We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a change of sheets, an acceptable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Raj Hotel to your Saves list
The Raj Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
somewhere in Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“After a change of sheets, an acceptable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Upon arrival we were shown into a nice room with two large Beds, modernly furnished but a little run-down, like a lot of hotels in India. Upon inspecting the sheets, we realized that they did not look just a bit gray, but that they were actually dirty, they had not been changed since the last customer or even customers! Upon notifying the reception of this condition, we received a polite smile and a “we will change the bedding for you”. And promptly, somebody came to do just that: change the blanket covering, but not the pillow-covers or bed sheets. “You want that change too?”, “Yes, please, we would like a clean bed.” Despite this process taking at least half an hour we ended up with clean beds. It was clear, that the bathroom had not been cleaned more thoroughly than being hosed down completely, but hey, this is India! The rest of the stay was uneventful, only later did we realize that the room description on the booking site did not match the room (i.e. no balcony, no safe), though this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    103
    45
    25
    17
See reviews for
34
68
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

I love this hotel very much because not for economical but good in cleaning service and for friendly staff.you feel here home away to home and most important this is near about railway and cannugt place.they have travell desk if you have no plan in india or delhi he helps you very much.frontdesk staff is very helping and professional.i recommened ereryone to stay here.it was realy a
nice experience........

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel is among one of the best I have stayed in during my trip around the world. For an excellent price, I stayed in a modern, comfortable, and extremely clean room. While you are close to the New Delhi train station, the main bazar, and many other attractions in New Delhi, they provide a quiet retreat to relax in after a day of exploring all that New Delhi has to offer. The staff were incredibly kind and accommodating. We arrived very early one morning and they allowed us to check in hours before normal check in time and also provided us with breakfast free of charge. The complimentary breakfast that we had each morning was fantastic! I highly reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting to find a great hotel at a fantastic price in New Dehli.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I recently stayed at the Raj Hotel in Delhi after having read 1000 reviews on hotels in Delhi, having difficulty to make a choice. We booked it through Expedia and everything went smoothly when we arrived. We didn’t like the first room they showed us so we ask to switch to another room and they did it without any trouble. The manager/owner Rafiq is a nice host, with an authentic smile, ready to help you if you ask. The hotel itself is new but still needs some work. The rooms are basic, clean but with a modern flavour (Hotel Boutique style). The “finishing touch” is missing in some places but this is normal in Delhi where mid-range hotel are a hard breed to find. The hotel is located in an area called Paharganj, kind of a packpackers hangout, that I don’t really like but it is close to the train station and other attractions (Red Fort, Connaught Place…). I have stayed in 5 stars hotel in Delhi when my boss picked up the bill. I would recommend the Raj Hotel when you are the one paying…

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This a comfortable hotel , well located close to the center,(just 15 minutes by walk to Connaught place). Rooms are very clean, big with condicionated air and the service really good. The personal from the hotel is charming. The hotel is new and they era still working in it, but I think that it will be perfewct when they finish, even like this its a good option and you can feel fine staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was good, the staff was good, and i meet mr. Rafiq, who is a travel manager, advised me about Delhi.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Rooms have no window but are clean, properly equiped (AC, TV, fridge, fan), new and very good beds. Only problem : no safe deposit box even at front desk. Staff is really nice, very friendly and helpful. Very good stay. If you want higher category, just next door, sister hotel named Aura Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Hotel

Address: 8494-95, Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Raj is Centrally located in Backpackers friendly area Paharganj, Near New Delhi, Railway Station.Heart of Delhi Connaught Place is 1 kilometer far from hotel.Hotel The Raj is ideal place for tourist as well as business traveler. Tourist is close to all major Delhi attraction.All Room comes with free high speed wifi,attached bathroom, sitting are, work desk, LCD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.