We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamorous foyer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Royal Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel The Royal Plaza
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Ashoka Rd, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Glamorous foyer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful marble reception area & nice Indian touches. Sandwich & drink about £10 so pricey.
Quiet time relaxing by attractive pool on arrival at lunchtime, But on return from afternoon tour we were cross to find pool & garden taken over by a very noisy pool party. We had wanted to relax before showering & going out for dinner.Room small but had all we wanted. Good to have a bath.
Went to Connaught Square for dinner but if we hadn't looked in a UK guide book, it would have been hard to find a restaurant. Breakfast was good with lots of variety.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for an honest feedback of your experience at the hotel and would like to assure that your pointers have been addressed with the concerned departments.

We take our guests' experience as a learning to train our associates for delivering a memorable experience.
I regret the inconvenience you had while your visit, however I would like to welcome you to the hotel for a renewed stay in your next visit to Delhi

Thanks and Regards

Munassir Warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    281
    288
    113
    94
See reviews for
114
242
82
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent value for money, very friendly competent staff, rooms super, very clean, with wonderful antique furniture,which you would love to take home with you. Excellent Chinese Restaurant. Situated next to Jantar Mantar easy to get to anywhere from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating Hotel The Royal Plaza New Delhi . It is the motivation and generous appreciation by guests such as yourself that align and engage the hotel's team to excel in offering outstanding guest experience to our guests.

I look ahead to your next visit.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and it was a major disappointment. When you arrive at the hotel entrance it feels like you are entering a 5 stars hotel, but that experience just finishes there.
First the staff is not friendly and cooperative: if you want to complain just expect them to be rude. Second, the wifi is very expensive and with limited connectivity (and if it is not working don't expect to have your money back...). Third, the rooms are very small and not really clean.
If you are planning to use the swimming pool or have an outdoor drink at night I would recommend to look for another hotel: while the facilities are ok you may find them closed for private parties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Royal Plaza and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry to learn that your experience with us did not meet your expectations.
I have reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you reported. Your comments will be shared with our entire team as part of their ongoing commitment to training and development. In addition, we are re-evaluating our quality assurance processes to ensure these types of issues do not occur in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Plaza

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It has a very impressive lobby and a nice pool area, and the rooms are fine, but quite small. We had a package with included breakfast and wifi, and everything was ok, but nothing exceptional. The location is good, easy to walk or get auto to Connaught Place along Janpath. Overall, a good hotel if you get a deal on the package rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel The Royal Plaza New delhi
The hotel takes great pride in providing the best possible service to the guests. My team will be happy to know that they’ve met your expectations.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir Warisi Khan
Manager online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel! Great location between Old and New Delhi. 15 minuets drive to most sights, excellent service, airport pickup, comfortable rooms and nice hotel bar. A perfect respite for your trip to Delhi, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Pricing worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Greetings from Hotel The Royal Plaza and thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor!
I am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectation and you liked our services and amenities. I thank you for appreciating our colleagues.Your ratings and comments really mean a lot to us and this is how we in hospitality service keep our spirits high and continuously strive to provide seamless and intuitive service.
Should you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
The entire team of Royal Plaza looks forward to welcoming you in the near future

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The downstairs pool and facilities were excellent however re rooms are small and dated!
I had food poisoning and I am positive it was from this hotel breakfast so avoid the bacon!
I felt the hotel was over priced considering this was India.
Staff were we're pleasant
Food average
Pool good
Rooms poor
We looked at 4 rooms prior to agreement and still really wee not happy with the end result.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking out the time to give us your valuable feedback.
We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.Royal Plaza thrives to provide an unique guest experience and has always ensured to provide the utmost comfort to their customers. We take your feedback as a concern area and we shall definitely see to it that we could avoid these one off incidences too.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Plaza and deliver the optimum services.

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights on a MBA trip. The good image from the lobby gets smached when you enter the room and see that is so so so small.
No free wifi and the existent wifi is slow while the hotel next door have free wifi.
Watch out if you want to use the pool, In three days only one was available for guests, on the other days the pool was always ocuppied with private parties and weddings where we are not allow to enter.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share an honest review of the hotel.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves our hotel as an ambassador of our product and services. In your case, we have clearly failed to do so. We appreciate your feedback in the true spirit of constructive assessment and effectively utilize them to reiterate our commitment towards maintaining high quality service deliverables.

I fully understand what you would have gone through and it is not acceptable, as these are very basic expectations from a corporate traveler. As far as wifi is concerned we would like to inform you that we have package available for deluxe room with complimentary wifi . Also the wifi is complimentary for guests booked for club and suite rooms
My Operations team responsible has been spoken too and appropriate corrective measures have been taken.
I urge you to please treat this experience as an aberration to our normal standards and give us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I shall personally ensure you carry back fond memories.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19 Ashoka Rd, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Royal Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.