We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Holidays

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Holidays to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Holidays
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 A/35 W.E.A. | Saraswati Marg, Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We'd booked this hotel as part of a package with STA travel agents so we assumed it would at least be clean and comfortable, but we had also heard that cleanliness standards in India are not comparable to other parts of Asia. The first night we stayed in a "luxury" room which was bearable - it was really large, although the sheets and sofa were dirty and the bathroom window was broken. The second time we stayed it was just terrible, the room was tiny, the bathroom was horrible, everything was dirty and the air-con was ridiculously loud and leaked. One thing they did do well was to look after our luggage while we went on a tour of the Rajasthani area for a couple of days, although I'm not sure how safely it was stored. We decided to move to the Lakshmi Hotel down the road for our last two nights in India, which wasn't perfect but certainly a much better standard in every way.

If you're not to bothered about the cleaniless, the hotel is also quite hard to find. We took a taxi from the airport (as the aiport pickup we arranged with the hotel didn't show) and he had to ask around a lot before he found it as it is hidden down a little alley.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    12
    13
    20
See reviews for
8
25
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bandung
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

DON'T EVER stay in this hotel! I'd made pictures of my room,.. the dirty toilet,.. yellow spots blankets, off refrigerator, incredibly old fashioned & very loud AC (made us couldn't sleep almost all night)... It was nightmares...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohali, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I stayed here for two nights on a short visit to Delhi. I booked the room online and believed the pics of the hotel posted on their website. However, the hotel is not exactly how it is portrayed on their site. It is located in a narrow lane at the Karol Bagh area. The room I was allotted was vary small with almost no space to move. There was an old window ac and a wall-mounted TV. The room was clean and the bathroom had necessary accessories, though.

I paid Rs.2000 for the room with a buffet breakfast. It was a good breakfast! The room service was not very prompt, but still available.

Room Tip: Do not avail the over-priced travel assistance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Rooms are small, dirty and with no natural light, in the window there is a big whole for an aircondition which works very loudly. I spent there 4 nights. Arrived in the middle of the night we've got to the room and we had to ask for another room, because the bathroom was dirty, with ants everywhere and the shower didn't work. The new room was dirty as well, but without ants. The only plus was that bedsheets were CLEAN and I was not afraid to sleep in it. For sure it is not a place where you can take a rest after all-day visiting. Brekfast was like all this hotel. We were asked to pay for all the stay as soon as we arrived.... The good point is the manager from the travel agency who takes care for reservations - helpful and realy polite and nice, but he doesn't own this hotel and finally has nothing to do with it except charging you for it. When we were living they were starting to re-paint the walls, maybe it helps a bit, but I would not be ready to check. I learned after all that in general this district (Karl Bagh) is not very good to stay, even if quite close to the center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Do NOT stay here!! what a sham this place is. Now I've seen India's hotels and this was appalling. We booked via STA who have clearly been misled by the 'photoshopped' website. This hotel features no free airport transfer, no restaurant, no hotwater, no TV reception, intermittent air-con & internet, zero cleanliness & no manners or morals. The only saving grace was our lovely room service guy who was paid & treated appallingly. Need i say more?! They really couldn't care less-total rip off.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This first thing I have to say about reading these reviews to prepare for your journey to India is this: YOU'RE GOING TO INDIA!! Don't expect a three star hotel in Delhi to be the same as a three star hotel in Europe or North America. Everything in India is very different than what I had ever experienced before. So know what? For Delhi, this place is just fine. The staff were willing to accommodate all my needs and questions, the room was clean, the fridge worked and the TV had English stations. I couldn't have asked for much more for the price. There's good coffee at Coffee Day down the street, the shopping is great and the air conditioning helped a LOT in June. Be prepared, it'll be noisy. But like I said, it's INDIA. India is noisy.

PS. Don't book through a North American travel agent because they take a hefty commission. If you can book direct, do it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Next time i go to India, i would go back to this hotel. Comfortable and clean (!) rooms, nice service, good prices and best sleep ever (even with everyday power cuts:-)!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Holidays

Address: 17 A/35 W.E.A. | Saraswati Marg, Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal Holidays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Holidays in Delhi is located in the heart of the city, Asia's biggest main shopping centre, Karol Bagh. Located in the heart of the national capital Delhi. Situated in the midst of largest shopping arcade of Asia, the Karol Bagh. Hotel has been providing international quality hospitality services for more than a decade to tourists from all over the world. Travelers seek out Hotel for the wide variety of services and amenities that help them stay productive while in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Holidays Hotel
Royal Holidays New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.