We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites

Save Saved
You added Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A-3, District Centre, Select Citywalk | Saket, New Delhi 110017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 597 Hotels in New Delhi
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YES !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were originally booked in here for two nights, but we extended for two more.
It is in a great location - with the huge shopping complexes all around.
Clean rooms, do try and get the ones overlooking the square - a great view !
Breakfast everyday was wonderful.
The staff - excellent !
Would definitely recommend it to everyone who can afford it.
And YES, I would go again !

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the square ( and the huge flag ) Wonderful view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    77
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
45
54
15
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Could use a bit of management attention - take a critical walk around the rooms etc !

Our second stay at this hotel – stayed 2 nights.

Since our last visit 2 years ago, it does seem to have deteriorated a little – I hasten to add, nothing major, but the suite was starting to look like it could do with a bit of a “going over” – paintwork needing a repaint in parts, scuff marks, minor cracked tiles in the bathroom, chrome on the taps wearing, towels were looking a bit grey, and the stocks of toiletries and in the mini bar were a bit lower than last time
.
As with other hotels on our recent trip to India, they also seem to believe that even for 2 people, one bar of soap, one shampoo etc is sufficient !

Signs of the times, I suppose.

Breakfast - acceptable, but not great. In room dining – good. Otherwise, still a reasonable choice for a decent clean hotel in Delhi.

Staff friendly and helpful, though check in and checkout were a little slow – only one person on the desk, and the arrival of a several people/families at once.

I would go back, but as I said, it’s gone down a little in the last 2 years.
And the authorities / Select Citywalk STILL hasn’t fixed the road outside !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the location is good the rooms also but not so clean, specially the towels were so bad even some had blood stains..we had to buy our own towels, even they had not kep the towels and we had to ask for it for first 3 days...they need to improve housekeeping..
there was some interior work going on so they kept on knocking on walls so had disturbed stay.

the breakfast was same everyday(indian food) and that also not so good..

they can provide wifi but you have to really ask for that..(for free).. as we had to tell them without wifi we are not going to stay.

location is good 2 shopping malls and many restaurants and bars.. there are hilton and shetaton which are better options..

Room Tip: good location but look for better hotel, i am surprised how they had won award from tripadvisor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

India can be a trying experience for Western tourists. It is dirty, nothing moves quickly, and it seems everyone wants to extract every last rupee from your pocket. This is why it's nice to book an upscale hotel at times to remove yourself from this constant onslaught and be able just to relax. This was my thinking when I booked and payed for the Svelte Personal Suites online. Little did I know that it would be dirty, I would be left waiting, and that management would try to squeeze those few extra rupees from my pocket. This unpleasant stay started with our check-in. The lady behind the desk, elegant but cold, was unable to find our reservation, so she had us sitting at her desk for over 1/2 hour while someone scrounged around for the proper paperwork. No pleasantries, no small talk, just blank staring. For half an hour. Awkward. Finally we were given a key and allowed to go to our room. No apologies, no explanation. [total wasted time: 30 min].
Once in the room, it didn't take long to notice the dirtiness of the linens, kitchenware, and windows. By this, I mean stains from another guest on the pillows, crusted on food on plates, and filth on the inside of the windows so bad we couldn't see out. We immediately called downstairs and were told a manager would come up to sort it out. So we waited. Again. [Total wasted time: 60 minutes] Finally housekeeping came and seemed perplexed that we wouldn't sleep with our faces in someone else's phlegm stains, or eat off plates with week-old dried-on food on them. Glances were exchanged between staff, suggesting we were being far too unreasonable in our demands for cleanliness, but they promised to fix things up for us within a couple hours. When we returned to our room to settle in, finally, they had, indeed, replaces the linens and cleaned the windows [total wasted time:180 minutes]. They were so proud of the job they'd done, they came back to point out what their handiwork and, of course, a tip would be nice, sir. For preparing a room in the state it should have been presented before anyone occupied it.
The hotel is located in the saket city walk shopping centre precinct, with easy access to the mall--considered an upmarket shopping area, with some restaurants and cinemas nearby. The metro is a 30Rs rickshaw-trip away. The hotel has a rooftop pool beloved by pigeons, and a small but acceptable fitness centre. In fairness, if management weren't so incompetent it could actually be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed executive double and it was more than our expectation!

The room was wide and we liked that we could separate the bedroom and living room by door.
The king size bed was so comfortable and room was clean, laundry service is great but expensive.
24 hours room service is great but the chicken steak i ordered was too salty, i enjoyed apple pie with ice cream though.
Personally, i didn't like the moggy smell that always welcomes us when we come back into the room. And i had to take ages to take shower for the stuck.

Although the good points, i liked newspaper delivery service every morning, the breakfast was absolutely lovely! Many choices and great quality! I really love them. Although some waiters' poor hospitality attitudes were not suitable. I really felt uncomfortable when they kept starring at me after i made mess on the buffet table by lassi which was stucked in the tin bottle. I was little surprised noone even didn't notice for few minutes when i was looking for the chance to apologize, then they were just standing and talking to each other. And they were starring at me until i left there. It made me shocked because i felt that's the hospitality level of india. Anyway i liked the elegance of receptionists and courtesy of gatemen. i was impressed of the location of this hotel is connected to the asian second biggest shopping centre, city walk! The foreign currency in city walk was the best rate!
I wish we could have more time to enjoy staying there to experience the gym where is open for the view of the park part of city walk. I would have definately tried the well-designed swimming pool if it wasn't surrounded by pigeon's drops.

In total, it was quiet luxury and comfortable hotel with reliable security and privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is my 3rd time in India and first time at Svelte. Depite not having WiFi, this is the most functional hotel we have used yet and we would definitely return. The staff is not creepy or smelly. We thought our suite was clean, even by US standards. The breakfast is entirerly edible and never made us sick in the 3 weeks we stayed here. The beds and pillows were fine, though towels are scarce unless you ak for extras. The rooms are good size suites with everything you will need to function and take care of a new baby. Housekeeping is VERY accustomed to people showing up with new babies and they will happily deliver cots, extra bottled water, etc. The night nurses can also call the front desk to request supplies with no issue because the staff knows them all by name. The location is 15 mins from Shivani's office and there were about 20 SCI families here during our stay, which made for an amazing breakfast. Ask for a room that faces the front of the mall as the view is much nicer than the backside. WiFi requires a router, so bring your own because the hotel only has 2. Internet is annoyingly slow and there is a daily charge so it's not good for business travelers who need decent access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The place is a little hard to figure out as the cab drivers didn't know where this was. However, service, cleanliness are upto mark. Being connected to a mall internally was a bonus in escaping the summer heat. The concierge was brilliant. We needed to access and print some documents before departure and he did so without a hitch even though it was the middle of the night.

The only down part was that for the money we're paying you'd expect free wifi in the rooms. However, wifi was only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that faces the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites

Address: A-3, District Centre, Select Citywalk | Saket, New Delhi 110017, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svelte Hotel And Personal New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.