We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is there so much hype about this place?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Amber - New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Amber - New Delhi to your Saves list
The Amber - New Delhi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Why is there so much hype about this place?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

The place doesn't measure up to the rave reviews it seems to get. It is far from the airport. Interiors of rooms are fine, but the window is so small as to make it feel like sleeping in a basement. Service, quality of amenities just doesn't quite make the grade of a 'great' hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    102
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
100
48
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Amber is one of a kind in Delhi. Quiet, contemporary, comfortable, clean. It excels in all areas. Mukesh the manager and all of the staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. There have been very few hotels anywhere that I have actually sat down in the lobby and engaged in conversation. The room decor is very modern and the bathrooms are spacious with all the up-to-date amenities that you expect. Food is very good and there is a nice rooftop garden with a great view of the Lotus Temple at sunset. I stayed in two different rooms on front and back ends of a trip to Kathmandu and both visits were equally impressive. The staff were very flexible in accommodating my 3 and 4 o'clock early morning wakeups for the airport. Its location in a residential neighborhood is both a pro and a con -- great respite from the constant honking horns of Delhi's traffic, but also hard for drivers to find. Prices are very reasonable compared to the "big name" hotels in Delhi and you will get equal or better service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

The amber was an absolutely beautiful place for us to stay upon our arrival in Delhi. The hotel was exceptionally clean and well appointed. The beds were firm and the bedding was very tasteful, as was the furniture in the room. (Note: The showers are fantastic! Great water pressure.) Mukesh, the general manager, and his staff could not have been more welcoming. They made us feel right at home...even when we arrived at midnight! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Delhi. The only negative was that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I stayed at the Amber for only a 3 nights, but wished I would have stayed there much longer. The hotel was immaculate, very modern and very well appointed, but more than anything, the customer service was incredible. I forgot my hair brush and the staff actually went out for me and bought me one at 11pm at night. On two mornings, I also had to leave at 5:30am and they were able to accomodate me for breakfast and even sent me along with some Indian specialties for later in the day. The owner and managers are very good and highly responsive to any requests you might have. The only downside for me was lack of hot water on 2 of the days I was there, but I came to find that very hot water in India is rare even when staying at the best hotels. All in all, I loved this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

After spending just over a week in the deepest sub-incontinent living in villages, traipsing through farms and battling 6-inch cobras, I needed a quiet and hassle free place to stay in Delhi as I caught up with friends, reviewed footage for a documentary I'm making, and chilled out. Indian hospitality is where the guest is king. This seems to be The Amber's motto.

I arrived in Delhi via the domestic terminal...the Amber only offers transfers from the International terminal. They suggested the best way is to take advantage of the pre-paid taxi rank (approx 230 rupees to Sukhdev Vihar compared to over 1000 if the hotel arrange it for you).

The rooms were very clean, but the windows don't open. The roof terrace is nice but there is no gym. The food was good...tho rather expensive for India/Delhi if you're into the 60 rupees for a chicken biryani schtick.

Now...the service. I acquired some sari fabric on my shoot. I casually asked the people at the desk where I could get a top and a petticoat for it. They not only took me to a tailor at a local market to get measured up, but collected the gear and gave me an adhoc sari wrapping lesson.

I was having lunch when the boss wandered over and introduced himself. By the conversation's end, I was his guest to one of his friends' pre-wedding parties.

Everything I could've possibly wanted was catered for. The only issue I had was that no taxi driver or tuk tuk man knows where this place is. I'd suggest a little map printed on their calling card to help guests out.

The boss said he's up against hotels like the Metropolitan. In terms of size and facilities, they can't compare. So where they have to excel is in service. The rooms are well-appointed, the rain showers are amazing. And its one of the few hotels in Delhi to have an environmental commitment to solar energy and reusing rainwater. Having stayed in many hotels around the world...mostly boutique ones...The Amber is, so far, the best. So if you can afford it and you don't really want the impersonal service you get with the bigger chains, come here. Stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

This was our second stay in Delhi within a fortnight and in comparison with Old Delhi where we first stayed the Amber was a breath of fresh air (literally)!. The hotel is situated in a quiet location which is mostly residential, so not really an area with lots of amenities on its doorstep, but with thousands of autorickshaws in Delhi this is not a problem.

The hotel is immaculately clean, all white marble and over 3 floors with a fantastic roof top terrace with grass and rattan furniture, making it the ideal place to relax in the evening with a meal and view across of the city.

The staff are all excellent. You receive an exceptionally warm welcome when you arrive and are all helpful throughout your stay. We were even allowed a late checkout to fit in around our flight times meaning that we could get the most out of our last day in India.

The restaurant is situated on the ground floor near the lobby, so not the most relaxing of spaces however you can take meals on the roof which we would certainly recommend. The menu is varied with Indian, Chinese and Western food. The food is of very good quality, good sized portions and reasonably priced. The complimentary breakfast is adequate (but have to admit we did not get up very early so did not benefit from it as much as we perhaps could). The waiting staff are all excellent. What is particularly nice at this hotel is that the staff are happy to engage in conservation, something that we found is not so forthcoming in the larger hotels in India, this gave a much more personal feel to the place.

The room was very clean, nicely decorated and the beds were extremely comfortable. Whilst the rooms do have windows ours was frosted glass, so do not expect to get a view, but you do get natural light , and the roof terrace more than makes up for this. The bathroom was very good, nice large walk in shower and again all marble. Certainly clean.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a quieter and cleaner location in the city.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Amber is located in the east side of Delhi in a quiet neighborhood that depicts the normal day to day life of India through its large window in each room. This is a medium rate boutique hotel where the rooms were at a standard of any high end European or American hotel. The room was clean and the interior was tastefully done where each furniture item was selected with thought and a theme in mind. The bathroom was exceptionally good. Rooms carried all state of the art equipments. I must comment specifically on the food from the Amber kitchen. It was better than all the locations we were recommended to eat during our one week stay in Delhi. We did try all locations and always ended up coming back to Amber to taste items from their menu. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt at home at Amber - a special home with room service :-) I would recommend this to anyone and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Amber - New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - New Delhi

Address: 198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Amber - New Delhi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber is a new boutique hotel with the aim of providing luxurious rooms at affordable prices. It is located in the posh South Delhi area and is in close proximity to major commercial centers and tourist attractions of Delhi. The rooms and bathrooms are fitted with all the amenities that you will find in a 5 star deluxe hotel. Central air-conditioning / heating, 24 hours coffee shop / room service, wi-fi /in-house GYM/ broadband Internet connectivity free of cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Amber - New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amber - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Amber Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amber - New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.