We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel TJS Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel TJS Royale to your Saves list
Hotel TJS Royale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16/16, W.E.A. Arya Samaj Road | Metro Pillar: 88, Opp. Satbhrawan School, Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We have just returned from a Gap Adventures Golden Triangle tour and this was the starting hotel.

This hotel is located on a side street in Karol Bagh. Although only 10 minutes walk to the metro, it's one plus point.

The rooms are dark and dingy, most do not have windows, or the windows are blacked out. Our bedding was stained and the room smelt.

The restaurant in the basement is basically horrible! With stained table clothes and no kitchen area... the food is perhaps transported from the sister hotel around the corner?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
10
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sardinia, Italy
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at the TJS Grand through a tour and were not impressed. We got the feeling the management was trying to scam us most of the time. At one point, they accused of not paying for the night before our tour began (we paid online months before). They also failed to provide a wake-up call once, but did get it right another time. Another group member failed to receive her wake up call.

Also, we saw them accept credit cards for some guests in the hotel but refused when we tried our card after the pickup service from the airport. The staff's lack of command of English probably played a role in this. Another group member said the hotel tried to add a 10 percent fee for the room, but escaped the fee when the person spoke to another member of the staff,

The eating area in the basement was really strange and uncomfortable. The waiters clearly transferred the food from their other hotel to the Grand. Surprisingly, the indian breakfast was tasty.

Rooms were small but fine — we've stayed at equivalent in other asian cities — but it was among the worst on our tour.

Location is near metro and karol bagh is a wild place, but you can do better.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

accommodation was suer and welcome is extra ordinary as compare to others hotel.. no need to worry anything .. just told them your room no.. others things automatically done without anything to say...

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I styaed in the TJS GRAND, it is located down a back alley off the beaten track in Karolbagh the staff tried to be helpful but generally werent.

This hotel was helpful prior to my tour but once that ended the service was poor. The rooms were not the cleanest with grit always on the floor, the restaurant was an unused basement with no windows and the food and drinks was brought from the TJS Royale over the road which made service very slow and was quiet expensive!

the rooms were very small and all seemed to have funny sm,ell, the showe leaked all over the floor and one room I stayed in only had a waist height shower!
I wasnt overly impressed with this hotel and wouldnt stay there if I ever visited India again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Great Facilities.
Great Bar.
Great Restaurant.
Great prices for everything.
Great staff.
Great setting (unless you want sand and salt spray)
Great kitchen facilities.
What elso do you need. 4 times visited. We won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We actually stayed at the TJS Grand, which is part of TJS Royale, but around the corner.

Our rooms were clean, but faced a filthy smelly alleyway (the smell filtered through the a/c into our rooms) although our windows were mostly blacked out.

The food was ok, but the choice of where to eat was either an upper lobby area, the stuffy basement next door (TJS Royal) or in our rooms. One of the room service guys was obnoxious in his demands for tips, but he was but one of about 8 service staff - the rest were fine.

We had booked ahead & paid through a travel agent, so we were stuck for five nights, otherwise, we would have moved. We were told that the hotel was 3.5 to 4 star - in their own dreams!

The beds were TOO firm and the bed bases were deadly on legs - sharp edges caused lots of bruising.

They did help by calling taxis and allowing us to leave our bags for a time after check out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

It is centrally located in Karol Bagh, New Delhi. Taj Royale offers convenient room facilities to meet the demands and preferences of the guests. The hotel has an Indo western stylish look with each room having a window. The Hotel is in a main hub .

  • Liked — meals
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel TJS Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TJS Royale

Address: 16/16, W.E.A. Arya Samaj Road | Metro Pillar: 88, Opp. Satbhrawan School, Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel TJS Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you a dash of panache in every room, Tjs Royale is a world-class economy hotel in Delhi. Situated amidst the lively location of Karol Bagh, our hotel provides easy access to the major travel hubs of Delhi including shopping centres, malls, commercial centres and historical monuments etc.The unique architecture, in which our hotel is fashioned, makes every corner of the hotel bright with natural daylight and freshness. This is one of its kind budget hotel with emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort. The distinctive standards of hospitality make it an impelling choice for business and leisure travelers which is worth experiencing.Tjs Royale is the brand new addition in our chain of hotels in New Delhi after Hotel Tjs Royale. With this hotel our vision is to provide world class facilities and services to our valued guests from across the globe. We specialize in economy class to super deluxe class accommodations at unbeatable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel TJS Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel TJS Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.