We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional, and not suitable for Indians and NRI's alike” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Shipra International

The Shipra International
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Shipra International to your Saves list
The Shipra International
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8596, D.B.Gupta Road, Near Shiela Cinema, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #548 of 606 Hotels in New Delhi
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Unprofessional, and not suitable for Indians and NRI's alike”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The price point and its location close to the railway station attracted us to this hotel. Our troubles and discomforts started when we decided to call them for transportation to their hotel instead of just hopping on to a taxi that would have enough room for our 7 pieces of luggage around midnight when our train pulled in to the station. First, they came late. When they came, they cramped us into an auto rickshaw with all our luggage, including my 2 year old baby in my lap! Not a suitable host for a family for sure! Once we reached the hotel, the kind of questions they asked, when did you come to India, where, why, where you took train from, where you going after you leave the hotel.... BIZARRE! That made me think about what type of guests stay here that they are asking such irrelevant questions. We were a family of three with a child. Did we too look suspicious? Gees! But, I would have been glad if the negative experience ended there. They took me, a female, up the only glass elevator that opens up to the outside world. As it made its way up, I looked outside to find prying eyes of auto rickshaw drivers go up the elevator. I have never felt more unsafe, to understate. Inside the room, their biggest, it appeared to be neat. The blinking red light outside reminded me of dingy motels I had seen on TV and when the staff working there would ring the bell and then instead waiting for a response barge in, despite my complaining to them, I realized that this hotel is not for families, or women, or any sane person, period! After we switched off the lights, the horns started coming in from outside. See, we wanted a quiet room. We needed to sleep in in the morning, and so much noise around midnight, you can imagine the noise during the day. The hotel is next to a main flyover. Higher floors would only be worse. So, we asked for a room change to a quieter location. The trouble was that they had prepped this room only and when we shifted to a room inwards, it had a terrible stench to it, it was smaller, it did not have a comforter for two people, the bathroom had one tiny soap for face and shower and nothing else. The window opened to a wall. The cable TV was grainy. Even in this room, at one point we hear staff yelling at each other outside. I prayed to God to finish my stay without any more hassle and breathed a sigh of relief after check out! They are inexperienced in hosting foreign travelers for sure. But, if you are a family, or a woman, or simply a person that cherishes customer service and a professional staff that would treat you with dignity, and living anywhere in the world, avoid this hotel and pay double if you must elsewhere!

Room Tip: inward rooms have a stench because windows open to a wall with God knows what on the ground, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
12
4
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

For what you pay here the service is very good, the hotel is secure and location is great. The staff are helpful in getting train/cinema tickets and general banter. They are also very good at arranging car hire for the day or for day trips to taj mahal etc. Quality of the rooms are are what you expect of a national standard of indian hotels, beds are bit stiff but not terrible. the room service for food is good but i would keep to the indian dishes. all in all a good stay at a very good rate, delihi train station is round the corner and connaught place is down the road so would happily stay again and recommend to others. ive stayed twice and on both occasions for around a week as we were out all day every day but spent the last few days of each trip at international 5 stars for a bit of pampering and luxury

Room Tip: get a room at the front of the hotel for views of delhi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is the second tim i was visiting Shipra International Hotel. It is a very Decent hotel and the rooms are small and cozy and comfortable. It is good to stay for here if you are in delhi for business and need to stay for a day or two. Right Next to the Delhi Station so very easily accessible. Also Connaught Place is near by so there are things to do near by.

The Food of the hotel is also very delicious. A must try will be the Dal Fry with Rice it is tempting.

The staff is friendly and helping no complains in that region.

The rooms are also clean as well is the bathroom, although in my last stay there were installing a few things in the bathroom as in upgrading the hotel with alot of modern equipments so was a problem but not major.

In all a pleasant stay and i would recommend to stay in this hotel. Just a little bit of finishing touches required and the hotel will be really nice for business travellers

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night. Deluxe room was worth the price, $60 including all the taxes, service charge, and breakfast, which is a great value for Delhi. They also have executive rooms, which are cheaper but not as nice. If you pay for deluxe, make sure you get one at check-in (it has air conditioning). Also, nicer rooms are facing the yard, and not the street which I imagine can be a little noisy. My room in the back was quiet.
Location is very near train and metro station which is very convenient for getting to the airport and commuting around the city. The area is very safe to walk, even at night, and very close to local markets and shopping. You can walk to metro station over the bridge, takes about 10 minutes, but there are also plenty of rikshaws.
Hotel has a nice building, spacious bright layout, my room was clean and cozy, nice bathroom with hot shower, very comfortable bed. Room was warm at night - important during chilly Indian winter. Internet in business center was free.
They have a big menu, and will bring your food to the room. At the time I stayed there they didn't serve in the restaurant that shows on their website. Service was quick and efficient. Breakfast was nice with many options off the menu.
I would definitely stay there next time in Delhi and highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Splurge on deluxe room as it's nicer. Get a room facing backyard - nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed at shipra international for 2 nights.
The rooms was very good, neat and clean with good beddings and
All my needs were catered to as such .
The service was pretty good and the room service has some good staff. I must say that the food here is very good. Hot water is available and is very hot indeed unlike some of the other hotels in this area where hot water availability is claimed but u just get normal temperature water. Free newspapers in the morning as well.

The Reception staff is ok ..not very warm, difficult to negotiate but they will cater to your needs.

It was 4 star service at a good price - shelled out 1350/- for a double bed ( though i was solo)
for two ppl its arnd 2200.

Tip : Wifi is free but the connectivity is bad on ground floor. 1st and 2nd floors are much better.

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor rooms have better wifi connectivity
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

good & comfortable stay with all facilities at low cost. this hotel is located at very convenient place having good view of surroundings which very calm & peaceful. this hotel has a facility of nearest railway station, bus stand and plenty of auto rikshaws available round the clock. hotel provides various types of good and hygenic food. this hotel is having round the clock facilities of rent-a-car also. rooms are very comfortable with all latest amenities. its great pleasure staying with hotel shipra international, new delhi.

Room Tip: Corner suites are more peaceful and calm compared to other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

i stayed at shipra international for 3 nights. the room was very good, neat and clean. the service was prompt and the staff were very considerate. it was 4 star service at a very less cost.
only problem was some noise at night made by the waiters. one night it was very noisy as the waiters outside were celebrating something. this was the sore point of my stay.
ideal for business travellers but i would not recommend for family stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shipra International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shipra International

Address: 8596, D.B.Gupta Road, Near Shiela Cinema, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 606 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shipra International 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Shipra International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shipra International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.