We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average Hotel - better options available” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Royal Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel The Royal Plaza
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Ashoka Rd, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“An average Hotel - better options available”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The two reasons most travelers consider this hotel are - Location & Price.

There is no doubt it is centrally located and the base rooms are priced competitively in it's category.

Now for the unseen factors that swing the deal against this one:

1. Room Size - The rooms are sized at par with a budget hotel. They are small and so are the bathrooms.

2. Upkeep - The water stagnated in the bathroom shower section and there was a bit of smell as well

3. Food costs - although the basic hotel rooms are is priced competitively, the bar especially is expensive and ends up pushing the overall cost.

The nudist frescoes and sculptures all over the lobby and entrance do try to give the place a connoisseur run franchise look, and it does catch some eyeballs since it has a unique & interesting interior.

Unless proximity to the city center is your key concern, there are similar priced hotels that would give you rooms much more spacious than this one ( Lebua, Radisson Blu).

The breakfast is great though and so are the views of central Delhi from the top floor windows.

Room Tip: The rooms on floor 8 and above tend to be smaller but offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi! Thank you for your valued feedback. While we are glad that you liked the close proximity of our hotel to the city centre , quality of breakfast and hotel
Your concerns for pricing of bar have been duly noted and highlighted to the management
With reference to your insights about bath shower section , I assure you that the corrective measures have been taken up and we look forward to welcome you soon to New delhi for a renewing experience.

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    247
    238
    98
    77
See reviews for
93
207
72
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Location wise hotel is at good location. Good room service and also you will found good food.

Overall good experiance. Only the wifi service is too costly and too slow. If you are using two device you have to pay for two device.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi.
Thank you for appreciating the hotel product and services.
We remain committed to deliver an exceptional service and serve patrons like you in future.
Your suggestion regarding wifi pricing and speed has been noted.
Look forward to welcome you back soon.
Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santena, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is all dining Restaurant of the The Royal Plaza Hotel, New Delhi with a dull ambience due to:
- Buffet quality equivalent to a 2 star Hotel and the high charges are no value for money.
- During lunch time at 12.45 noon the plates are missing and when asked the waiters they just point you towards an area with only 1 cold plate lying.
- When we ordered the tandoori chicken it was served (with bone), when questioned! the waiter answer was “well we thought you know what is tandoori chicken with bone or boneless”, so I wonder a 5 star hotel staff what are they doing apart from simple serving? No one interact with the guests, no one suggest, they are just walking around in a dream land plus the attitude is as if they are doing favour to a guest in this hotel and treat him/her as fool.

Our travel agent booked this Hotel and while checking out we found a good amount only for Wi Fi, so the question is that in today’s business world everyone use the devices with internet and why a Hotel of such calibre do not offer it as package with the room, when down the street a 3 star hotel is smart enough to offer this service in room rate.

The guest relation manager Ms. Preeti was intelligent to recognise the need and our grievance on these charges, but unfortunately she is part of a system where she had no right to make a decision accept the General Manager Mr. O D Sharma, so we leave him to make his mind up?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share an honest review of the hotel.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves our hotel as an ambassador of our product and services. In your case, we have clearly failed to do so. We appreciate your feedback in the true spirit of constructive assessment and effectively utilize them to reiterate our commitment towards maintaining high quality service deliverables.

I fully understand what you would have gone through and it is not acceptable, as these are very basic expectations from a guest.
My Operations team responsible has been spoken too and appropriate corrective measures have been taken.

I urge you to please treat this experience as an aberration to our normal standards and give us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel, public areas in particular. Room was small but clean, with a huge bed. Buffet breakfast was included and very good, with a wide choice of European and Indian to choose from. Restaurant staff not very attentive, and if you arrived after the first sitting, you had to source your own cutlery from other tables. We found the cost of a one course evening meal to be high (£40), with the price of a small Kingfisher at 400 rupees + 30% hotel tax costing approx £7. We ate out at approx 1/4 the price after this first experience. Shame, because this tainted an otherwise good impression of the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi. Thank you for valued feedback
We are extremely delighted that you liked our hotel, breakfast, and quality of accommodation
I apologize for issues you faced during your stay at the hotel. We have made a note of the same and necessary training has been imparted to team members to ensure that we exceed your levels of expectation.
Your concerns regarding pricing in restaurant have been duly noted and highlighted to the management

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

A wel run hotel quiet elegant and very clean with an eye catching lobby. The rooms were well appointed and beds were beautifully comfortable.The service was attentive without exception over all.
with delhi being an intensive place to visit this was an oasis to recharge our batteries

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating Royal Plaza new Delhi. It is the motivation and generous appreciation by guests such as yourself that align and engage the hotel's team to excel in offering outstanding guest experience to our guests. I look ahead to your next visit.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent hotel in the city centre. I have bee staying in the city for more that 10 years and Royal Plaza is the best on offers if you book online . In othe words worth the money you pay. The breakfast had a wide spread . Great Gym and Great services over all . No Complaints . would definetely visit again

Room Tip: Check for room upgrade at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guests

Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New delhi! Thank you for your kind feedback. We are happy that we are your preferred choice of stay during your visits to New Delhi.
We are extremely delighted that you liked our hotel, the breakfast & quality of accommodation .
It is the motivation and generous appreciation by guests such as yourself that align and engage the hotel's team to excel in offering outstanding guest experience to our guests. I look ahead to your next visit.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here in a very luxury room,last time, when it was Ramada Hotel.I preferred this time also to stay here assuming that I will be allotted similar room.I didnot realise that there will be number of categories.This time also I went thru an agent as I was discouraged direct booking.When I enterd the hotel,I got it a rich look.The hotel has an excellent property--a royal look,good decor,excellent ambience.One enjoys the luxury.But the approach to the rooms on 8th floor gives a low cost budget hotel environment.Inside--congested and stinking.An approach to 19th floor room (got the room shifted)gives you a budget hotel environment.Once you enter, you experience a better rom size but not impressive amenities.(Oriental Suite)Minibar -nil.There is nothing inside.One complimentary water bottle with only one in waste of time.Miserliness is redefined.The quality of coffee maker needs little improvement.Coffee House is good.Breakfast is served here.Breakfast is very good.Service of staff is here is better ....But again miserliness.AC was switched on inside the coffee house (place where I was sitting)when I requested for it.Service from House keeping was impressive An excellent evening environment near Swimming pool.I liked it.SPA was well maintained though I did not experience.Next time I stay ,I will be careful about selection of room.Certainly not Base Category--which is misguided as Deluxe room.Oriental Suite also does not get free Wi - Fi.This hotel continues to have Luxury ,but needs certain improvements.

Room Tip: Pl Select the room after going through the category of room very carefully to avoid confusion over c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review.

I fully understand what you would have gone through and it is not acceptable, as these are very basic expectations from a corporate traveler.

With reference to your feedback, I assure you that the corrective measures have been taken up and we look forward to welcome you soon to New Delhi for a renewing experience.
In your next visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager online
email: onlineresv@hoteltheroyalplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19 Ashoka Rd, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Royal Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.