We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonel's Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colonel's Retreat to your Saves list
Colonel's Retreat
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   D-418, Defence Colony, New Delhi 110024, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 919 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Colonel's Retreat is a comfortable welcoming bed and breakfast conveniently located in the Defence Colony part of New Delhi. The staff are hospitable, the food excellent, and the accommodations clean, comfortable, and the bathroom facilities (for the wary traveler) familiar to westerners. Internet is available as well as common areas to sit with your fellow travelers and get tips on what to visit. The staff and owners are all great and will happily help you see the best of Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    95
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
84
152
50
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fantastic B&B! Warm, friendly staff and lovely, clean rooms. Yummy breakfasts that are included as well as home-cooked meals available on demand. Personal touch and numerous visits from the owners. What more could one ask for? Really felt like a home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arun (owner) is very pleasant, and cooperative

he has 2 houses in Defence colony (D-264 and D-418)
Note: Some rooms have a balcony

Pros:

Owner is cooperative and responsive
Clean
has in-room safe
Good food, available At any time
Good ac and fan
Excellent location
Solid Internet (when working)
Quiet except pigeons in the morning


Cons:


Tub leaks
Hard beds
Bed siZe queen, not king
Light at 6am without a way to darken, not good if you want to sleep later than 6am
Pigeon noise at 6am
Ok service, had to go down 2 flights of stairs when needed someone
Internet was out for 2 days
2% surcharge when using your credit card to pay for the room

We had a problem with the water fluctuating in temperature. After many calls it never really got resolved and we just dealt with it. Arun gave us a discount as compensation.

Because the owner was pleasant and cooperative, cleanliness, and location, we would definately stay here again.
Because of the water and internet problems we experienced, I gave this 4 stars instead of 5.

Miz

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hey thanks for the detailed review- you stayed with us 11 months ago. The internet would have taken a day to get fixed - we haven't heard anyone complain in 2012. Hope to see you again sometime .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my fourth trip to Delhi and my fourth stay at Colonel's Retreat. Driving in from the airport felt almost like coming home. It's great to see the same staff year after year, and they continue to do a wonderful job. Breakfast is always quick and tasty, and they were able to accommodate my occasional early starts. The rooms are clean, and they respond promptly to concerns. Arun always checks in to see how things are going - it's refreshing to see the owner taking such a personal interest in his establishment. He's made some interesting changes since the last time, although I didn't get to check out the spa. I will be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have stayed here many times and am always made to feel like I am coming home.

Location is excellent quiet but central with good bars and restaurants near by.

Transport links - Metro and taxi are excellent.

The rooms are big clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water.

The staff are delightful - friendly and helpful.

Arun the owner of The Colonels Retreat takes great pride in making sure that everything goes just right. He has also travelled very extensively in India and is a mine of useful information, contacts and advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuvalu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Colonel’s Retreat is a set of flats in a block/old house that has been converted to hotel rooms. It is in what is considered to be a plusher part of Delhi. However, I have real issues with this place and I will go through them one by one:

ITS CLAIM TO BE 300M FROM METRO IS MISLEADING:
The residence is in South Delhi, in a more ‘salubrious’ part of Delhi. These neighbourhoods are essentially walled off in their own compounds. If you look at google maps, yes, it is within a certain distance of a metro station, however, most of the road that connects to the metro is sealed off by a fence which has a small gap in it that one can squeeze through to get through to the main road where the station is. You will not see this by night and it is easily missable during the day.

Futhermore, the Delhi metro is immensely busy, even into town in the evenings. The residents do not let you out of the train first either. This is OK if you are significantly bigger than the vast majority of Indians (as I am) and/or get sufficiently angry to get in the mood to wrestle 20 Indians (I do not exagerate) out of the way to get out (as I did). To add to this, your line is the blue line. To see most of the sights in the centre of town (i.e. Old Delhi) you will need to transfer to the orange line, which basically guarantees you an Indian railways style journey for part/all of it. On wikitravel, it says that the Delhi metro users are metropolitan university types - this is totally wrong - these types are absolutely rare in Delhi. The metro is vastly underpriced, even for Indian standards (30p return for most journeys) and it is not your metropolitan types that use it. Your journey into the city centre will take you at least 1 hour.

IT IS RIGHT NEXT TO AN OPEN SEWER:
Leave the hotel, walk 20 metres and turn left. Stick your nose in the air (as well as see the gushing water from which this smell emanates) - and yes, it is an open sewer. The way the ‘Defence Colony’ suburb of Delhi works is, as an almost gated community, it has its own ‘town centre’ where shops, restaurants etc. are located. To get here (and in fact pretty much anywhere) you have to walk down the open sewer, which runs parallel to the road which gets you either out of the suburb to the main road or to the town centre. The walk to the town centre can be a bit disconcerting at night (no street electricity, some stray dogs and the smell of raw sewage). You may think that you will not eat in the suburb, but trust me, Delhi WILL tire you out and you will want to eat somewhere not right in the centre of town.

IT IS NOT CHEAP:

We paid £54/night for a double room in, what was essentially somebody’s converted house. Yes, it had a western toilet, air conditioning, 24 hour electricity and WIFI, but you do feel very much that it is somebody else’s house, and that you are an ‘interloper’, particularly when you come back at night and see the staff watching TV etc. in the communal lounge area, or when the staff are not there, not knowing who you can phone etc.

I suggest paying a slightly higher price for what, most likely, is a short stay of 4 nights maximum, staying in a real hotel with communal facilities, perhaps a fitness centre, swimming pool and a better choice of food and tourist knowledge (see below).

THE OWNER IS RARELY IN AND HIS STAFF ARE INCOMPETENT:

This has been picked up by others as well. When we stayed, the owner was in the US, a few weeks later, he was in the UK.

His staff failed us in three big ways:

1) They offered to get us 2 mobile SIM cards, which cost us about 1-2000 Indian Rupees (SIM plus photos). We got 1 phonecall out of these SIMs, and the staff never fixed the problem.

2) When we checked out, the staff did not know that we had already paid, because the owner, who was away, had the details (as the staff member Mercy told me).

3) The biggest cock-up was their arrangement of a trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. They organised this for Friday - the Taj Mahal has been shut for FOUR YEARS on the Friday. The round trip to Agra takes 8 hours. We therefore saw some other secondary sites in Agra and went on to Fatepur Sikri - and the hotel wanted full payment for this bungled trip! We offered to pay half, but staff member Mercy would not accept this, as it was less than the full amount. We therefore left without paying. The owner has since sent many emails (of which I am happy to show the webmasters of this website) as well as visiting the UK (soon after his trip to the USA), calling me on my phone and 'threatening' (so he feels) to come to my home to extort money!

I just don't feel any of this would have happened in a bigger hotel, where surely they would've known the opening hours of their biggest and most famous tourist attraction (the owner claims it would've been presumptuous to assume that a trip to Agra was to see the Taj Mahal). This whole episode also demonstrates how this business ultimately views its clients, as not once have I received a genuine apology for their mess up, just strawman arguments (my staff cannot control the opening of the Taj Mahal) to the aforementioned rubbish.

We came back to Delhi on the way out of India and we certainly did not stay in this hotel/whatever at this time.

So, in summary, this is a poorly located hotel, with unprofessional staff headed by an unprofessional manager who lacks humility and the ability to address clients properly when things do go wrong.

p.s. I would advise readers of this website to look at the reviews of people who have reviewed many places - you will see all the points I covered re-iterated on these.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I am sorry you had a rough time in Delhi. You didnt like the city, you didnt like the Brand New Metro and you didnt much care for our place either. Whats more you chose to go to Agra on a day the Taj was closed . My apologies .

98 % of our guests feel we are well located, clean and good value for money.

It is our earnest endeavour to try and convince the balance 2% . You win many and then you lose one. What can i say - i am sorry you came all the way and had an unhappy experience. I hope you come again and give us just one more chance to change things around. You still need to see the Taj!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

After years of looking for a nice hotel in Delhi, Colonel's Retreat proved to be the best! The rooms and living room/dining room area were spotless and decorated like a home instead of a hotel. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel any day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonel's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat

Address: D-418, Defence Colony, New Delhi 110024, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 919 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonel's Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great favorite with business travelers and overseas tourists alike, offering a truly comfortable, elegant place to stay. Colonel's Retreat has been lovingly created by people who are frequent global travelers themselves and who take pride in maintaining the highest world-class standards of hospitality. All rooms are air-conditioned rooms with cable TV, refrigerator, free wi-fi, electronic safe. Attached baths, with hot and cold running water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Colonel's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel`s Retreat Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonel's Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.