We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites to your Saves list
Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A-3, District Centre, Select Citywalk | Saket, New Delhi 110017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I stayed at the Svelte for four days in January 2010 and was very pleased with the experience. The rooms are very spacious and modern, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the rates quite reasonable - in a city not known for reasonable hotel rates. Since I was traveling with friends, we booked a two bed/two bath suite for about US$400 per night, which ended up being much more economical than had we elected to stay in separate rooms at one of the chain hotels. By comparison, double rooms at the chain hotels (Taj, Oberoi, Starwood, etc.) were all in $350-500 range. While the Svelte is not nearly as opulent as the five star downtown hotels, opulence wasn't what I was looking for. Rather, I was looking for a clean, spacious, modern hotel with all the amenities a business traveler would need - and that's exactly what I got. While the hotel is not centrally located in the downtown area, I actually found that to be a plus, esp. since downtown was a 10 minute, inexpensive taxi ride away. Further, by being connected to a very modern, high end shopping mall complex, entertainment, shopping, and dining options are abundant. I would definitely stay at the Svelte again.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    83
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
52
54
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I liked about this hotel:
- Its location (excellent)
-The cleanliness
- The room
- Staff are helpful

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
590 helpful votes 590 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

The Svelte Suites are quite ... svelte. Located in an upscale shopping complex (City Walk) in New Delhi, this is a very comfortable hotel by any standard. My wife and I stayed here for three nights in Dec. ‘09 on an organized tour. We had just come from two weeks of roughing it in Nepal and the luxury of the Svelte Suites was quite welcome, even if it wasn’t representative of the “real” India.

The lobby area of the hotel is small yet very attractive, reminiscent of a boutique hotel in Europe. The lobby connects directly to the adjacent shopping mall without going through the public security screening process – a sad advantage.

Our large, well-appointed room was on the 7th floor, with a bird’s eye view of the outdoor commons area for the shopping complex. As the name implies, it was a suite. The front half consisted of a sitting area with sofa, coffee table, and large flat-screen t.v., and also a kitchenette with sink, cooktop, microwave, refrigerator, and a small office area with a desk. Between the living and sleeping areas was the large bathroom with marble floor and vanity, with plenty of counter space. Shower only. We had a small maintenance issue with the shower head height adjustment being broken.

The bedroom area was large and attractively decorated. We had two comfortable twin beds pushed together, with night stands and reading lamps. There was plenty of room for luggage, and also a large closet area with built in dresser drawers.

The breakfast buffet was excellent.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Excellent service from staff. Very new hotel in New Delhi located a bit away from the hustle and bustle. Rooms were excellent and very upmarket. Well located next to a mall, with KFC and Pizza Hut across the road.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

The thing about the svelte is that for the price of a basic room at an Oberoi or a Sheraton, you end up getting a newly constructed and fully furnished suite. I stayed in the Royal Suite. Massive living room with a live kitchen (which i used an found to be quite useful considering theres a grocery store in the mall), a spacious bathroom with a rain shower, a huge bedroom and a walk-in closet. The manager, Mani is extremely approachable and took personal care of us during our stay. They even have a rooftop swimming pool cordoned off from all sides to ensure privacy as well as a small gym. Plus, rather than paying pricey 5 star rates for food, you can step out and eat at any of the 3 adjoining malls. I would definitely recommend this for families and couples looking for a luxurious get away and an alternative to a regular 5 star hotel where you are given a tiny room for insane prices.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Basically the suites are like private condos, but the companies website is very misleading. Our Royal suite was very large, and very nice, but hotel services where lacking. The website says enjoy dinner at our Lounge & Bar, but it was not licensed, so I am not sure how that is a lounge or bar. The food was OK at best. It was the smallest selection out of all the hotels we stayed at in India, and it was also the most expensive. That being said it was the nicest room we had. The pool was OK, but again the view was of concrete walls, and for a roof top pool I expected a better view. Its location was good for shopping, but far from the airport. The website also says “well-equipped fitness centre”, I do not consider two treadmills, one universal weight machine, and some free weights well equipped. All in all if you want to rent a nice condo, this is the place, but if you want a hotel try somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

I stayed at the Svelte Hotel for three nights as part of an OAT tour. Some things were very nice, others very poor -- hence, a mixed experience. What was nice: the rooms were nice and clean. The service at the reception desk and in the restaurant was both efficient and pleasant. As for the negative, it started with the transportation from the airport. I had arranged with the hotel for a limo from the airport, with all information confirmed via e-mails with the hotel. My first problem occurred when the hotel did not send a limo. My second problem occurred when I had to arrange for a ride with an airport taxi that couldn't locate the Svelte due to both its location and adjacent construction. (It is not visible from any main thoroughfare.)
The next problem was the construction of a staging area for a festival adjacent to the hotel. Being kept awake all night from the construction was bad enough, but that was followed by an oversized shower head falling on my head the next morning.
Fortunately, the service desk was very responsive, and I was able to move to a room on a quiet side of the hotel that morning. From that point on, my stay was much more pleasant. However, other tour group members that continued to stay on the noisy side of the hotel never did get a decent night's sleep.
So, my advice is: be sure to request a room away from the side used for festivals, and take extra precautions if you are arranging your own transportation to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites

Address: A-3, District Centre, Select Citywalk | Saket, New Delhi 110017, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svelte Hotel And Personal New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.