We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger New Delhi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ginger New Delhi
Save
You added Ginger New Delhi to your Saves list
IRCTC-Rail Yatri Niwas,New Delhi Railway Station, | New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110002, India (Minto Road)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel is really convenient if you are traveling by train, because its location is so close to the station. However, the rooms are run down. The walls are dirty, our bathroom shower didn't work, the AC would stop for hours and then randomly start again, and the food at the restaurant was not good. Hotel does not have WIFI and staff don't really care about their guests. A cheap option but better, cleaner hotels are available elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    291
    169
    43
    30
See reviews for
213
125
138
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amritsar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

ginger irctc is a average hotel, i stayed here for 1 night, products in restra r very expensive. rooms are small, only good thing is it is 2 minute walk away from new delhi ajmeri gate side and metro station, i would prefer other nearby hotels for my next stay....one interesting thing about the hotel there is a one computer and if u want to use it you have to pay rupees 331 only, i failed to understand the logic behind this unique figure,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I need to go often to Delhi to catch flights to metros (my home town is not on the flight map) and I never stay anywhere other than Ginger at New Delhi Railway Station. Excellent location, unbelievable price. It is a do-it-yourself hotel, so do not expect the staff to come running to help you. They expect you to be a bit self-reliant.

Pros:
(1) Safe for women travellers even when alone
(2) Good clean rooms, linen, toilets. Rooms have complimetary mineral water and electric kettle plus tea and coffee kit (which is often not there even in star hotels in metros, in my experience).
(3) The in-house restaurant serves really good food. Service is prompt. Again, it is self-service.
(4) Because it's right on the railway station premises, just a 5-minute walk will lead you to a Meru cabs kiosk (or, even to the other, general pre-paid taxi booth if you dont want Meru). I saw a Metro station right opposite the hotel, but have never had the occasion to use it.

Cons:
Well, I really haven't found any till date.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked this hotel to catch a train from New Delhi railway station. I spent 40 mins to find the entrance to the hotel. I could see the hotel but not able to reach there. No sign board to show the way to hotel.I called the hotel many times to get directions. Every time I get different directions from different staff. Finally I paid money to a railway porter to guide me to hotel. Front desk staffs are untrained and unfriendly hospitality industry staffs I ever met. Sheets on bed were very dirty. Ac switch was broken and toilet was not cleaned properly. The hotel is not good for family. Unless you have early train to catch don't stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed in couple of Ginger Hotels in different cities which is pretty good without any frills or services; but this one is really maintained badly. the plus point is metro is right below the hotel which help you to commute to different parts of Delhi.

Room Tip: I don't think any room in this hotel good as i could see many complaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in April 2012. Firstly though the hotel is opposite New Delhi station, most people will struggle to find a way to get into the hotel. We spent over 30 minutes trying to find the entrance. Secondly the rooms were not clean, AC not working properly and very small toilet. The toilet is so small thatyou have to sueeze yourself through the door to get to the WC. Overall disappointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It's a budget hotel just bang opposite to New Delhi Railway Station. Don't expect any frills...it's just a B&B kinda thing...that's all. But for the amount they charge per night, it's decent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginger New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger New Delhi

Address: IRCTC-Rail Yatri Niwas,New Delhi Railway Station, | New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Minto Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
Ginger New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ginger Hotel New Delhi
New Delhi Ginger Hotel
Hotel Ginger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.