We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Business Travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raj Hotel to your Saves list
The Raj Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Calicut, Kerala, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for Business Travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have stayed here for two days as a solo/business traveler and enjoyed the stay and food there.The major attraction of the hotel is the very very friendly staffs.I don't know one Room service persons name who served me on 31st July day time ; he was awesome.He cared me like i was in a relatives house for vacation ..like that.

WiFi working as excellent.The rooms were little bit noisy,but darkness in the room i liked it.!

I will recommend this hotel for tourists/biz travellors or short time travellors.

To the management: You have scope for improvement in quality of this hotel,since ur team is good.Please give more care on house Keeping,especially floors in the room.I felt it as dusty.

Anyway thanks for your loveable service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    104
    47
    25
    18
See reviews for
34
69
51
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

One of the best hotel in the paharganj area with excellent food, even location wise best. Railway station is just 5 minutes walk, friendly staff.
Some times issues were with Wifi facility & Hot water but it will not affect the performance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hello to all who read this review and hope this would help you for your next trip.
I stayed at Raj Hotel last June and I must say that the condition of the hotel and the rooms are very good here considering the value for the price I paid (1500 Indian rupees). Food form their restaurant is good and the prices were reasonable too. The breakfast they served at a different hotel around 40 meters away from Raj. It was not a real problem for me as I was more interested in quality of the food.
Also must say that the staff of the reception was very helpful and felt genuine when giving information for shopping.
In June the temperature was over 42 centigrades ..!! I may not recommend you to travel in this period to India. best is time is September and October. As we are Srilankans used to high temperatures I was able to stand this temperature but my wife collapsed. I saw some white skin people traveling in the HoHo bus were struggling too.
For site visiting Hoho bus is not the best option if you don't have at least 2 days. the 300 rupee hoho bus ticket is valid for 2 days. Best way is to hire a car or a van through your hotel which will be around 1300 to 1500 for 8 hours.
The hoho service not that trustable too. After a few stops at the Gandhi memorial we waited a long time for the bus but it didn't come so an Indian traveling with us phoned the Hoho office and they informed us to take a taxi to the next stop as some roads were closed, the bus couldn't reach us..!! It didn't stop at the Red fort for the same reason though I had no plans to visit it because we were visiting the Agra fort which is similar and in better condition than the Delhi red fort.
Main bazaar In front of New Delhi railway station is a good place for shopping and very cheep. 60 rupees for tuk tuk form the hotel to this place.
We traveled to Jaipur by train in the evening. make sure u go to the station at least 30 minutes before the departure. Not that easy to find your seat..!! not even the staff members were able to guide us to the right cabin looking at the ticket. The AC 2 tear class was good where we had booked. We passed through to the AC 3 tear and felt it OK but bit crowded. From Jaipur to Agra we traveled by car for 2500 rupees and felt we would have traveled in the car all the way instead of by train. From Agra to Delhi we traveled in the AC chair class and was OK too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The best part of the hotel is their tour services. I'ved visited all the places that I wanted with their friendly english speaking guide. Contact Raja and he will customize your needs.

As for the room, you get what you paid. Not so cozy, but comfortable enough.

The location itself is a plus, lotsa places to explore nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skerries, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a couple of nights and the service provided by the staff in the hotel is excellent; anything you need they are there to help. you also have a Travel service in the hotel where they can help you arranging your ongoing trips, transport and accomodation and they really take care of you.

The room was quite spacious and clean and with good Air Conditioning; Bathroom was also quite clean.

It is not located in the best area but it is very close to a metro stop and the New Delhi train station so it is very handy if you ongoing travel arrangements are by train or you would like to move around delhi by metro.

There was tv and good wireless signal and it is very good value if you consider the prices of the rooms

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is a good pick in Delhi. I booked online through a bookingwebsite and it gave me a good offer including breakfast. The hotel is located near the New Delhi train station is is like in the middle of all the tourist places in Delhi. The rooms are clean and it was not too packed. The staff is friendly and always helpfull, like Sunil helped my with my flight tickets when I had problems with it. The hotel pick up service (night charge 750 rupees) was there already waiting for me and it was absolutely no problem that I checked in early in the morning without charging extra costs. Good pick and will probably be my choice again when I'm in Delhi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

In this hotel rooms are quite clean with good air condition. Bathrooms very poor standard. It is situated in a bit weird area, but not enough to worry about it. The prices of the hotel taxi to airport much overpriced (600RS) while it is possible to get that direction for only 300-350RS.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Hotel

Address: 8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Raj is Centrally located in Backpackers friendly area Paharganj, Near New Delhi, Railway Station.Heart of Delhi Connaught Place is 1 kilometer far from hotel.Hotel The Raj is ideal place for tourist as well as business traveler. Tourist is close to all major Delhi attraction.All Room comes with free high speed wifi,attached bathroom, sitting are, work desk, LCD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.