We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varq

Varq
Mansingh Road | The Taj Mahal, Lower Lobby Level 1, New Delhi 110001, India
+91 11 6656 6162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 5,910 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Contemporary Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is easily one of the best resturants that iev had the pleasure of dining in, india or abroad. iev dined at chef hemant oberoi's Zodiac grill too but this is in a league of its own ! the varqi crab , the hallem and kebabs , the khurmani ka kebab,the martaban ka meat and the masala chai creme brulee are beyond words !! well worth the price !!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    55
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“B.R.I.L.L.I.A.N.T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The title should have told you all that you need to know. This is easily the best restaurant I've eaten in India. The place has a limited menu, but, rest assured, each and every dish on the menu is brilliant in terms of taste as well as presentation. Definatley a must - do!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Traditional Indian Cuisine Served in Contemporary Sophistication... the Taj way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

When one steps into this restaurant at the Taj Mansingh New Delhi one can feel the quiet sophisticated ambiance like a perfect work of contemporary art ... this is Varq.
The wine list is par excellence.. And the beautiful wine lady (though not traditional Indian, she is from the Czech Republic) has exceptional knowledge of wines.

The traditional Indian food served in a stylish contemporary manner is the signature of this place. Some specialties like the Lamb Galouti and the Lamb Raan are amazing - one needs a hell of an appetite to eat all this. The Sukha Mutton is out of this world and recommended.

In between the dishes we were served some Aam Sorbet to neutralize the taste buds and to treat our eyes with some traditional Indian magic. ... the dish has 6 ~ 8 holes all puffing out white smoke! This is dry ice in a dish with holes ....amazing and spectacular! The green apple kheer was la-jawab (awesome).
Taj cuisine at its best. We exchanged greetings with the master chef and gave him a tip or two on how to make a traditional Maratha dish called the the ‘Matnacha Loncha’ or dry Lamb pickle in traditional Indian spices – this can stay for days.... Amazing experience this Varq... one should not miss to experience true to its meaning ... work of gold/silver foil used on the traditional Indian food !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Indian food par excellence and courteous service. We enjoyed everything.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ok food, lethargic service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I am a big Taj fan & always find their service pretty consistent across there properties. This time we visited Warq, after a long while. The concept is good as it modernises the Indian food, however I feel that places like Junoon in NYC have done more justice with contemporary Indian food. Nevertheless, we had heard that some good dishes have been added to Warq's menu. We ordered many things (veg).. Few of them tasted good, like the trio in the starters or paneer in the main course. But Chole & dal were okaish, whereas in our previous visist, the choles were yum!!
Service was very unimpressive, may be because they were understaffed. I don't know why? How can a fine dining restaurant have less staff that too on weekends. Thus, things were coming late, requests were either honoured too late or even went unheard.
All in all we felt disappointed & not very happy visiting Warq. I hope Taj takes note of this & takes corrective measures.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varq also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Varq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.