We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience with seepage rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Anand to your Saves list
Hotel Anand
8/41, WEA, Abdul Aziz Road | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #484 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
NYC
1 review
“Bad Experience with seepage rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

I must admit that I had a bad bad experience during my leisure time here. The hotel was undergoing some renovation and I really had to spends my nights in the seepage rooms.
I would not recommend this hotel to any traveler .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
9
17
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Having read positive reviews on tripadvisor we decided to stay here before traveling around north India. I really can understand why this hotel has been rated so highly on this site. It was one of the worst hotels we stayed at over three weeks. The staff were grumpy, slow and not very helpful. The room was a reasonable size but basic and not particularly clean. The bathroom was grim and the shower cold. The roof top restaurant was a converted flat roof with a staff member p*ssing in the corner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I booked it after surfing trip advisor but quit disappointed. I don’t know if these happen with me or the good review written are wrong. No pick up, upon arrival staff sleeping and can ask you for a “VOUCHER” to print at 3 A.M. when you are so tired. Then how you in a dirty room, I forget what cleanliness means here it was stained towel, smelling toilet and mosquitoes around the room. Anyways this comes to an end when I was checking out in the morning. Above all before the final and to my misery an extra 20% of the agreed room rent on the net rate (inclusive of taxes as to come) was changed. Hotel is not for Europeans or people who prefer clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I was picked up as promised and the driver waited even tho I forgot to give my flight number ooops. The hotel location was very good and the hotel itself was a break from the chaotic streets. The hotel was very clean and the service was excellent with a good rooftop resteraunt to relax in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Was greeted by their friendly driver as promised at the International airport (free).

Not long after I had arrived I was asked by the helpful staff (namely Shabir) if I wanted to go sight seeing... this didn't take much convincing ;) I was whisked away not long after by their driver, singing and dancing my way around New Delhi... it was a lot of fun and he was great company!

The room was spacious with two singles. Funky decor and a flat screen plasma. The air conditioner was noisy however it worked a treated at helping me escape the heat of Delhi.

Unfortunately there was NO hot water... this was disappointing (I was told later that the boiler was broken and has since been repaired).

The roof top restaurant is a great place to see a completely different aspect of New Delhi. The beers were cold (not something you can often rely upon) and the food was delicious :)

Sharbir (front of house) was great company, very professional and assisted me with organising my onward adventures.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I booked three rooms at Ananda after reading some of the positive reviews the hotel has received. If you're visiting India from another country, PLEASE read this review as I hope I can help you avoid an experience that we unfortunately had to go through. I cannot understand why Ananda is rated so highly. One possible explanation: many of the reviewers seem to be Indian business travelers, who have a completely different set of expectations and needs.

In any case, don't stay at this hotel. You will undoubtedly be tempted by the price, which is admittedly low. But there are a TON of other cheap options in Delhi (Delhi is not an expensive city).

The rooms, themselves, are comfortable enough. But the rest of the hotel has a shabby, bombed-out appearance. The rooftop is disgusting and left me with a lasting, depressing image of Delhi.

The location of the hotel is terrible. Karol Bagh is full of shady characters. A routine walk around the neighborhood left me worried about getting mugged (didn't feel that way ANYWHERE else in India). Spend the extra money, and stay closer to Connaught Place. You won't regret it.

Finally, and this is the most important part: DO NOT USE THEIR TRAVEL/TRANSPORTATION SERVICES! The hotel has partnered with scamming travel/transportation companies that will try and try and try again to rip you off. The story is a long one. Suffice it to say that we were quoted a price, which we agreed to. The drivers repeatedly tried to take us to places where they'd get a commission, and they got angry when we asked them politely to just take us where we wanted to go. At the end of the night, they demanded that we pay them triple the agreed upon price. We obviously refused, and they proceeded to berate us. Hotel management did not intercede on our behalf, despite admitting at one point that the company is "full of crooks."

All in all, this hotel was the WORST of any we stayed in during our trip. Avoid. Please.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I stayed there for one week. The location was excellent. Nearby shoping places and crowd put extra value. Room was clean, more importantly, bathroom was clean.Breakfast is sufficient and good.2nd Floor Wi-Fi was best but during my stay at 1st Floor, It was dissapointing.Staffs were friendly and cooperative.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Anand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anand

Address: 8/41, WEA, Abdul Aziz Road | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Built Anand hotel offers great-value rates in New Delhi, just 5 minutes’ walk from Karol Bagh Metro Station and Asia’s biggest Market Karol Bagh, an ideal place to experience the capital of India. Today’s traveler quite rightly expects the highest standards of quality, comfort and value, and at the Anand Hotel, you are unlikely to be disappointed. The hotel is located in Heart of Central Delhi, with Market on its doorstep, and many theatres, restaurants, shops and cinemas nearby. The great location also offers easy access to all of the capital’s major tourist attractions, such as Connaught Place, India Gate, Laxmi Narain Temple, Red Fort, Raj Ghat & Jamia Mosque. Anand Hotel offers a unique blend of Indian hospitality, warmth and impeccable service and is designed with the international budget business traveller in mind. Our passion for excellence encourages us to, not only satisfy, but surpass the needs of our discerning global clientele. Anand Hotel has well appointed Standard, Deluxe, Classic Deluxe and Suite Rooms that are equipped with all of the comforts you have come to expect to deliver a memorable stay. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the hotel offers a superb combination of comfortable accommodation, great value rates, versatile amenities and an excellent central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Anand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anada Hotel
Ananda Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.