We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Nightmare! Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raj Hotel to your Saves list
The Raj Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst Nightmare! Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I was checked in by very rude old man. He kept asking for booking number inspite of him having my reservation and booking details. I gave him everything he asked and he still pretended as though my reservation was not made/didnt show up in his system. I got angry and did search on his system and pulled up my booking details. He wanted to see my credit card details and wanted me to forward him the email confirmation from the website I booked ticket. He kept asking me how much I paid for the room and how did I pay. Such a worst experience during check in I didn't like anything. He gave me a bad room which things broken guess it was up for repair. AC was not working, no towels, no mug in bathroom and bed was dirty. I didn't wanted to talk to that stupid guy so I stayed the night and checked out very early in the morning. Would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. Please stay away. The whole management sucks and they need to know what customer service is at the first place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    47
    25
    18
See reviews for
34
69
51
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
holland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

For this price, one cannot expect must. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable enough and, more important, clean, location is good, price very reasonable. Would definitely come back here if in New Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

The wanted me to pay before I had seen the room. Room dirty from the beginning, never cleaned in four days. WiFi works very bad, loses connection several times in a minute. The hotel makes cheap offers to take you to places, where they want you to buy things at high prices. Trips to other cities are offered at relatively high prices. So the cheap price of the hotel seems only a trick to get your money in other ways.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I lived the worst experience of my life in this hotel. The staff is very rude and it seems that they have never heard of hygiene. The rooms are very dirty, as well as the loby, there is lot of noise and drunk turists. There is no security in this hotel and the entire area is very scary. The staff, as well as the managers are never ready to listen to your complains and they are not ready to offer any support. If you need warm or hot water you need to wait for more than 1 hour and a very strange experince was to call the reception to ask for some help with the lights in the room and after confirming they will come to check, they came the next morning!!! after more than 12 hours! Horrible experince!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The raj hotel was good enough but the service was very terrible and behaviour of the emplyees was even worse . Never coming to this hotel again . The tarriff according to the hotel standards is very high .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The website pictures are not demonstrating the reality. We arrived there, we could not believe what waited for us. In less than 3 minutes after check in; we checked out with the speed of the light!!
The cleaner is a little boy with ripped clothes, who is doing "some" cleaning up and down the stairs, he will ask for money as many times he will see you; he won`t even leave the room, until you won`t give him again something.
What`s with the bucket in that extremely mediocre room you call bathroom? Half of the tiles and walls were bathing in bacteria's and black mould!
What`s up with that "security" on the door of the room? The floors of the room were full of footprints from prior our arrival. No AC, only old smells caught up in this expired room. The location of the place is shocking. The staff..well, most of them were busy staring.

Room Tip: I would look at other accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

THe hotel was mediocre. The staff were rude. Even to avail basic facility like a bucket & mug in your rest room, we had to call reception thrice. Booked a A/C room. Was alloted a room with A/C not working. Useless service in overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Hotel

Address: 8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Raj is Centrally located in Backpackers friendly area Paharganj, Near New Delhi, Railway Station.Heart of Delhi Connaught Place is 1 kilometer far from hotel.Hotel The Raj is ideal place for tourist as well as business traveler. Tourist is close to all major Delhi attraction.All Room comes with free high speed wifi,attached bathroom, sitting are, work desk, LCD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.