-47071486
Mobile : 09818666671 (24 hours OK)
SKYPE ID : sajjansingh
E-mail : hotelsunrisedelhi@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a great location, local market, restaurants and metro all close by. The rooms are good size, clean and comfortable and quiet. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. I would defiantly recommend this hotel if you want good value for money right in the heart of Delhi. Thanks for a great stay Mary and Laura

Room Tip: Rooms with a window are nice but just ask to look at a couple of rooms and choose the one you like b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SajjanSunrise, Owner at Hotel Sunrise, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Ms. Mary,
Greetings from Hotel Sunrise, Delhi .
Madam thank you very much for your review,
Madam when you come again to Delhi please come and stay with us and we assure you that again we make you satisfy with the best service of our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Sajjan Singh
Hotel Sunrise
4/52, WEA, Saraswati Marg,
(Next to Hotel Regent Continental)
Karol Bagh, New Delhi - 110005
Phone : 011-47071476 (10 Lines)
Fax : 011-47071486
Mobile : 09818666671 (24 hours OK)
SKYPE ID : sajjansingh
E-mail : hotelsunrisedelhi@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was the 2nd time i had been to the hotel. Nice staff very helpful. Rooms are also spacious. Location also convenient. Foods are little expensive and bathrooms require repair. Wi fi is there but very slow. Anyways it was a pleasant night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SajjanSunrise, Owner at Hotel Sunrise, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Raxoneel,
Greetings from Hotel Sunrise, Delhi .
Sir thank you very much for your review and suggestions,
Sir when you come again to Delhi please come and stay with us and we assure you that again we make you satisfy with the best service of our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Sajjan Singh
Hotel Sunrise
4/52, WEA, Saraswati Marg,
(Next to Hotel Regent Continental)
Karol Bagh, New Delhi - 110005
Phone : 011-47071476 (10 Lines)
Fax : 011-47071486
Mobile : 09818666671 (24 hours OK)
SKYPE ID : sajjansingh
E-mail : hotelsunrisedelhi@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunrise

Address: 4/52, Saraswati Marg | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunrise 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunrise is conveniently located in the heart of the premium business, economic, financial & shopping district of New Delhi. The Central Government offices, International Trade Fair Ground - Pragati Maidan, Diplomatic Enclave, Embassies and High Commissions, Connaught Place, Parliament House, President's Estate, State Emporiums and the Railway Station are located with in a 5 km. radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunrise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.