We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely top-notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amber - New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Amber - New Delhi to your Saves list
The Amber - New Delhi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Absolutely top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I have been coming to New Delhi regularly during the last year for business and have stayed at The Amber a number of times. It is a great substitute to the big five star hotels because it provides comparable facilities and services at much cheaper prices. Spanking clean marble bathrooms, rain showers, branded toiletries and flat screen TV's are things you generally only find in five star hotels. Lots of hot water and centralized heating during the winter months makes the stay very comfortable.

Recently they have also added a lovely gym and have made a new restaurant which is bigger. The management is great and I have noticed over the last year that they are constantly working on improving the property. The staff is extremely courteous and will go out of their way to satisfy guests. Although the location is a little out of the way but it works for me as its very quiet in the evenings in this otherwise very noisy city and Im able to get great sleep. All in all great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    106
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
63
103
48
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The Amber is a great little hotel. The rooms (and bathrooms) are spotless, the beds are comfy, there's free wifi, and they have BBC world news on the tv. The Indian food I tried was delicious, and you can eat either in the dining area on the ground floor or on the lovely roof-top terrace. The airport pick-up worked very smoothly, and all the staff were helpful and efficient. The location is quite far from the centre, and there's nothing to speak of within walking distance. That said, all my meetings were in south Delhi, so not being near Connaught Place was a distinct advantage in terms of minimizing the time spent in traffic. I think this place offers terrific value for money and I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Not worth the price they are charging. I agree the room is very modern and bathroom and its accessories are ok but the room is very small and clumsy. Never stay on the 3rd floor since the heater on the terrace when switched ON vibrates the room, those with sensitive ears like me feels irrirated all the time.

The location is difficult to find and no one is aware of this hotel.

The breakfast although free offers only fruit platter and egg omlette, bread. There are no restaurants or eating joints near by so there is no option but to eat there.

There was no jet spray in the WC which indicates this hotel is not meant for most of the Indian, I have also stayed in many 4 and 5 star category hotel and they also have jet sprays.

When I contacted the reception for car for Agra to and fro trip, they first told me they will charge me Rs.7000/- when I bargained they reduced it to Rs.6000 HOWEVER I still did not take their service and hired a private car/taxi from outside with the driver which ONLY costed me Rs.4600/- HENCE DONT hire the car from the hotel, they should remember there business is not earning commission from the car travellers but hotel business.

I would not recommend this place for sure to anyone and look for other alternative or branded group of hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I was in New Delhi for a wedding and the groom kindly put me up at The Amber. Nice quiet neighbourhood, friendly staff and spacious, well-appointed rooms. A boutique hotel at its best. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet with all the essentials. The only downside was the lack of windows in the room... but it's hardly a deal-breaker.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed there during our group tour to North India. The rooms of the hotel were spacious and were full of amenities. The location of the hotel was good and is convenient to approach and public conveyance was available.

Staff of the hotel was eligant and they provide us great room service. The best thing about the hotel was their reasonable tariffs.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Having made arrangements at the last minute to attend the Commonwealth Games we did not know quite what to expect but were extremely pleased with our choice and could not fault the hotel in any way. Due to our hectic itinary we only ate in the hotel but neither of us suffered the dreaded Delhi belly and complimentary bottled water was provided in the room.
Situated 10km to the south of Connaught Place some might think it too far out but it is only a £2 taxi ride to Nehru Place Metro station and 50p on the Metro to the centre - so why pay centre Delhi hotel prices?
The hotel is not the easiest place to find as none of the small roads have names but Fortes Escorts Heart Instutute (Hospital) is on the corner of the small road in which the Amber is situated. Find Escorts and you are only 200m away.
Being out of the centre you do see both sides of life in urban India and the faint hearted should close their eyes and hold on tight when traveling by taxi or tuk-tuk. The metro is a great way to travel with air conditioned carriages and good signage but either buy a day/weekly pass or carry plenty of small notes and coins. Due to heavy daytime traffic getting to the metro is easier by going away from the centre to Jasola Station but unless you arrange for a taxi to meet you Nehru Place is better at night. We used the same taxi to drop us off and pick us up but if you need a SIM card for your mobile you need to have passport size photograph for the paperwork.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

A Good business Hotel ,fairly new, with great roomy rooms and a delightful bathroom large enough to fit the whole family in. We arrived on a Sunday early morning for a stay of 2 nights.Dinner was a challenge as we found out when ordering a Pizza only to be told it would be half a hour , in less that 10 minutes we where told sorry Dominoes are closed.
But the Italian was supplying food , Good for them. A very Clean Hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amber - New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - New Delhi

Address: 198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Amber - New Delhi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber is a new boutique hotel with the aim of providing luxurious rooms at affordable prices. It is located in the posh South Delhi area and is in close proximity to major commercial centers and tourist attractions of Delhi. The rooms and bathrooms are fitted with all the amenities that you will find in a 5 star deluxe hotel. Central air-conditioning / heating, 24 hours coffee shop / room service, wi-fi /in-house GYM/ broadband Internet connectivity free of cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Amber - New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amber - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Amber Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amber - New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.