We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel in good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Royal Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel The Royal Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Ashoka Rd, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 664 Hotels in New Delhi
Ahus, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average business hotel in good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Friendly staff but stiff rules : eg you pay 18 dollars per device you use on wireless internet. Expensive restaurant with average food and good but not super good breakfast. Rooms are small but ok and pool area ok but nothing extra.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecbj-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for you comment on your recent dining experience with us. I understand that you were not fully satisfied with the spread. The same has been duly discussed with the entire culinary and service team. Your comments shall only help us to take necessary steps to ensure we are able to exceed expectation of all our patrons. With reference to your insights about the charges of wifi I would like to inform you that we do have room packages where wifi is included Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
email : onlineresv@hoteltheroyalplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The location of this hotel was good and convenient. Staff were very helpful. It was very convenient to have a pastry shop in the Lobby for purchasing presents. Restaurant food was good but not outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted to learn that you were satisfied with our deliverables. Its an honor for us and try to be consistent. We also thank you for your comment on staff
Please do visit us soon and should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir Warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It felt like a budget travelodge, bedding was well worn, but had a "homely" feeling to the soft cotten sheets, but I prefer the crisp new feeling from a hotel bed. Rooms were small....Rolls Royce out the front, cheesy gold leaf lobby....but the money stops there...It felt like a budget hotel chain hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Other than a decent location, there is nothing redeeming about this hotel. Poor service from the moment I arrived, rooms basic, air-conditioning virtually non-existent, Internet intermittent at best, expensive food and drinks for very average quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickintheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Royal Plaza must have been a magnificent hotel but is starting to show its age. The Foyer is really beautiful and there are lots of wonderful marble statues that give you a sense of its grandeur in its prime.
The rooms are quite nice but really need upgrading as the decor is becoming dated.
There is a buffet breakfast with an extensive range of food that caters to almost every taste.
Laundry is very expensive and the cost of the internet is excessive given it is readily available for free or at low cost in most hotels.
While there are a lot of staff I sometimes found service low.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well guys this hotel is very close to Connaught Place Delhi, infact the hotel shares common wall with Shangrila and is on Ashoka road
The hotel is quite big with 700 plus rooms, wide spread breakfast, courteous staff, and good ambiance. The disadvantage is the size of the room, its really small no matter whichever rooms you try as per the caption one would find the rooms small

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our services.
I truly appreciate your extremely generous praise and kind words for the hotel product and services.
We have persistently aligned and engaged our associates to deliver a personalized service and make each moment memorable.
As far as the structure is concerned the management have done every single change which was possible but could not change the shape as its a old structure
The team at the hotel and I look forward to more opportunities to be of service.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir Warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when on request, i got an upgrade to a suite, since we were three of us as a family. Excellent decor inside, though the outside view of the hotel is great. Good food and service. This place is located at a walkable distance from the prestigious Connaught Place located near the central secretariat region of new delhi. Airport is not far, it is about 15 kms.Janpath is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, where one can do quick shopping . the metro station of patel chowk is just a minute walk from the hotel This is the locality where the wealthy rich and central ministers and top ranking officials of India stay.

Room Tip: This is a cheap but a five star property in Connaught Place.The staff is very courteous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaebu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Thank you for appreciating our product and services.

I am delighted to note that we will once again have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Thanks and Regards

Munassir Warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#110 of 664 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 664 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#63 of 664 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#179 of 664 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19 Ashoka Rd, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 664 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing