We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay in walking distance to main train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Raj Hotel to your Saves list
The Raj Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 611 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value stay in walking distance to main train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good sized room with a hot shower and friendly service makes this place a great stay. Food in restaurant was also very good with high quality Indian and Chinese food on offer. The hotel has good wi-fi etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    104
    45
    25
    17
See reviews for
34
68
49
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I came 2 know about this hotel through makemytrip.com..... I had read a lot of reviews of dis hotel on tripadvisor n dey were too gud dats y i decided to stay here... I was so happy wid their rooms n food as well..... But in the end, they ruined it all.. We were to catch a train 7.40 in the morning n had 30 mins. left.. As we had some luggage wid us, we requested the guy at reception to arrange the taxi to drop us at new delhi railway station which is only 800 meters from the hotel (not even a kilometer). I was shocked when he charged us Rs. 300 for such a short distance.For everyone's information, the taxi fare to railway station from dis place in the daytime is 37rs. Only... Even in the night it is only 46 rs... I was having a so good impression of dem until the check-out but they just ruined it in the very end.. Totally unprofessional attitude!!!!! Hotel was gud but wat dey did in the end had forced me to decide not to stay again in dis hotel...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel Raj..one of thousand such hotels in Paharganj. Very economical - 1.1K per night. I booked through makemytrip since the check-in and check-out timings of this hotel were best suitable to me. They have a 9 AM check-in & Noon checkout following day. My flight was landing at Delhi at 7:30 AM and my other hotel had a check-in time of noon on next day so this hotel suited best..thanks to them for that. Check-in process was good..they are strict on ID Proofs..its a good thing for family travelers. Rooms are good, not very big but decent for a Delhi hotel as you will practically only will be sleeping in the hotel....Delhi has many things to keep you occupied for a week in my view so dont waste spending too much time in hotel. Bathroom has a hot water all the time. The LCD TV has all Indian channels those are worth watching and a nice restaurant (Food is not great but in Delhi you must appreciate any meal that doesn't give you a Delhi Belly) in the hotel premises itself so its a great thing for families. For this budget this hotel gives you more than what you pay for. And being so close to New Delhi Railway Station, this is just the price you want to pay if you have a early morning train next day. Dont expect any view and yes road noise will be there in your room but it will be there in all hotels in Paharganj..blame the delhi'ates for the ample use of horn. All in all..great for the price and completely safe.

Room Tip: No view in any of the rooms..select any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The place is good and value for money. Located very near to railway station (paharganj) side.
Rooms are neet and clean with basic amenties only.
Breakfast is complimentary for which they send to there other hotel nearby (hardly 50 mtrs)
Food is good but has longer wait time
Provides sightseeing services and reasonable rates

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked The Raj through Cleartrip and after looking at Tripadvisor reviews our stay at Raj is pleasant.The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Very clean room and good bathrooms with good room service. The hotel is convenient and good value for money. We only had breakfast which was served over the road at a sister hotel. I would have no hesitation about recommending the Raj to other travelers.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay in Hotel Raj and will surely look forward to stay there during my future visits in Delhi. Thanks to the staff. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Very convenient for New Delhi Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Hotel

Address: 8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 611 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Raj is Centrally located in Backpackers friendly area Paharganj, Near New Delhi, Railway Station.Heart of Delhi Connaught Place is 1 kilometer far from hotel.Hotel The Raj is ideal place for tourist as well as business traveler. Tourist is close to all major Delhi attraction.All Room comes with free high speed wifi,attached bathroom, sitting are, work desk, LCD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.