We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in south Delhi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amber - New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Amber - New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Amber - New Delhi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #43 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in south Delhi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and sister at the end of December 2012, at the start of our 2 week trip around north India. This was such a great place to start our trip! It's close to south Delhi attractions such as the Qutub Minar and the Lotus Temple and is in a quiet area so you don't have traffic noise blasting into your room. The rooms are fantastic - an amazingly huge marble bathroom, super comfortable bed, heaps and heaps of room for luggage, huge wardrobe, desk, tv, you name it. It was spotlessly clean as well. They had excellent internet access also which didn't have any problems when we were there.

The location means that you have to drive for a while (about 1 hour) to get to the centre of Old Delhi for the Red Fort, Jama Masjid etc but seriously, this hotel is well worth it. And driving in India is fun in itself!

The staff were also so friendly and helpful, very cheery in the mornings when we left and in the evenings when we returned, as well as at breakfast every day. They were wonderful.

Oh, and the breakfasts themselves were amazing!! I love Indian breakfast dishes and theirs were the BEST. Fantastic curries (not too spicy) and really creative dishes. As well as this there was your usual cereal, fruit, toast, juices, hot meats etc and they would even cook omelettes and pancakes on the spot for you.

I would go back to The Amber in an instant, for the breakfast alone! Thanks very much for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    93
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
97
44
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Amber is a lovely property with a super nice staff, a great breakfast selection (including omlettes made on the spot to order), nice rooms with safes, minibar selections, good towels, even little slippers. There's climate control which in winter is a blessing! The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. Just make sure you get a street facing room if you want some natural light. The first room we were shown had no window, then they moved us to a second floor street facing room which we much preferred. If wasn't terribly noisy and we liked having light in the morning.

Here's the only problem: nobody knows where this hotel is and it's impossible for a driver to find it without stopping several times nearby and asking people on the street. Our airline arranged our airport pick-up and sent a man who seemed to be a very experienced driver, and he got utterly lost (though finally found it). The next day we were abandoned by a taxi driver who could not find his way. When we got someone else to take us, it was still like an exploratory mission. I've heard that the South Delhi streets and numbering system is difficult to navigate, and because this hotel is small and not very well-known, it's just off the radar.

And that may actually be a reason to stay here. You don't seem to get much for your money in Delhi and I think The Amber is an excellent value. For an extra Rs1000/day (which is a lot less than what you'd pay for an equivalent, more well-known hotel closer in to the city center) you can hire a driver through the hotel who will obviously know how to get you home and ferry you wherever you'd like to go for the whole day. Or you can figure out the metro system (much, much less expensive) and get the hotel staff to give directions so that a tuk-tuk to get you to the nearest station and back.

I'd love to see The Amber do well and become a more established property despite this one great disadvantage because once it is on the radar, then no one will have a problem at all finding it!

Room Tip: If you want windows and natural light, definitely ask for a street facing room on the second floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Clean and neat hotel. Very friendly and helpful service. Lovely soft fresh towels. All else pretty much standard. We were surprised that there were very few people in the hotel.

Room was neat and tidy. Bathroom was spacious. Took a while for the hot water to flow.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 02 nights and I really appreciated this hotel. The service was good as was the food. I also enjoyed the rooftop sitting area...it was a great place to hang out and read. They offer very good breakfast, really fresh stuff. I found the food excellent. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i stayed twice in this south delhi hotel in last two years after reading reviews about it on Trip Advisor. we (my family) liked it and had a comfortable stay. the staff are very courteous and helpful. the ambiance of the rooms is superb and tasteful. most people (especially tourists) in their reviews have complained about its location. their complaint it is that Taxi drivers and Auto Rickshaw drivers don't know about the place. there are some easy landmarks like Fortis Escorts hopsital, Sukhdev Vihar Bus depot. i would love to stay there again. Food is great too. and they prepared a nice lunch for us on just a 30 mins notice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

its rated 9 out of over 500 so its a no brainer for the price, we are well traveled, and this place is awesome, we stayed for almost 3 weeks, mukesh (gm) and his crew were at our beck and call, sleeps are wonderful as there are no horns honking and you can get anywhere for so cheap and within minutes....don't believe how it's off the beaten path, it is close to everything, if it was in the core it would be over 300 per night....I recommend it to anyone and everyone.....

Room Tip: choose front room overlooking the street, they are bigger and brighter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was once of the better hotels in the area. The rooms were five star like, neat and clean, good bed comfortable sofas, LCD TV. The staff were very professional in neat and clean uniforms.
The service was good too. The hotel is located in South Delhi which was an ideal location as i had to travel to Noida as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Amber - New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - New Delhi

Also Known As:
The Amber - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
The Amber - New Delhi Hotel
Amber Hotels
The Amber
Amber Hotel
Address: 198 Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi 110025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Amber - New Delhi 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber is a new boutique hotel with the aim of providing luxurious rooms at affordable prices. It is located in the posh South Delhi area and is in close proximity to major commercial centers and tourist attractions of Delhi. The rooms and bathrooms are fitted with all the amenities that you will find in a 5 star deluxe hotel. Central air-conditioning / heating, 24 hours coffee shop / room service, wi-fi /in-house GYM/ broadband Internet connectivity free of cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Amber - New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amber - New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.