We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in New Delhi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hari Piorko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hari Piorko to your Saves list
Hotel Hari Piorko
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4775, Main Bazar,Near 6 Tooti Chowk | Pahar ganj, New Delhi 011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good value in New Delhi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The service at Hari Piorko was very good. There are a lot of staff here and we found most to be very friendly and helpful.

We absolutely loved our room! It had a tropical fish tank in it which made it feel really chilled out. There were also nice pictures on the wall and decent furniture. The bed was huge and had a duvet on it, something I've never had in an Indian hotel before. The A/C is very good.
In the room there are tea/coffee making facilities (but no tea and coffee), sat TV and a fridge. Room service is available.The bathroom was a good size and actually had a shower cubicle. Everything was really clean. Toilet roll/towels/soap all provided.

The hotel has a restaurant on site called something like 'Fire and Ice'. You can either sit in the air conditioned restaurant on the first floor or sit on the rooftop terrace (where the food is cooked). Breakfast was fine but other meals that we had there were quite poor. Indian food seemed to be lacking in flavour and western dishes were just not cooked properly. Despite all this, they served excellent chai!

There is free WiFi at the hotel but it's not very good.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the main bazaar in the Pahar Ganj area. It's in a really good place particularly if you're arriving by train at the New Delhi railway station. All the popular sights are a short auto-rickshaw ride away.

The shop on the ground floor sells all the souvenirs you could possibly want and there was no hassle. Everything is price-marked.

Overall this is a great place to stay and offers a chilled out escape from the madness of Delhi. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    428
    134
    42
    18
See reviews for
174
307
183
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel was good for Delhi at the price we paid. It was clean, which is important in India, the staff were friendly and the rooftop terrace was inviting. The fish tank was a nice touch and helped the rooms provide a relaxing atmosphere.

I chose to stay in Pahar Ganj as I'd read it was the back packer area but I didn't really see that many other back packers around. I'd say there are nicer areas to stay in. It's also more expensive to get rickshaws back to Pahar Ganj in the evenings as the streets are so congested it takes the drivers a long time to get back out.

Watch out for people trying to scam you in the street outside the hotel and on the street round the corner to Connaught Place. We were approached by a young guy who started walking with us and offered to show us to the government tourist office where some other guy tried to rip us off for A LOT of money. There is actually only 1 government tourist office in Delhi, make sure you go to the right one, all the others are just a group of guys, with a shop, trying to scam tourists; they even have signs saying they're government offices!

If you can put up with the madness of Pahar Ganj I'd say this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights before our flight back. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had a nice size. Warm water available. Unfortunately there was no window in the room which is quite annoying. The food in the restaurant was good. The Hotel is in the very busy Main Bazar area in Paharganj between Ramakrishna Ashram Marg Metro Station and the New Delhi train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have used the Hari Piorko a number of times as a base for our expedition groups before they head to the Indian Himalayas for mountaineering expeditions. I think the Hari Piorko is a great base - centrally located in the heart of the main bazaar, near to Connaught Place and only a few minutes from the railway station. The staff are always really helpful, the rooms are clean and well appointed and the rooftop restaurant is good quality.

Our groups are always changing and some group members come and go at different times - the staff always do everything possible to help make the arrangements required....and always with a smile. The Hari Piorko has worked well for us on many visits to Delhi - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The whole experience was satisfactory. Upon check-in they saw that the room i requested was full, so they upgraded my room without any additional cost. The staff were nice and informative when you ask them questions. The main railway station is just a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Expect that Paharganj area will be crowded, filthy and busy but this is a backpacker's place so learn to blend in and enjoy the bustle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Located in Old Delhi, Hotel Hari Piorko was a little difficult to get to due to the narrow streets, but once you arrive, they treat you incredibly well. Upon arrival, they showed us a couple of rooms and gave us a choice between 2 twin beds facing the street vs. 1 double bed facing the interior. I don't know too many hotels where they actually give you a CHOICE, so I was fairly impressed from the get-go. When we asked them for an outlet converter, they went on the hunt for us and said, "if we don't own the right one, we'll go out immediately and buy it for you." Now that's what I call going over and beyond!

Overall, it was a great stay = comfortable bed + clean bathroom/shower + great service. My only suggestion is to decrease the # of fish in each room aquarium - they don't look very happy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Every time I visit Delhi it used to be a hard exercise to find appropriate hotel close to my work and livable. Hari piorKo had solved all my problem. Below are my Pros and Cons for the Hotel.

Pros:
1. Very Economical
2. Excellent Reception and Hotel Staff
3. Cleanliness
4. Aquarium in the Room

Cons:
1. Inside the Main bazar
2. Food Served is Average

For sure this place is worth a stay if you need place in budget.

Room Tip: Not sure about goodroom but book the hotel through cleartrip just days before arrival they provide g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hari Piorko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hari Piorko

Address: 4775, Main Bazar,Near 6 Tooti Chowk | Pahar ganj, New Delhi 011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hari Piorko 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hari Piorko is a landmark in the midst of busy market New Delhi, where hospitality stands first. Covering 5000 sq. yards space with elegant interiors & teak wood furniture designed for comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Hari Piorko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hari Piorko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.