We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms, Roof Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shelton

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shelton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Shelton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5043 Main Bazar | Near Khanna Cinema, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good Rooms, Roof Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Shelton Hotel is conveniently located on the main bazaar of Paharganj with shops, restaurants, and metro station all nearby. New Delhi Railway Station is about 15 minutes walk down the main bazaar road.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and quieter on the higher floors. Rates start at 500 Rs for a single room.
On the roof there is a restaurent serving a wide range of food and drinks. I can recommend the set breakfasts. The views, fresher air, and quietness make this restaurant more pleasant than street-level establishments.

Room Tip: Upper floors to avoid some of the outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure spending time with you during your stay at the hotel and hearing your comments on the experience of Hotel Shelton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
33
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Dirty rooms, non co-operative staff, bad service. They tricked me into buying the most expensive room which was only a notch better than the lower one in terms of the toilet. There were workers carrying out some fitting works and there was this perpetual sound of banging and hammering of walls. Considering i wanted a power nap for a few hours before my flight inwas deprived if it and when i bought it to the managements notice they said they cant do much.

The walls were so no sound proof as i could hear one couple on one side having a wild time and sounds of what seemed like a dubbed chinese movie on the other. I ended up not sleeping n looking like a zombie.

Lastly, the hot water was a joke. It took 45 mins to heat up and by the time warm water started flowing i was almost done with the bath. I ended up taking a shower at the airport via a paid shower service provider

Please ensure theres no construction going on if staying here. Look out for dodgy backpackers and water heating.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

It was our last night in India, so we wanted to pay more than we usually pay so we went to this hotel. First impressions from the reception desk and the lobby - nothing special, but the rooms are modern, bathrooms with hot water all the time. There was a small grey mouse living in the room and I still think the sheets weren't changed after the previous guests - there were single hairs in the bed, but after travelling in India somehow we didn't care, but I thought you should know. We didn't even argue about this with the stuff, just used our sleeping bags. Location is perfect - Railway station is 10 min walk, Connaught Place is also nearby...

Room Tip: We had room 206, with Main Bazaar Road view, it wasn't noisy at all, probably good sound-isolati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure spending time with you during your stay at the hotel and hearing your comments on the experience of Hotel Shelton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is right on Main bazar which is the main drag for backpackers and tourists. It is quiet at night though as all the shops and restaurants are closed by midnight at the latest.

When you enter reception we did think uurgh! as the area is shabby and smells a bit. However the rooms are very different. Modern, clean with bright clean shower room with modern fittings. Quite rare in this part of Delhi.

The room was a fair size and the bed was very comfortable with good quality sheets, pillows and duvet. The room had a large flat screen tv with some English channels for when we didnt feel like venturing outside.

There was a rooftop restaurant which served nice food at a reasonable price

All in all this place was good value for money at 1000rp for the delux room

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure spending time with you during your stay at the hotel and hearing your comments on the experience of Hotel Shelton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

But don't eat in the restaurant on the roof, it's overpriced and not very tasty indeed. There are several types of rooms... From very fancy to really poor where you must be ready for the crawling night life of the insects sharing a room with you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure spending time with you during your stay at the hotel and hearing your comments on the experience of Hotel Shelton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I've stayed here in a previous trip to Delhi and returned this time because of the cheap price, cleanliness of the room, and the excellent location of this hotel. It's right in in the centre of a 'touristy' area, which different craftshops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel itself was excellent. The rooms were clean, there was hot water and nice big beds. The only drawback is that there is no wifi in the rooms, though there is a small internet area in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure spending time with you during your stay at the hotel and hearing your comments on the experience of Hotel Shelton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

When the hotel we had booked turned out to be full we went looking for a new one along the Main Bazar and found this one. We looked at a few hotels along the bazar and this was by far the cleanest. The room size was good and it had hot water - bonus when in India! Bed was comfy, though because of the hotels location there will be noise from the street - unavoidable really when you stay in this location. Staff were friendly, if a little eager to sell you water/get you to have your laundry done with them. Great loctaion - 5 mins from New Delhi train station, 5 mins form a metro station, lots of tuks tuks around to bring you places, lots of shops and stalls on this street (it's definately one of the best shopping areas) and it's a big backpacker spot so you will see lots of other travellers in the area.
Probably one of the best hotels you'll get in this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure spending time with you during your stay at the hotel and hearing your comments on the experience of Hotel Shelton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelton

Address: 5043 Main Bazar | Near Khanna Cinema, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#35 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shelton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shelton is conveniently located just 300 metres from Delhi Railway Station. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi access at all areas of the hotel and indulge in various spa treatments. This elegant property is situated 900 metres from Connaught Metro Station and 1 km from Connaught Place. It is 2 km from the popular Red Fort and Chandni Chowk. Indira Gandhi International Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.