We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old is gold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moti Mahal

Moti Mahal
District Centre, Janak Puri, New Delhi, India
011-25553333
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 3,448 restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: Diner, Indian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“old is gold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

i find moti mahal still has that old charm specially if you want to have butter chicken and butter naan ambiance is normal location is normal amazing food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    12
    21
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This restaurant in GK, M-Block market was once my family's favourite but with time it has just gone bad or may be other restaurants have improved with time but this still hasn't! I was here with my family last week and didn't really like the food. We ordered paneer tikka as a starter and dal makhani, malai kofta with bread as our main course. The dal was average but thumbs down to the malai kofta! It felt like we were having the koftas dipped in sweet tomato soup! As if they just didn't bother to make its gravy and utilized the extra tomato soup! Paneer tikka was also not very tasty! overall it was disappointing to be there on my mom's birthday!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice North Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Try out Dal Makhanai the original Indian style and some yummy chicken dishes. The Restaurant claims the legacy of making Dal Makhani.
Ambiance is good and you will find decent crowd for the family dinner
Not much hit on your pocket too

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Still the authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spicy, tangy, rich and tasty - Moti Mahal has it all. Many pretenders have come along, with fancy interiors and menus but for authentic tandoori and north indian specialities - this is the place. The branch in Greater Kailash 1 is by far the best - the volume of the GK Punjabi crowd endorses the food. Chicken tikka achari, seekh kabab and the naans - outstanding.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“moti mahal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

i visited adventure island moti mahal which serves very nice indian food ,try tandoori and butter chicken there and you can aslo have fun of water rides and shopping centres which are nearby ,the restaurant lso have a fish aquarium which is joy for kids

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moti Mahal also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Moti Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moti Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.