We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over charged, credit card payment not working” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Star Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Star Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Star Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5158, Main Bazar, Pahar Ganj | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“over charged, credit card payment not working”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The room was decsent but not as good as the pictures on their website. We always needed to call down to the recepton to tell them to put on the A/C. The breakfast is pretty chemical (fake butter and jam). What I read on other reviews is correct; the card payment never works. Also I saw afterwards they overcharged me a couple of hundreds Rupies. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
8
19
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Star Plaza hotel in New Delhi and found the place to be very run down and dirty. Our room was quiet shabby and after checking in we knew that showering was not an option. On check out, we found people sleeping randomly around the hotel & even in reception on the floor. The hotel is located in a very noisy area with a lot of activity throughout the night. A building is being constructed directly across the narrow street and they worked on this late into the night. We couldn't get out of the place fast enough.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The pictures are definitely photoshoped...
The best of the best rooms is dirty and i really mean dirty, I had to give 200 roupies to the staff so they would really clean my room. Hot water is "unsual" at best, food is below average and expensive. The front desk manager is very moody, some days he'll be friendly some days he won't even acknowledge your presence. You constantly have to call the reception because they switch off your AC even if you're in your room.
Positive: Good mattress, clean(ish) sheets, the wifi connection is really good, the staff can be friendly after the've found out you tip well and all the time...:s
The hotel is 2 min for RK ashram metro station and right in Pahar Ganj.
Overall sort of comfortable but overpriced, dirty and noisy, you're ok being there but happy to leave and not come back...
Ps: they advertise the Deluxe rooms have views, it is true BUT on one side you have a graveyard on the other a building in construction very close by..

Room Tip: Thrid floor is better but more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Don't be deceived by the catchy photographs posted on the website and icon. You will be disappointed once you reach the hotel and check-in.
I booked this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor and was surprised to see that people still consider giving it 3 star rating which it does not deserve at all.

Let me start with the location.
1. There is a building being constructed right opposite to the entrance of this hotel with dust, noise and safety hazards that is a real downer. Not to mention masons and laborers can be found roaming around which will make you feel insecure.

2. The receptionist is rude and annoying. Not at all friendly and approachable

3. I had booked the Executive room as per the website but did not find my room up to the Standard at all. The bed sheet had stains and was dirty which was given an explanation that it is a permanent stain and could not be removed now.

4. The AC has to be switched on from lobby and is not automatic.

5. The view was pathetic from window that had an under construction building and laborers that can also peek into your room.

6. No Wi-Fi connectivity. This was the worst part of my trip. I preferred this hotel just because it promised a wi-fi connection, but then this had an excuse about server being down and under maintenance. No proactive help given.

7. Around 4 am in the morning I was thirsty and called the room service to ask for a bottle of water. No one attended even after repeated calls. I had to walk down to the reception and wake up the staff. When I asked them why no one answered in room service, I got a rude reply stating 'Can't you see the time'?
Then why the hell you guys stated 24 hrs room service.
After much cribbing one of the staff member provided me the mineral water.

8. The water in the shower is hard and not hot enough for a cold chilly morning. The soap does not get washed off easily as a result of this. The design of the bathroom is su***.
They have a mirror on the door when it closes and the WC is bang opposite to this.
Who would want to see themselves while they s***?

9. No safety lock for valuables. The only way to secure them is to go down to the reception and deposit your valuables!!!
How many would be comfortable doing this?

10. Room is not spacious and the cushion including pillow does not give you a good night sleep.

In the morning I complained about my experience to the Manager who was not apologetic but instead argued with me proving his own point to be correct. I realized it was waste of my time arguing with the management of this hotel and walked off.


Not recommended especially for Foreigners and Couples.

Room Tip: Do not expect the rooms to be the way you see them on website. I would not recommend any room sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

friendly staff who are always willing to help clean rooms. noisy neighbourhood with lots of dogs barking throughout the night....only down side was our tour driver. Driver from hell and on a death wish. Scared the crap out of us, but soon calmed down after I gave him my review...then again flipped after getting stopped by the cops. apart from that the hotel was ok. It's what you'de expect for 3 Stars

Room Tip: If you're booking whilst you're there...then ask to see rooms first and try getting rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family last week.
I arrived 1st and was offered tea, coffee etc and everyone was very friendly. The rooms themselves are fine for Delhi standards.
My mother, father and family friend arrived later. We were promised 2 twin rooms and were given 2 double rooms. I don't mind sharing a bed with my mother, but my father and our (male) friend couldn't be expected to share a bed.
The hotel employee said the hotel was full for that night and that they couldn't change room. They said they could bring a single bed into the existing room and that their accommodation for that night would be free.
The 'single bed' turned out to be a thin, dirty, single mattress on the floor.
The next night they were able to change to a twin room. We arrived late back from Agra, and decided to pay for the rooms as we were leaving very early the next morning. My father wanted to pay by credit card, and they had a sign stating that they accepted credit card, but the became angry that he wanted to use his credit card and then said the machine wasn't working.
They made my father go out into the main bazaar in the middle of the night to use the ATM, which wasn't working.
Then they made him go out again to find another one.
When he went to pay for the rooms, they were going to charge him the full amount even tho he was promised 2 twin rooms, and 1 free night. The guy on the front desk was so unhelpful and made my dad ring Raj the manager, who was equally as unhelpful and rude. Even tho we had the email printout promising 2 twin rooms, and after explaining the whole fiasco about the dirty mattress on the floor and the promised free night. He didn't care. He said too bad.
So like I said, it started out promising but ended up terrible! Don't trust anything these people tell you. Even if you have a printout of a confirmed room booking, don't be surprised if its all lies.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A very good hotel, Rooms were so clean and the staff were pleasing.
Only problem we had was the manager asked me how much you paid in cleartrip and was not beleiving the amount i was offered for in cleartrip. Thanks to cleartrip for the deal.

Complementary breakfast was good, and so was dinner.
My parents loved the place and its very reachable, just 2 mins walk from Ramakrishna Ashram Marg Metro.

Overall a very good, calm and pleasing hotel in a centr place, just steps away from a Metro station. Love this place, Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Star Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star Plaza

Address: 5158, Main Bazar, Pahar Ganj | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is of 3-star category which gives a luxurious accommodation at the economic price. It has the green surroundings with the windows in spite of being in Paharganj. It has all facilities like Sony LCD in every room, a modern outlay of the furniture and bathroom with utmost care of hygiene. The friendly an cooperative staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Star Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Star Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.