We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Godwin Deluxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Godwin Deluxe to your Saves list
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8501/15 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 599 Hotels in New Delhi
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“comfortable and centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We chose this hotel for its central location - it's just 10 mins by foot from New Delhi Railway Station. We had fairly low expectations about what it would be like. In fact, we were very pleasantly surprised. From the honking chaos of Arakashan Road, you step into organised peace and quiet. It's intended for people who are only staying a night or two - it's not organised for extended stays. Serious money has been spent on the hotel recently, so all mod cons are there, and in pristine condition. The rooftop restaurant is small but well staffed. The food is good. But for all that, it's India. If you wander about in the middle of the night, step carefully: lest you walk on the hotel staff, asleep on the floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    102
    57
    22
    13
See reviews for
25
102
48
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here a year ago for more than two weeks..,everything is fine with room amanties and cleanliness..The breakfast is very poor!...But the worst part is that after leaving for check out. The guy from the reception is trying to charge us 30 dollars for the 5cm ripped of the curtain which in all the days that we are staying. We did not open the window cause it was winter and Arakashan road is a noisy area..We lost more than half an hour of our time arguing and explaining that It was not our fault. So stressful that we almost miss our flights!!...But due to my experience dealing with Indians I did not paid the money to fix the curtain...I have been travelling to India for so many years and stayed in different hotels. This type of tourist trap is quite new to me...So now a days before entering in any other hotel I always check If everything is properly fix.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

It's just so so. The trash in the toilet is not cleaned upon my arrival. Staff is not very friendly. No soap in the toilet. I use a sleeping bag but the bed sheets seem clean. There's an attractive lonely planet board outside the hotel. They charged me around 2300 in the enquiry email, however finally I found that its 2100 on Cleartrip. They also charged me 740for pickup at the airport, finally the prepaid taxi cost me only 300. The LP advertisement makes the hotel so arrogant. Not really recommend it considering the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was not just accomodation but a home for my wife and me.We were treated with respect and love by the hotel management and every staff, be it the porter,cleaner or the kitchen staff.The reception desk was very accomodating in every aspect,whether we needed to exchange money or if we needed any information about anything.The entrance/exit doorman was always willing to have a tuk tuk or a cab ready for us every morning and at the price that the villagers would pay.I was astounded by the honesty and humality of all the hotel staff especially the room cleaners.Our highlight of the hotel, I would say was the food and beverages manager(Vipin) and his team.We did have a very long stay at this hotel,almost 2 weeks,so the menu did become a bit stale but all thanks to Vipin.He never failed to interest us with his cooking skills and many varieties of dishes.I will highly recommend this hotel group to anyone.

Room Tip: I stayed for 1 week on the 1st floor and the other week on 3rd floor.I found no difference,both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Next to grand godwin hotel and part of it but newly constructed. This hotel i am also using for my clients. I never had any problem with this hotel. Staff is very attentive and friendly.
Both hotels have best rooftop restaurant of this street, they serve so delicious food.
Again adverse point is the street is very narrow with so many hotels, people often face problem with there car parking. Rest is everything perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel was lovely, the rooms were spacious and clean with excellant bathrooms. The staff were very helpful and accommodating (which proved very useful when trying to sort out train tickets to Agra and being hounded by touts at New Delhi train station). Worth every penny, a hotel filled with western comforts, but......... TAKE EARPLUGS. I can honestly find no fault with this hotel but it is in a very busy part of Delhi. It is noisy 24/7 and on our first night there was a Hindu wedding outside the hotel, in hindsight, fabulous to watch but when your jetlagged I was not so impressed. Walking out of the hotel for the first time can be a little intimidating but stick with it, Delhi is an experience if nothing else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Firstly, I'll start by saying that most the reviews I read on here are critical of Paharganj, not the hotel. So if you've never been to Paharganj just a warning - it's loud, bustling, dirty, chaotic and probably my favourite place in the world. Lot's of people hate it. If you're on a tour and used to Western comforts you might want to stay in Connaught Place or the burbs.

The hotel is excellent - great rooms, great service, excellent bathrooms and all at a great price. Plus free airport pick up.

Only negative is the location. It's a good ten minute walk to main bazaar but the walk does take you past some excellent street food stalls if you need a kebav or aloo tikki on the way! :-)

Highly recommended although I prefer Metropolis based on location only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Godwin Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Godwin Deluxe

Address: 8501/15 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 599 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Godwin Deluxe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally air-conditioned Hotel that provides round the clock service to its guests. The Hotel provides complimentary arrival transfer from the airport to hotel on conditional terms.All the rooms have climate control panel in the room. 24 hrs hot & cold running water is available in the bathroom. Every bathroom has a luxury shower. Complimentary buffet b/fast is served with every room. The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city , within walking distance to the main train station, business centers and historical sites too like The Red Fort, Raj Ghat, India Gate and Presindent's House. The Hotel provides free left luggage service to all its guests . The roof top restaurant serves multicuisine menu 24 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Godwin Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Godwin Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.