We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food quality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Diva Restaurant

Diva Restaurant
M 8 A, M Block Market, Greater Kailash (GK) 2 | Greater Kailash-II, New Delhi 110048, India (Greater Kailash II)
+91 11 2921 5673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 5,910 Restaurants in New Delhi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greater Kailash II
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Poor food quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've traveled far and wide, sampled different cuisines from the far east, middle east, eastern and western Europe and Latin American. I had heard a lot about this restaurant from TV shows and magazines. Therefore, I was looking forward to a good fine dining experience. I visited in Aug with my sister-in-law and her family.

Ambiance: well done interiors, however the seating was poor. The tables were too small and didnt have enough room for a comfortable seating.

Service: Not worth mentioning, the waiters were well dressed, inattentive.

Quality of Food: I would rate it below average.

Starters ordered:
Rotolo di mozzarella con carciofi e rucola con salsa di peperone
Antipasti misti (non veg)

The starters were a disaster with the mozzarella cheese being a tad old (it was sour).
The mix platter had cold cuts drizzled with too much of olive oil.

For the main course we:
Coscio di capretto con rosmarino e vino rosso
Fagottino di pasta “Phyllo” ripieno di carciofi e taleggio con fonduta di spinaci
Risotto con mela verde e salsiccie
Ravioli tondi con fonduta, salsa di funghi

Without exception, every single dish was poorly done.

The pasta was undercooked and the edges of the ravioli was sticking to the teeth (therefore, not al dente).

The plating of the dishes were done in a very shoddy manner. For example lamb shanks were served on a deep dish plate with the bones resting on the edges. Its difficult to describe how the risotto was plated - suffice to say that it was just ladled.

A complete let down, would not recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Though I live in the neighbourhood, I had so far shied away from Diva (perhaps due to local buzz about 'high prices').
When visited on a Saturday afternoon, the place was empty, though some groups came in later. I found the ambience soothing, service was attentive without being intrusive.
The food was excellent; I and my friend shared the linguine with lobster (which was one of the specialities 'du jour') as well as the John Dory with polenta.
The former was very mildly flavoured, the linguine was done just right (ever so slightly 'al dente') and the lobster was tender. Arugula garnish was fresh & tasty, adding the right degree of zest to the dish. The John Dory was lightly crusted, yet flaky, and combined very well with the polenta to make for a very satisfying meal.
Unfortunately, we did not choose to go for the wine in the afternoon (but maybe next time).
To my pleasant surprise, prices were quite reasonable (say about Rs 1,000/- for an average dish). We refrained from the desserts as well, and left feeling satiated (but not stuffed).

Imbibers may like to remember that Diva adds a service charge to the bill.

I quite enjoyed my meal, and shall be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

While staying in Delhi, I heard about this well known Italian restaurant and decided to pay it a visit as i always like to compare my Italian wife cooking to other chefs. The food was very average which you could expect from any Italian restaurant around. Knowing a celebrity chef is behind this restaurant, one would expect an exceptional food. The ingredients used were of high quality but everything lack flavor and taste. Chefs need to learn that you can not replace the good taste with fancy decoration on the plate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
904 reviews 904 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
817 helpful votes 817 helpful votes
“Italian By an Indian Diva!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am never a fan of any ethnic cuisine being cooked by a chef who does not belong to that group. It just never works, no matter how fine the dining may be, and no matter how tony the address may be. Ritu Dalmia, the Indian Diva proves me wrong consistently with her stable of Diva addresses in Delhi. And the crown is the Diva Restaurant in GK II.

It goes besides saying that this is the best Italian in India, but it actually gives many Italian chefs a run for their money. Italian cuisine is based on 2 very important factors, the most important being the right and the freshest ingredients. The second of course is the actual combination of these ingredients in the right proportions. Diva works because it gets both of these right. And unlike the last time when I ate here when the Diva herself graced the place, she was no where to be seen. Yet another indication how the Diva concept has matured where she can leave her kitchen alone in the hand of her able staff.

it does not matter what we ate. The menu itself oozes with love. The descriptions are genuine and mouth watering. Choices are ample. Pricing is high for a stand alone restaurant. But then all good things come with a price tag, and for once I do not mind paying this kind of price for a most sublime meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Give it a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

i was here about 3 months ago for their Sunday brunch and everything i tried was pretty exquisite! would love to describe it when i've got more time, but wanted to mention that the desserts here are truly awesome!

i don't know how they manage to get the recipes so right, especially for the SORBET and PANACOTTA! i'm trying so hard to find something like this in Europe (authentic Italian restros) so badly but nothing is able to match the finesse and authenticity of the ones i tasted at Diva! it costed nearly 600/- (way much for a dessert) but well, was every bit worth it. and needless to say, quite memorable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diva Restaurant also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Diva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diva Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.