We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel at the Best Rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger New Delhi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ginger New Delhi
Save
You added Ginger New Delhi to your Saves list
IRCTC-Rail Yatri Niwas,New Delhi Railway Station, | New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110002, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
chennai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Hotel at the Best Rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We used to visit Delhi quite often and it use to be a very difficult task to find a decent hotel at a decent price.
Then the last time I was planning my trip to Delhi, I learnt that Ginger had opened in New Delhi and that to it is right next to the NEw Delhi Railway Station and so I booked Ginger.
The hotel is very neat and clean and for the price I think one cannot get a better deal.
They also have a restaurant, laundry service, LCD TVs in each room, etc.
I think this hotel is a steal in Delhi for the price they are offering.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    303
    175
    46
    31
See reviews for
222
131
140
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Good value for money. The family room contains 4 beds. With AC, pretty spacious room with LCD TV for 1000 is too good. Also proximity the New Delhi railway station is BIG plus. Now don't have to go for the infamous Pahadganj hotels.
Only issue was with respect to booking. I had done day visit booking with checkin and checkout dates as same. I had some trouble (had to wait for almost 1 hour) to get the room. And the reception staff and the manager were not polite to say the least.

  • Liked — Location And Value for Money
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

A good value, conveniently located hotel next to the Metro and New Delhi Railway Station.
It is located on the North East side of the Railway Station, taxi drivers might find difficulty in locating it!
I had already checked it out on Google Earth and so we directed the taxi driver!
The staff were very attentive and the restaurant was adequate. Hey, it is a budget hotel.
We stayed four nights and the room was well cleaned every day.
Yes, I would certainly return here, particularly if I was travelling by rail.
Oh, there is also a pharmacy next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This was one of my worst experiences!!! I finished a whole days work in delhi & had to return to this hotel in the night.

The arrangement for my stay was made by my office in Mumbai. I tired calling the hotel serveral times during the day to inform them that i have arrived & will be checking in only later that day, only in vain as no one answered the phone all throght the day.

When i left to head to the hotel we reched the new delhi railway station, but NO ONE seemed to know where this hotel was located. I tried calling them up one again. As there was no answer & since it was 12:30am i began to panick & called a colleague in mumbai for some assistance. He gave me the same nos to dial but again all was in vain as no one answered.

After almost 1.5hrs I finally managed to ask around & we got to the hotel. I was furious. As i walked in i realised that there was absoluteley no one at the front desk, the phone too was ringing after looking around the front desk executive came & asked : can i help you" I gave him a piece of my mind & asked him what kind of a hotel do you run. This was a chain affiliated with the TATA group.

i the went to my room

apart frm my bad experience, this a budget hotel costing apprx 1000rs. a night. There is no room service or house keeping. You have to dine a self service restaurant. The food is similar to your meals alavailable at a food court in any mall in mumbai. The food is average for the price.

If you have a low budget then this is the place for you, if you can find it!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We enjoyed staying at the Ginger, New Delhi. The rooms are compact, very clean and every small detail is taken care of (including complimentary bottles of water every day, wifi in each room, internet cafe etc) and the facilities are managed well.

Food is available at the 24-hr coffee shop at the ground level. The service here is very slow though the food is nice.

Pre-paid auto-rickshaws are available at the New Delhi railway station which is a 3 minute walk away and the metro station is 3 minutes away as well. The only issue is that auto will drop you off a 3-5min walk away on the return since the metro work has made the entire road difficult to enter.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Good hotel to stay if you are travelling on business or work for a day or two. The facilities are minimal but adequate.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We traveled BOM-DEL by Rajdhani Express. The hotel is just oppositte the New Delhi Railway station within the station premises. Its a fine 7 storeyed building with no frills and no excellent views from hotel room. BUT it offers great value for your money.
We took a family room for just INR 1000. The room had 2 window AC's, 4 single beds. The entire room was very neat and tidy. Toilets were clean. Everything worked to perfection. Any other property in New Delhi offering what this hotel offers would easily cough up 2000-3000 bucks from your pocket.
Seamless check-in and check-out procedure. Nice room service. 4 bottles of mineral water and tea and coffee kits provided on a daily basis. A nice 17 inch LCD TV to take care of your entertainment needs. The quality of the beds, mattresses is very nice.
The restaurant offers a very limited menu. It is something which can be improved upon.

Stayed May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginger New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger New Delhi

Address: IRCTC-Rail Yatri Niwas,New Delhi Railway Station, | New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
Ginger New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ginger Hotel New Delhi
New Delhi Ginger Hotel
Hotel Ginger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.