We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Noveau Cuisine at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varq

Varq
Mansingh Road | The Taj Mahal, Lower Lobby Level 1, New Delhi 110001, India
+91 11 6656 6162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 5,910 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Indian Noveau Cuisine at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Provided by a top chef, supported by excellent staff - this is a great dining experience. Most servings are smaller than the usual but the food is rich in flavour and presented beautifully.

Rated as one of India's top restaurants I urge you to enjoy the experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    55
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant late at night just before the kitchen was closing. We were given a warm welcome and despite the fact that the kitchen was about to close we weren't rushed and given ample time to decide. The ambience of this restaurant is quite elegant and the decor is impressive. The service is top notch, my wife was feeling cold and I requested our server to call the main gate to get her shawl from our car but they had a shawl of in the restaurant for such an eventuality, impressive. The presentation and taste of the food was top class. They even gave us complimentary chat as appetiser and between the starters and main course they gave us mango sorbet in a bowl with dry ice which was visually impressive but also tasty. We would certainly be regulars here now.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A brilliant introduction to Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

In the sumptuous Taj Mahal hotel on Delhi, escape the dust and bustle of the city for a refuge and great service. Let your waiter order for you giving your spice/ heat preference and prepare to enjoy. For ladies, they will being you a cute little bench to put your purse on so you don't have to put it on the floor. Don't miss this

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So good we went back again... and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A colleague and I were in India on business this week. After reading reviews on here we decided to give Varq a try. It was so good we returned on Thursday and Friday, The only thing stopping us going back tomorrow is that we will be back home in Scotland.

The service was great the staff were friendly courteous and very very helpful. Even going to the lengths of complementing me on my very poor grasp of Hindi. and the food, well it was just amazing. We stuck with vegetarian food for each night but had a wonderfully varied selection with none of teh dishes less than excellent. Wonderful use of spices which were both intense yet subtle if that makes any sense. Such a wide array of flavours too.While all the dishes were top quality the particular standouts for me were the Palak Patta Chat, the Palak Aur Wadi (strange in both cases as spinach dishes can be hit or miss for me) and the Dome, a chikki kulfi encased in chocolate, flambéd in cognac and smotehred in a baileys cream reduction, which may be the best desert I have ever eaten.

As for price, while it is expensive by Delhi standards I still feel it represents excellent value for money as to eat food that good in surroundings like that with such wonderful service back in teh UK you'd feel lucky if you managed to get it for twice the price, if not more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I was very excited to take my family to this restaurant given its rating on tripadvisor. Certainly, the place and ambience are very nice and waiters are polite. Unfortunately, it took a very long time to get our food. We waited an hour and a half before we got any of the food we ordered and on top of that, they brought the appetizers and main courses at the same time so we had to hurry to eat the food so as to not let it get cold. The kicker though was the cockroach on the table while we were eating dinner. The waiter told us that they fumigate the place every Friday but clearly it wasn't very effective.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varq also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Varq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.