We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel... will definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Royal Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel The Royal Plaza
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Ashoka Rd, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 599 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel... will definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I think words will fall short if I start writing a detailed review for this hotel therefore I will keep it short and simple short. We stayed in Room 603. Maharaja Suite. Excellent hotel, very centrally located, near connaught place. Very helpful and polite staff. Buffet is good, good spread of cuisines. Would definitely stay here again! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    225
    213
    92
    75
See reviews for
89
193
67
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was staying here as part of a tour of India with Voyages Jules Verne. First impressions of this hotel upon driving in are extremely good and you'd be forgiven for thinking you were about to stay somewhere lavishly opulent. The impressive exterior entrance portico, the gushing fountains, illuminated gardens, fleet of Rolls Royces and uniformed staff to greet you all looks great. The entrance lobby is as OTT a blingfest as you can get, with Italianate fresco-ed ceiling (actually, it's just wallpaper, you can see the join!), glittering chandeliers, marble columns and OTT wrought iron and gold-leafed banisters.

Apart from an abominably slow check-in, where everybody's passports had to be scanned and then scanned again as they hadn't been properly scanned the first time, thoughts were: Hmm, this is nice.

Unfortunately it all goes downhill pretty quickly once you get upstairs. There's something about the corridors that sort of forewarns you, but it's when you swing open the door to to your room (this was 326) and it smells strongly of damp that puts you off straight away. It seems to be a problem with rooms at the rear of the hotel. By and large, the room itself was ok (yes they are quite small, but that didn't bother me) and well equipped, but the cleaning left a lot to be desired. Dust in the corners, scuffed walls and peeling paint in the damper patches. The back of the bathroom door resembled that of a public lavatory cubicle (indeed, even in India I had been in cleaner public lavatories than this!) covered in stains and marks, including one brown stain (which I wiped off with a wet tissue) I'm quite sure was faeces. The tiles were largely chipped, a leaky showerhead/extension had obviously contributed to a brown gunge which had formed around the head of the bath, the mirror was marked and the frame was covered in stains, the chrome fittings were all smeared and marked (a little polishing with a dry cloth would have sufficed) or rusted. The light above the bath flickered and buzzed in a non-too-electrically-safe kind of way.

Toiletries and accessories were nicely displayed and other useful items such as a comb, toothpaste and toothbrush and bathrobes were provided. Nothing wrong with those.

Bedding was fine, although I was mortified to pull the bedding back on one bed and find it full of black hair. Eeek. The other bed was ok so I slept in that, although a little stained in places, however I think (or hoped) that these had at least been through the wash first!

Either the hotel does not have enough cleaners or the cleaners have slackened off somewhere.

Our excellent guide had I think pulled strings with the hotel to get us upgraded rooms when we stopped here for one further night at the end of the tour. All guests in the party were upgraded to suites this time, so in fairness to the management the hotel were obviously trying hard to make amends. The suites were a good size, but once again (the Maharini suite) smelt damp (again at the rear of the hotel) and there was clear evidence of this around the bottom of the walls, plus more dust around the edges. Marble bathroom this time, and a jacuzzi bath (but still needed more of a clean - I wouldn't have been tempted to bathe in it. Two travel companions were in an Oxford suite and their bathtub actually had big brown marks in it. Nice!). A separate lounge area in the bedroom and also a table and chairs looked nice and inviting. However a previous guest had obviously had a glass of fruit juice, as the dirty glass was still sitting there untouched on the table when I moved in.

A slightly scary feature of the Maharini suite that I should warn you about, is that on the ceiling above the double bed is an oversize painted reproduction of the Mona Lisa. It's huge, equaling the size of the bed itself, and her eyes bore down into your own as you sleep. It's good, but the head I think is a bit too big and the eyes look way too dark around the sides - Mona looks more sinister than anything else in this artwork - and interestingly she has a smoke alarm on her right breast. Waking up in the dark and seeing that above your head could scare the hell out of you.

Now I appreciate I've been scathing of the hotel, and I have to say everything else was fine (food, drink, service, facilities etc) and I have to acknowledge that this is India and those of us who can afford to stay here are the lucky ones. Much of the population live in abject poverty and squalor in poorly built housing and extremely dirty and unhygienic conditions, and yet are a happy, welcoming and smiling people. But all I can say is as a tourist, you tend to find hotel standards and peoples expectations of a hotel are pretty consistent worldwide: Some of the hotels used on our tour were quite basic, but all were scrupulously clean except this one. And given it's rating, facilities, services and that it obviously tries to appeal to Western travelers, it needs to up its standards considerably.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the pool. The view from the back is a bit ugly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Ground floor areas are very opulent and glamorous, but the bedrooms don't match up to the same standards. We had no hot water and the rooms are in need of updating. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and good omelette station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We entered this hotel with the hope that it would be a real class hotel in the assumption that it is located in a posh locality beside the big guns in the hotel industry, but we were more than dissappointed when we saw the rooms. On entering the room, it was poorly lit and extremely small, so we called the front desk and asked for a change in room so they took us to the Suites which were the same size with equally small adjoining room. We moved from room to room hoping that there would be something that we would like but all the rooms were the same size just with different room colors nothing more. The overall ambience of the hotel was off, it was poorly lit with cheap decors, some of the halls leading to the rooms had dirty carpets that have not been cleaned. The toilets in the room were untidy with wash basins chipped off.
If you are planning to stay at a low cost place then this is the place to be but if you have plans on having great accommodation then i suggest you look elsewhere. After going through all the rooms we decided to check out and we moved to the Le Meridian which is a whole class apart and no words to describe the pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

good hotel located in heart of newdelhi closeby for market and chain of restarents.

hotel is good looking. clean and neat. swimming pool is quite good with ample space with guards and pool staff.

good looking bar. hotel is attached with good restaurents. one of the restaurent with chinese food is excellent. even the quality and varieties of food available in other restaurent also good.


staffs are co-opertive and well behaved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent one night here at the end of our travels in India. It is absolutely fine for the price and is quite grand, the rooms are fine and the service is good. Swimming pool is nice and the staff are attentive. The buffet for dinner was varied and tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of October 2013. Location is good and the external presentation and lobby are impressive.

Check in is unbeleiveably slow, even with a guide doing the check in for us. 30 mins before you can get in your room? Not good. Staff were well presented, friendly and helpful.

The beds were clean but the rooms and bathrooms are old, tired and dated. And very small and, seemingly, get smaller the higher up you go. A shoe box springs to mind. A shoe box with miniature beds: I'm 5'4" and my feet touched the bottom of a bed so narrow that I nearly fell out of it! Mini-bar is locked but get them to unlock it so you can chill your own beer to avoid paying the extortionate bar prices (see below.)

The food is pretty good, both buffet and a la carte but, man, is it expensive? You need plenty of rupees to eat here! 1500 before taxes fro the buffet and individual a la carte dishes starting at around 600. They then add insult to injury by offering a derisory exchange rate in the hotel. Want a beer? 500 (before taxes) for a 330mm bottle that you could buy for less than 100 inclusive from a liquor store. You gotta be joking. Hope you aren't thirsty!

Want to surf the 'net whilst you're sipping your beer? More wonga again and it's not cheap.

Dont get gouged by the exchange rate by getting your cash from the ATM at the ShangriLa Hotel, just to the left of this one as you exit - it's only about 100m away but is tucked away behind the hotel to the left hand side (no need to go into the lobby.)

So in summary; it's clean and functional, extortionately expensive (gouging at every opportunity) with small, dated rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19 Ashoka Rd, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 599 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Royal Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.