We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive Staff, Affordable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aura to your Saves list
Hotel Aura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
STORM LAKE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Attentive Staff, Affordable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is affordable and clean. I stayed for a week and I was well served. Although I could hear constant noise, had to ask to fix something, had to ask/wait several times, but it is a part of experience in India. Bring your ear plugs and get used to it. Staff are polite, helpful, and attentive. The booking manager Anuj and the room manager Kapil (they are brothers) are very nice. Whenever I encountered minor problems, they tried to do their best. Kapil checked on me every day to ask if everything was OK.
For breakfast, you can ask black coffee (Nescafe, though), eggs for any style, and plain toast. If you are an exercise fanatic, there is a fitness room in the basement. A space heater and hair dryer are available upon your request.
You can walk to three Metro Stations: New Delhi (Yellow Line), Rajiv Chowk (Connaught Place: Yellow and Blue Lines), and RK Ashram Marg (through the Main Bazaar: Blue Line). I am a walker but if you are not, you can take an auto rickshaw.
If you need a clean place with affordable price, this is the one. I recommend to check in around noon so that you have more choices for a room. See some rooms, check in details, and choose a room you like (even if you arrive in odd time, just ask alternatives).

Room Tip: For quiet night, choose a room without window. Each room is slightly different. If you get there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    122
    53
    21
    14
See reviews for
31
84
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked with this hotel a month before traveling to India and were arriving in Delhi and checking straight into this hotel (or we thought we were!!!). We took a taxi (a lovely, friendly man) to the area where the hotel was and couldn't find it. Turns out the road had been closed off because of a festival and the hotel had neglected to inform us that because of this, all bookings were cancelled and that we now had nowhere to stay. We were stranded in Delhi with nowhere to stay and therefore had to pay a HUGE amount to get a driver to take us last minute to Agra. Not impressed and not happy at all!! We had already paid for the hotel in full as well and therefore had to fight to be refunded in cash before we left Delhi. I hope none of you have similar experiences.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sales_aurahotel, General Manager at Hotel Aura, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to inform you that this is a case of NO SHOW and would like to inform you that we are no where for your problem. You mentioned that you took a taxi to reach our hotel and you could not found our hotel. Who told you that road is closed due to festival. Please give name whom you talk to our hotel. You dialed our number yourself ?

NO.NO. NO. You did not dial our number. It seems you allowed taxi man to dial our number, he did not dial our number, it was his friends number from where they told you that road is closed and booking is cancelled.

Everyday we are receiving this kind of complaints. We would like to inform you that whom you said " LOVELY , Friendly men in your review , he was the cheater, who misguided you and stopped you to reach our hotel and took you to another hotel where you paid huge amount and he took you to Agra.

All that he did for his benefit, commission. You must lodge a complaint against that person if you have any contact detail and also should lodge a complaint against that hotel where he took you to stay and paid a huge amount.

Hotel aura is no where responsible for for this incidents.

Hotel Aura Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good hotel, close to the train station, connaught place, backpacker area, friendly and helpful staff.

Down sides, food is expensive (especially the toast). Shop around if want a taxi

Overall would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I choose this hotel and It was recommended to me by my friend, First of all there was no bell boy who can take my luggage to my room, then they provide me room on the 1st floor and there is no Mobile network available in that room so my phone was out of reach in the room and this is really very pathetic. Everytime I have to make a call I have to come into the lobby or reception.

Although the room and bathroom were clean, but the food quality was not good. They could have serve the food in better way and also they have to check the quality of the food and room service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Based on the price we paid, the hotel was great. The staff were incredibly friendly and will do anything for you. At first the location seemed a bit strange, but after exploring the area we discovered we were right near tourist markets and right in the middle of Delhi. The rooms are nice and beds are comfortably, our room didn't have a window, BUT as it turns out this is a good thing due to high levels of street noise all night. This isn't some 5 star hotel with immaculate service and stunning rooms, but for the low cost it is such great value for money.

Room Tip: Take booking confirmation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here twice over 10 trip. The staff are very friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to help us plan drivers for the rest of the trip. That being said the communication between the shifts was definately lacking at points. An example for this being, we asked for a taxi to be arrange for the following morning and when we came down for it, the staff didn't know anything about it. Our room for the first stay was nice and based at the back of the hotel so the noise from traffic was reduced, however the area as a whole is very noisy and it does carry through the hotel, so I would recommend ear plus if staying. Beds were very comfy and we slept well. Hot water was a bit hit and miss, and we found that this was dependant on the time of day that you showered. On our second stay it really wasn't great. We had a room situated at the front of the hotel, the noise was terrible and we barely slept - frustrating as we were traveling for the day. Also the TV didn't work, we asked reception to look at this but it didnt fix the problem. I would stay again, but only if we had a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Outside Area sorrounding this Hotel is very Bad. It is very busy, dirty & noisy. The Ambience of the Hotel from the Inside is very good. The Staff are very caring and good. The 1st day I was given a room from where I could hear all the noise from the next Street and I could not sleep well. I complained and the Management changed my room which was much better and convenient. The food is pretty Decent and worth the money.

Room Tip: Never Take the Rooms on the Ground Floor. The 1st and 2nd Floor Rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Aura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura

Address: 31, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aura 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Facilities and ambiance of Hotel Aura enchants the business and the leisure traveler alike the luxurious lifestyle experiences for you. Hotel Offers facilities like laundry services, doctor on call, fax, e-mail & Wi-Fi Internet facilities, elevator facilities, money changer, mini-bar in rooms, travel desk and uninterrupted power supply. Besides these hotel is also facilitated with Gym, Massage Services and Spa, Steam & Sauna Bath , Parking Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.