We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Star Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Star Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Star Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5158, Main Bazar, Pahar Ganj | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had a very nice room and was working on a project for a few days, the wifi was great and there was HBO movies which was nice. Used the room service which was good, fast (except for when I ordered pizza) and very affordable.. One of the nicer and better priced places I have stayed in India on a budget. Staff was kind and just a phone call away. Restaraunt on the roof could be improved, and it was weird seeing the staff sleeping up there, would recommend you just order room service, the food is really good. Also there is a view of the cemetary out the window but I didn't mind at all, I could also look down and see a nice little market and watch the people which was quite entertaining and "real Delhi". Room was clean and bed was so comfy, nice curtains block out all the light and AC was good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
24
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great location close to the New Delhi train station. Large clean rooms. Very friendly, helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay here and recommend it. Excellent value for money. We pre-arranged airport pickup and everything went smoothly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

after looking at the professional pictures we deciced to book this hotel as its location seemed to be ideal , esp that we needed a decent room to sleep in after a hetic day from a flight. it then turned sour from the moment we were given room keys ... was 5 of friends staying at the hotel with 2 female in a room only to find that opposite to our proposed room was a man radomly opening his bedroom door with nothing but he his towel HOW NASTY N PERVERTED as you walked down the corridor you got the same thing happening again very creepy i started feeling very uncomfortable so complained and was given a diff room ,,,,,so girls avoid this hotel at all costs!!!!

we then opened the door to our room only to find a super strong smell of ciggerette smell , clearly guests have been smoking insdie the room when we reserved a non smoking room just when things couldnt get any worse the view from our room was a grave yard in which before i knew of this i must admit i did hear some funny creepy noises in which i thought was my friend and it wasnt.

our bathroom was extremly dirty with big nasty brown stains on our towels,(yep dats rite brown stains yukkkkkk) room was dusty and dirty with our friends having cockroaches roaming around in their room. i guess they cater for insects too!!!!

next day breakfast rooftop patio looked nothing like the picture moreover looked very basic and dirty with only 2 menus for all guests so you had to wait for everyone else to order thier food to get a menu and taking like half an hour to come out with your food not good if you hungry or have some were to get too.

overall this hotel was really bad wouldnt even rate it 1* was suppose to stay 4 nights only stayed 2 as its a very creepy hotel were men walking in towels seems to be acceptable to them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Management was a joke! Cockroaches, dirty towels and dust everywhere sums up our room! Toilet was stained with brown stains. We gave management a chance to rectify the issues. They did not nothing of the sort. They said they had done pest control in our room while we went out however we still saw cockrocahces running around. On arrive other male guests on our floor where walking around in their underwear and towels... very odd. Management were not helpful whatsoever and did not give us a discount upon checkout of which we asked for... DO NOT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Despite it's pompous name, Star Plaza is a place that you can live with, as soon as you can lower your expectations. At the end of the day, you get what you are paying for but then the real question is if you want to pay that extra dollar just to get to stay in better conditions.
First, the good:
- very good location, by Delhi's historical bazaar district (the reason I chose it)
- quiet
- friendly (albeit a bit pushy) staff. They will literally run out to the nearby supermarkets to fetch things that you wish but they don't have in their (very small) restaurant
Now, the not so good:
- There was no WiFi during the entire stay, despite it was advertised (it was "broken")
- Air conditioning was tricky in the room (either didn't work when needed, or couldn't turn it off when not needed)
- "Restaurant" is basically a small room with few tables and a cooking stove - don't expect a European or American-style bar.
- The postcards I left at reception for sending (due to lack of time) were not sent despite a firm promise and postage money left with the postcards...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai Mueang, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was my third visit to Delhi and this time I stayed in Hotel Star Plaza, I had book it through Agoda.com and found it best price in main market location. They welcomed with an energetic smile and gave me the room. Room was nice and new, bed was also comfortable. Bathroom was modern and shining. Breakfast was included in my room rent which was also tasty. we could not take the lunch or dinner because we had organized a day-tour of new & old Delhi. Staffs were very friendly and helpful on every moment. Service was fast . I enjoyed the stay here a lot. It is appropriate of price & i recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We popped in without a booking- despite construction work across the road which did make things very noisy, but we thought may result in a bit of a discount. No concession from staff on proce, but once we did check out rooms it was actually not too noisy - plus the work stopped at about 8pm and didn't start again until about 7 next morning. Mid winter and roof top restaurant was freezing in morning. Staff were generally quite friendly and did allow us to leave our bags there until our late night train. Room basic and bit overpriced for location, bathroom basic but clean enough, floor of bedroom in need of a good clean. Ours did have a good view over the cemetary across the lane. Convenient to RK Ashram Metro station and main bazaar - 10 minute walk to New Delhi Central station.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up - a bit quieter (there is a lift which worked when we were there).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Star Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star Plaza

Address: 5158, Main Bazar, Pahar Ganj | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is of 3-star category which gives a luxurious accommodation at the economic price. It has the green surroundings with the windows in spite of being in Paharganj. It has all facilities like Sony LCD in every room, a modern outlay of the furniture and bathroom with utmost care of hygiene. The friendly an cooperative staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Star Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Star Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.