We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raj Hotel to your Saves list
The Raj Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Dont know where everyone else has been staying but this hotel is disgusting. Located on a strip of just cheap hotels, staff are useless do nothing to help any situation. Room are even worse every picture shows thier best room, we had 3 of their best rooms after complaining and 2 of the bathrooms where like caves and the 3rd had tiling done half way which I later realised is the pic that is uploaded on here. Food was ecoli in a bowl so lucky I packed pot noodle

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    104
    45
    25
    17
See reviews for
34
68
49
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed in a family room which contained two double beds. As it was cheap I supposed you do not expect the most quality but the main issue with this hotel is how dirty it was. The bathroom was terrible, there are open vents meaning you can hear everything going on in the streets outside and for those who have been to India before, you will know that it is not quiet.

The restaurant service is very pleasant but the food is below average. A rusty toaster and some bread was the continental breakfast option. The location was good, as with most Indian cities its so cheap to get a rickshaw, everything in Delhi is reachable from this hotel for low prices.

Room Tip: If I was going again, I would definitely pay a little bit more to go somewhere else that was clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I Stayed there only for one night , hotel location is not in good area, but the hotel itself is good, service, food were good and room were clean, overall stay was good. Staff is very help full. i ask him some location of delhi and we was not sure about the same than he (reception) ask some body on phone and than he advise me the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good expierence at the Raj Hotel, nice area van Vir (the host at the reception) was very helpfull. The location is also very good, lots of restaurants and shops nearby. I would defianly recommand this hotel to fellow travellers.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangra, India
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The food in the restaurant next to it was very good. Service of the hotel was excellent, it is possible to book your holiday trip here. good price/quality ratio. Room was clean. We got also a free guide (a trainee) to go with us to discover Delhi.

Room Tip: Use profanity, threats, or personal insults Include e-mail addresses or phone numbers Write in ALL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The food in the restaurant next to it was very good. Service of the hotel was excellent, it is possible to book your holiday trip here. good price/quality ratio.
Room was clean. We got also a free guide (a trainee) to go with us to discover Delhi.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side, it was quite noisy, but because we were really tired form flying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I like the hotel.This is my 2nd stay here.The manager Mr.Sunil Chandel is most helpful.All the staff are helpful and cooperative.The ffod there is just awesome.It is very tasty and caters to a multitude of cuisines.In Paharganj area,this is one of the better places,where travellers both domestic n foreign can stay safely and securely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Hotel

Address: 8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Raj is Centrally located in Backpackers friendly area Paharganj, Near New Delhi, Railway Station.Heart of Delhi Connaught Place is 1 kilometer far from hotel.Hotel The Raj is ideal place for tourist as well as business traveler. Tourist is close to all major Delhi attraction.All Room comes with free high speed wifi,attached bathroom, sitting are, work desk, LCD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.